We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,244)
Filter reviews
1,244 results
Traveller rating
988
177
53
17
9
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
988
177
53
17
9
Show reviews that mention
All reviews rooftop bar underfloor heating the club lounge mood lighting moorgate station guest experience team touch screen sky channels glass of prosecco hermes toiletries on arrival control panel rose petals on the bed macaroons spa facilities liverpool street high tech
Filter
Updating list...
159 - 164 of 1,244 reviews
Reviewed 27 June 2018

How lovely to find a genuinely friendly and welcoming luxury hotel in London - one in which staff went out of their way to make our stay as comfortable and enjoyable as possible. We only stayed a night, but Michael (the duty manager) and his team looked after us very well, making sure our request for a quiet room was met. In fact I can’t recall ever sleeping so well in a London hotel, as so often there is traffic noise and inefficient air conditioning. Everything here was new and shiny and worked!, with a very calm, relaxing and sophisticated atmosphere. Our Club room was very pleasant - We loved the room’s mood lighting, huge Sky tv, speciality teas, Nespresso machine, and fresh fruit.... and then there were complimentary evening drinks and snacks downstairs too. Breakfast at the roof terrace Aviary restaurant (which sadly we couldn’t try for dinner as there was a private party) was a very fresh and well stocked buffet, with delicious coffee. All in all, an excellent stay and everything was just as we like it. We will definitely stay again when in London. Well done!

Stayed: June 2018, travelled on business
Thank Ann B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vikram V, House Manager at Montcalm Royal London House - City of London, responded to this reviewResponded 5 July 2018

Many Thanks Ann B, for the review and feedback. Michael& the team were delighted to read your compliments meeting your preferences. We are pleased to know you enjoyed not only our in room comforts, all fitted to your complete satisfaction. Our rooms not only become your personal pod, but our in room mood features allow you to customise this. We are sorry to read you could not enjoy the spectacular service and views at Aviary on this occasion, we do hope you did have a chance to try out our alternate venues.
A big thank you from all of us at the Montcalm Royal London House, and see you soon.
Kind Regards
Vikram Vijay
House Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2018 via mobile

Came here for my birthday. Many thanks for Catalin & Dabo for arranging a spectacular experience at The Avairy. (10th floor)

Would definitely recommend this for anyone who is looking for a chill environment for some drinks when it’s great weather and London looks prettiest.

Drinks were definitely responsibly prices considering it is in the middle of London.

Thanks again!

Stayed: June 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank xkimberley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vikram V, House Manager at Montcalm Royal London House - City of London, responded to this reviewResponded 5 July 2018

Many Thanks xkimberley, for your review and feedback. Catalin &Dado were delighted to get your special mention, just for making sure your had a wonderful time. Our teams at Aviary do compliment the views with intuitive service delivery. We are truly grateful for your recommendations. Once again a massive thank you from all of us at the Montcalm Royal London House.
Kind Regards Vikram Vijay House Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2018

Hotel was lovely and the facilities were great however, 2 weeks after staying here for one night I am just recovering from the mosquito bites.
I emailed the hotel to let them know we had several mosquitoes that kept us awake at night however I have not had an adequate response back. We were not told upon check-in that mosquitoes could be an issue. Our window looked out over to another building with vents below. I have honestly never even had that many bites from a hotel in hotter climes.

Room Tip: Keep the windows closed to avoid being the meal of several mosquitoes!
  • Stayed: June 2018, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AJB_1991_40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2018

My boyfriend & I stopped at the Montcalm for a 2 night stay in June. The hotel was easy enough to find, and was in a great location.

We arrived to check in 15 minutes early, but this wasn't a problem, and we even got a complimentary welcome glass of prosecco, which was a fantastic touch to my very first weekend visiting the city! We got asked if we needed help with our luggage, which we didn't as we were only on the 1st floor, this was a slight shame as we didn't get any natural sunlight, but the rooftop bar made up for this! We love the rooftop bar so much and spent more time up there than what we did our hotel room!

The room itself was absolutely perfect and you can tell that housekeeping go to great effort to restore the room back to a tidy state. The bed & pillows were so comfy, probably the best from any hotel I've ever stopped in! Great coffee machine, and they made sure we always had a bottle of water in our room which was great as it was a very warm weekend! The bathroom was absolutely spotless and plenty of towels were provided.

I can't wait to come back to this hotel next time I am in London, thank you Montcalm!

Room Tip: The rooftop bar is a must
  • Stayed: June 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Phoebe B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vikram V, House Manager at Montcalm Royal London House - City of London, responded to this reviewResponded 27 June 2018

Many Thanks Phoebe B, for your review and feedback. We are so very pleased to know you both had a good time. Our in room care teams are delighted to read your felt the preparations were faultless and sumptuous in luxury& feel. We are sorry to read your particular room did not have sufficient natural light totally dependent on the time, had we known we would had one for you at another side. We are glad you enjoyed the spectacular views at Aviary. We do hope you had a chance to enjoy time in our wellness centre. We look forward to welcoming you both more often and thank you for choosing the Montcalm Royal London House.
Kind Regards
Vikram Vijay
House Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2018

Professional hospitality and kindness. Great location if you have business in City of London. Near to the tube station, while bus station is just in front of the hotel. Very comfortable room and room service. I highly recommend the hotel.

Room Tip: Ninth floor
  • Stayed: June 2018, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank mamihlapinatapei87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vikram V, House Manager at Montcalm Royal London House - City of London, responded to this reviewResponded 27 June 2018

Many Thanks mamihlapinatapei87, for your review and feedback. We are delighted to read your comments, and your approval on phenomenal service and convenience. We are delighted you rested well too, post business and enjoyed unwinding with some in room dinning. We are grateful for your recommendations, business or leisure we do hope to see you often. Thank you from our teams at the Montcalm Royal London House.
Kind Regards
Vikram Vijay
House Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews