We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really bastardised dishes with unique flavours”
Review of Flavour Bastard

Flavour Bastard
Ranked #3,847 of 25,591 Restaurants in London
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Neighbourhood: Soho
Description: This establishment is temporarily closed due to refurbishment and will open again soon.
Reviewed 31 May 2018 via mobile

Has dinner with a few office colleagues. The food was nice and different. We ordered almost every item in the menu. The aubergine dish, fried chicken and the Lamb chops were my favourite. The sauces served with the chicken were yummylicious. Very distinct and unique flavours.
The place is pricey though and when we got the bill we realised that we were over charged by about £100 on a bill of £400. When asked the waitress accepted that there was a mistake on their part. Such mistakes are not acceptable from such a restaurant. Service was also below expectation on a weekday evening where the restaurant was half empty.

Date of visit: May 2018
Thank vineetshivali
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (111)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

13 - 17 of 111 reviews

Reviewed 30 May 2018 via mobile

Imagine food cooked with essential oils combined with food inspired from the world. There are flavour combinations that you will never have dreamed of.
A truly remarkable one time experience. We ordered 3 tiny plates and 4 small plates which we shared, the food is rich so you feel quite full afterwards.
It’s not cheap but we enjoyed it as a treat

Date of visit: May 2018
Thank Andrew H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2018 via mobile

Apart from the attention grabbing (seeking) name there is not much to brag about here. Not good value for money at all. Seating isn’t great you feel very confined and we were there on a friday night and had people standing over us.

Food was a bit meaningless - dishes are small but fair enough as this is an indian spin on tapas but no real substance.
We had:
- grilled spring chicken - better off at Nandos this had no flavour at all.
- hot B****rd sauce - very hot but doesn’t go with anything
- bread and tumeric butter - nothing special but is needed to substantiate the meal
- pan fried wild mushrooms - delicious! Yum!
- a cloud of curds - different we enjoyed it :)
- smoked goat - not great
- ginger cod - ok

And desserts were overbearing. Couldn’t finish.

Service not great - the waiter got red wine all over my friends jacket after much complaining the owner came out and offered to have it dry cleaned.
After probing we were given a free cocktail which again wasn’t the greatest.

Yet to be convinced! There are far better places in soho to eat.

Date of visit: May 2018
Thank 918amishap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 May 2018 via mobile

My 6th visit in the past few months,and wow every time has been excellent,love the chefs special menus which keep changing tried the grilled baby poulet and the goat merguez from the specials menu chicken was seasoned and cooked to perfection,goat merguez the name says it all they also had a cod dish which was just exceptional ,can’t wait for the 7th visit which will be very soon

Date of visit: May 2018
Thank Amandeep S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 May 2018 via mobile

Amazing food ,well put together flavours,every dish was a winner,goat merguez,mussels,steak bavette all excellent ,superb cocktails,friendly service,lively atmosphere can’t ask for more,will defiantly recommend and return

Date of visit: May 2018
Thank Eimty H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Flavour Bastard also viewed

 

Been to Flavour Bastard? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing