We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing meal with attentive staff”

Miller & Carter Otterspool
Ranked #1,164 of 1,949 Restaurants in Liverpool
Restaurant details
Reviewed 31 May 2018

My Friend and I ate al fresco recently here in the gorgeous sunshine. Food was lovely and brilliantly priced lunchtime menu with the staff very friendly and attentive.
This transformation of this pub is just perfect in a great location with plenty of parking. Can’t wait to return .

Thank Pauline M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General Manager A, Manager at Miller & Carter Otterspool, responded to this reviewResponded 6 June 2018

Pauline M, we strive for 100% satisfaction, and it is great to see you had such a positive experience at Miller & Carter Otterspool. We’re so glad we could provide you with a fantastic experience, especially in our fantastic al fresco dining area!

We look forward to your next visit!

Kind Regards,

Scott Rayner

Assistant Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (65)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

39 - 43 of 65 reviews

Reviewed 30 May 2018

Arrived on spec, staff very friendly and accommodating, taken to a great table.
Sunday special menu excellent choice for the price. The food we chose for 4 people was fully explained, before order was confirmed. When it arrived the presentation and quality was again excellent. Having travelled a long distant to see family, can’t wait to visit again.

Thank John B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General Manager A, Manager at Miller & Carter Otterspool, responded to this reviewResponded 12 June 2018

John B, we strive for 100% satisfaction, and it is great to see you had such a positive experience at Miller & Carter Otterspool.

We're so glad with everything you pointed out, we strive for that absolute top experience and it seems you were provided with that so that's just so great to hear.

Thank you so much and we're looking forward to your visit!

Kind Regards,

Scott Rayner

Assistant Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2018 via mobile

Very glad the place has been updated, especially as it’s so close to us. We’ve been twice on Sunday and once midweek.
Staff are all friendly and food is great. Few teething aspects to sort out.
Do a proper Sunday lunch? This should be an option.
Seem to always be out of something, no peppercorn sauce?? Make some, I personally could make some and you are a steak restaurant
Sort out the outside, it’s an amazing space so use it properly
All in all it’s a great transformation and we will be back :)

Thank tallmatt25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General Manager A, Manager at Miller & Carter Otterspool, responded to this reviewResponded 12 June 2018

Hi Tallmatt25, we are very happy to have provided you with such a positive experience! WE always take on feedback and we're glad you could give us a few pointers!

As all menu decisions are made at head office, its not something we can change, but if you were looking for a nice cut of beef, with some crushed herb potatoes and a side of roasted veg, it something we can definitely do! However we aren't a sunday roast kind of place, its just not a Miller and Carter thing!

We're looking forward to you returning and seeing you again! (maybe not on a Sunday!)

Kind Regards,

Scott Rayner

Assistant Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2018 via mobile

Thought it was a lovely setting and fancied a drink. However there is apparently only one queue so even though we only wanted a drink we would need to wait....massive queue....plenty of other places you can go and get served much faster. So we left. Everyone happy, will know in future not to bother.

Thank go2sands
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General Manager A, Manager at Miller & Carter Otterspool, responded to this reviewResponded 12 June 2018

Thank you for getting in touch regarding your experience although I am quite unsure of the queue you're referring to! If you're after just a drink our bar team are always ready to serve you, we can however get quite busy!

If you care to share some more details that would be great to understand what queue you meant!

Kind Regards,

Scott Rayner

Assistant Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2018 via mobile

We visited with friends and kids for Sunday lunch. The place has had an amazing facelift and looks very nice. The staff were pleasant and the menu enticing. However, there were some disappointing aspects. The biggest was the restriction of the beer garden to a very small paved seating area. As one of very few pubs locally with a decent outside space, this is an absolute travesty. I can understand wanting to raise the profile of the place, but removing access to such a lovely spot will not win over local residents. We wanted to sit outside in the sunshine but were told that the tables in the outside seating area are fixed to the ground so can’t accommodate larger groups. So we were placed inside away from any windows on a hot day. Ordering was very slow as the waiter was clearly struggling with the electronic system. They were out of peppercorn sauce, which is surprising for a steakhouse and disappointing as it’s so easy to make. With two chefs in our party, that didn’t go down well. The food we had was very nice, well cooked and tasty. The lettuce wedge is a nice addition although probably twice as large as it needs to be so rather wasteful. All in all a nice meal but sad about the outside space.

Thank Katherine A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General Manager A, Manager at Miller & Carter Otterspool, responded to this reviewResponded 12 June 2018

Thank you for letting us know about your recent visit to Miller & Carter Otterspool.

We always welcome feedback and are glad you had the opportunity to voice your views.

I know it is a very big change from what has gone before but we do actually believe that as a brand and a site this is the right thing to do. We offer a fantastic al fresco dining area which has been very popular with our exceptional summer so far.

We hope you'll visit us again soon!

Kind Regards,

Scott Rayner

Assistant Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Miller & Carter Otterspool also viewed

 

Been to Miller & Carter Otterspool? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing