We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Informative with exercise ”

Mersey Tunnels Tour
Ranked #2 of 73 Tours in Liverpool
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Had a laugh for 2 hours with my 13 year old son. Those stairs were good exercise and we only did the ones on way back. Somehow managed to get in the lift at the start.
Didn't need my coat and extra layers. It's not cold like caves or mines.
Bill and Phil were informative and great tour guides. Enjoyed the quizzes even though I didn't know any of the answers but we were
lucky to be in a group that took such interest. Felt a little ashamed that someone from halfway across the world knew a lot more about what was on my front door step. Great fun and an added bonus to the tour.
Makes me really proud to be a part of Merseyside.
Thanks everyone.

Thank Maria K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MTAttractions, Guest Relations Manager at Mersey Tunnels Tour, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thank you for the great review Maria, we are glad you and your son enjoyed the tour and our quizzes. We will pass on your compliments to Bill and Phil - they do make the tour great fun!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (733)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"queensway tunnel"
in 80 reviews
"control room"
in 86 reviews
"behind the scenes"
in 78 reviews
"two hours"
in 58 reviews
"ventilation system"
in 22 reviews
"dock building"
in 21 reviews
"feat of engineering"
in 13 reviews
"hard hat"
in 11 reviews
"double act"
in 14 reviews
"below ground"
in 9 reviews
"fantastic value"
in 10 reviews
"knowledgeable guides"
in 13 reviews
"fascinating insight"
in 16 reviews
"scouse humour"
in 14 reviews
"well worth the effort"
in 7 reviews
"small group"
in 8 reviews
"flights of stairs"
in 8 reviews
Filter

33 - 37 of 733 reviews

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Had a fab time doing this tour. The guides Billy and Ryan were an absolute scream and realky made the tour with their info and sense of humour.
We learnt so much about the tunnel and it's workings especially when it's something that has been around for a lifetime.
Thoroughly enjoyed and recommend this for people to do.

Thank caroline w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MTAttractions, Guest Relations Manager at Mersey Tunnels Tour, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Thank you for the great review Caroline, we are glad you really enjoyed your tour. We will pass on your compliments to Billy and Ryan. Thanks for the recommendation.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I was part of a Professional Liverpool tour, and as a Merseyside resident I confess to being blasé about the tunnels, however I found the tour fascinating and great entertainment. We were a mixed age / sex / shape / fitness group, and the pace was suitable for everyone. Our dress code varied from casual to suits, and there were no wardrobe disasters. Need good shoes for the walk and steps, but high-vis and hardhat provided. There was time and detail taken on each element of the tour, and the two hours flew by!

Thank Ledgo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MTAttractions, Guest Relations Manager at Mersey Tunnels Tour, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thank you for the great review, we are glad you all found the tour fascinating and that there were no wardrobe disasters!. We do try and make the tour as inclusive as possible so it's good to hear the pace suited everybody. We will pass on your compliments to Alison and Billy who were your guides on the day.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Very interesting and entertaining behind the scenes tour. Excellent guides who clearly know their subject from 1st hand experience.

Thank mcb1025
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MTAttractions, Guest Relations Manager at Mersey Tunnels Tour, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thank you for taking the time to leave us this great review - we will pass on your compliments to the guides.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

The tour involves going behind the scenes of the Mersey Tunnel. It is real value for money and extremely interesting. I visited with my two children, aged 14 and 10 who absolutely loved it. Ryan and Alison the tour guides were informative and really friendly. They went out of the way to ensure that everyone was involved, especially the children. I would strongly recommend it. It is an outstanding tour of behind the Mersey Tunnel and the history of it.

1  Thank anitamahon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MTAttractions, Guest Relations Manager at Mersey Tunnels Tour, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thank you for leaving us a lovely review Anita, we are glad you and the boys had a great visit. Thanks also for the recommendation and we will pass on your compliments to Ryan and Alison.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Mersey Tunnels Tour also viewed

 

Been to Mersey Tunnels Tour? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
;