We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointing and expensive”

The Happenstance Bar & Restaurant
Reserve a table
2
Tue, 22/06
20:00
Ranked #2,356 of 23,771 Restaurants in London
Price range: US$18 - US$35
Cuisines: European, British, Bar, Fusion
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Reservations
Neighbourhood: City of London
Description: We've gone for a walk! The Happenstance has moved from Ludgate Hill and is now open at 10 Paternoster Square. With striking interiors including statement chandeliers and an exclusive private dining room downstairs and a seasonal menu accompanied by a variety of creative cocktails, the all-day dining bar and restaurant has everything to offer. Join for early morning meetings, lazy weekend brunches and roasts or cocktails with friends - why not spice things up and do a mixology masterclass?
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

It’s a good location and the drinks were good. I would not return though as the drinks are super expensive, the staff were rude and inexperienced and the food was an absolute rip off. The meze platter is £16 and probably worth around £2. Less than one pitta chopped up a tiny blob of hummus and a few olives. Very disappointed. There is a lot of choice in this area so will go elsewhere next time.

Date of visit: April 2021
Thank LRM785
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a reviewReviews (845)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

3 - 7 of 845 reviews

Reviewed 15 May 2021 via mobile

Visited for lunch for my mum's bday while still in partial lockdown (rule of 6 outdoor dining only) and it was lovely! We were sat out the front and they'd decorated the area beautifully with plants, lights, heaters and blankets on request. Staff were all super lovely and happy to help, including brining out a birthday dessert for my mum. Food was also very good, standard London posh pub menu - but nothing to complain about.

The only word of caution to those wanting / needing to sit outside - their booking policy doesn't guarantee a seat with cover so would have been a very different experience if we'd got unlucky with the table as it's been raining on and off all day.

Date of visit: May 2021
Thank rebeccalC7896ZE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2021 via mobile

Excellent food and service but seriously in need of some patio heaters for outside eating. Excellent location and looking forward to eating inside.

Date of visit: May 2021
Thank A1n2thony
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 May 2021 via mobile

We booked and ate here on the bank holiday Sunday. Booking via the website was easy and they rang us to confirm. The menu is great and the terrace is decorated with flowers. The blankets to keep you warm were a lovely touch. The staff were friendly and service was not rushed which was great. We would happily eat here again!

Date of visit: May 2021
Thank laurella76w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 December 2020

We had a lovely time on Saturday, 6 of us outside, they have decorated the terrace really well for Xmas. Service was good, nice choice of food. Lovely setting seeing St Pauls in the eve, everyone in my party enjoyed themselves. Nice touch with the blankets! Will definitely go back.

Date of visit: December 2020
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank sandy1571
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Happenstance Bar & Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to The Happenstance Bar & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in Hong Kong. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.