We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nicecafe, food average”
Review of Merienda

Merienda
Ranked #21 of 156 Restaurants in Keswick
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$4 - US$25
Cuisines: Contemporary, Fusion
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Reservations
Description: Merienda is a cafe restaurant located in the centre of Keswick. We provide a range of fare from coffee cakes and sandwiches to our eclectic evening menu, wine and beer. Our food is well travelled, our aim has been to have an interesting but simple menu using seasonal ingredients drawing influences from around the world. The food is not fussy or contrived, just delicious and wholesome and served in a lovely atmosphere. We are serious about our coffee and use Monmouth beans which changes seasonally to provide our customers with their daily fix. Take away coffee is available at all times. Dog friendly
Reviewed 31 May 2018

Familyevening meal, food ok, childrens menu confusing (told they could have anything off main menu then when tried to order told they could have chickennuggets....).

Date of visit: May 2018
Thank joolia76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,046)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

84 - 88 of 1,046 reviews

Reviewed 22 May 2018 via mobile

Loved the look of this place as we were deciding where to go for lunch. We were lucky enough to get seated quite quickly, even though it was busy, we were greeted warmly and our order taken. I had the halloumi, poached eggs, hummus and flatbread. What a superb combination of flavours, I loved it! My husband had soup which he really enjoyed.

Staff lovely, beautiful food , I’d highly recommend eating here without hesitation!

Date of visit: May 2018
Thank 151jennyr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 May 2018

After having a great experience at the Cockermouth Merienda we thought we would try the one in Keswick. Where the almond slice in Cockermouth was full of cherries and moist the Keswick version was dry with no almond taste. The carrot cake was equally dry. The Keswick staff could take some lessons in customer service from the Cockermouth team as service was very lacklustre.

Date of visit: May 2018
2  Thank debznjohn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 May 2018

Last visit May 2017, this visit May 2018 and just as good.
Awesome nachos, lovely pulled pork, historic chipotle chicken.

I just don't understand some of the recent less than super reviews - the tables are fairly close but nothing unusual when you're not paying £200 a head, the food is really tasty and well prepared, our table was opposite the toilet and we really didn't notice.

Do go!

Date of visit: May 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank BarcaBloke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 May 2018 via mobile

After a long day on Helvellyn we tried this place on recommendation from Fellpack who were to busy. The food was fantastic with great service to go with it. We accommodated without a booking with no fuss or drama. Wouldn’t hesitate going again.

Date of visit: May 2018
Thank Pernod0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Merienda also viewed

 
Keswick, Lake District
Keswick, Lake District
 
Keswick, Lake District
Keswick, Lake District
 

Been to Merienda? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing