We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Halal Chinese Cuisine!”
Review of Bombay Chow

Bombay Chow
Ranked #4,249 of 24,324 Restaurants in London
Cuisines: Chinese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups
Dining options: After-hours, Delivery, Reservations
Description: The history of food in Bombay or Mumbai is closely linked to the growth of this city from fishing village to megapolis. As wave after wave of immigrants from all over the country came with dreams of gold in their eyes, they brought their culinary treasures with them and no exception were the chinese immigrants who came from the chinatown in Kolkata. Also known as 'hakka people' they came to India
Reviewed 26 October 2015

This is a halal Chinese restaurant at Ravenscourt Park, near Hammersmith. Being a rather small place, it was quite crowded when I got there, even on a week-night, and I had to wait about 10 minutes to get a table. So, reserving in advance is recommended. The ambience is OK, rather noisy, but the food was very good, and the service was efficient. But I would consider it to be a bit on the pricey side. Being a halal restaurant, thankfully there was no pork on the menu, but I was surprised to see them still serving alcohol! Verdict: Recommended!

Date of visit: October 2015
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank ShoaibShawoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hamza s, Owner at Bombay Chow, responded to this reviewResponded 9 November 2015

Dear ShoaibShawoo,

Thanks for your recent visit and review. We are glad that you enjoyed the food. We tend to get extremely busy and we always recommend that guest make reservations in advance to avoid disappointments.

We look forward to welcoming you soon again.

With kind regards,
Team Bombay Chow

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a reviewReviews (262)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

150 - 154 of 262 reviews

Reviewed 4 October 2015 via mobile

Having looked at the menu online, my partner and I were very excited to come to Bombay Chow. We hoped it would be worth the drive down from Essex however the good left us a little disappointed. Service was faultless and our waitress was amazing! My vegetarian chilli paneer was very salty and like wise for my partners chicken dish. We had noodles for main which were okay but nothing too special. Service and r the place were lovely, it's a shame about the food!

Date of visit: October 2015
2  Thank soniyav
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hamza s, Owner at Bombay Chow, responded to this reviewResponded 9 November 2015

Dear soniya v,

Thanks for your visit and review. We are so sorry for your disappointment. We have taken note of your concerns and we will check the salt content in our dishes. We do hope you would visit us soon again.

We look forward to welcoming you.

With kind regards,
Team Bombay Chow

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2015

Good Food Good Value
Proper Indian Chinese food... not the rubbish you get in fake wanna a be Indian Restaurant... If some one who does not like the food in this restaurant does not know anything about Bombay Indian Chinese food and therefore should not go.

Date of visit: August 2015
3  Thank Aslam B
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hamza s, Owner at Bombay Chow, responded to this reviewResponded 25 September 2015

Dear Aslam B,

Thank you very much for your kind words. We are so glad that you enjoyed the food. We look forward to welcoming you again soon.

With kind regards,
Team Bombay Chow

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2015

We landed at this hotel after much fanfare and hearing quite a few reviews from others about the fusion Indo - Chinese cuisine. While the cuisine itself is fantastic and a rarity to find in the UK in general, this particular establishment has a room for improvement.

Where do I begin? We ordered some Hakka noodles along with a Chilli Chicken speciality amongst other things - While the quality of the food and ingredients was all good, the food tasted very bland. Without being over critical here, I think the chefs need to look at the menu options and recipe.

This is a relatively small establishment on King Street but is always overcrowded - good for the owners who might be doing roaring business here, but not the best ambience you would expect in a fairly mid to high end restaurant. The seating is not very comfortable and we found that the waiting staff left a lot to be desired from when it came to service.

On the plus side, there is parking readily available on the street so if you plan to be there, this is one less of a thing to think about.

Date of visit: September 2015
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank Kundan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hamza s, Owner at Bombay Chow, responded to this reviewResponded 25 September 2015

Dear Kundan B,

Thank you very much for your recent visit and review. We are disappointed that you were not pleased with the food and service that you received from our waiting staff. Our food is a unique fusion of Indian and Chinese flavours that have been adapted for people with different tolerances to spice. We will surely take your suggestion on board. We hope you would visit us again so that we can get a chance to delight you without our fantastic food and service.

With kind regards,
Team Bombay Chow

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 September 2015

We ducked in here for a dinner before a show at the Apollo. Being Indo Chinese the food is a bit different. As we were in a hurry we had to skip to mains, which is a shame because what was on offer was excellent. The triple Szechuan is served on a sizzling skillet and is one of the nicest dishes I can remember for quite some time. Great service too. I will be back.

Date of visit: September 2015
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Tcavaldoro
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hamza s, Owner at Bombay Chow, responded to this reviewResponded 25 September 2015

Dear TC1968,

Thanks for the your recent visit and for the review. We are glad that you enjoyed the food. Our cuisine is a unique fusion of Indian and Chinese flavours. We look forward to welcoming you again soon so that you can enjoy more dishes from our menu.

With kind regards,
Team Bombay Chow

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Bombay Chow also viewed

 

Been to Bombay Chow? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in Hong Kong. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.