We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
Booking.com
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (462)
Filter reviews
462 results
Traveller rating
377
63
18
4
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
377
63
18
4
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews course tasting menu a michelin star restaurant lake district master bedroom paired wines free standing bath sleep quality dining room special occasion stayed for one night lovely toiletries huge bath fresh milk dining experience no lift cumbrian breakfast a real treat
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
7 - 12 of 462 reviews
Reviewed 18 October 2021

Loved our time at Forest Side. Beautiful and comfortable surroundings. Perfectly located for all you would want to do in the Lakes.
Fabulous food - we had the 8 course tasting menu plus wine pairings. Friendly, attentive and well informed staff, all of whom made us feel welcome and at home during our four night stay.
Just perfect!

Date of stay: October 2021
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank goodstuff12
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 16 October 2021

We recently stayed for three nights at Forest Side, our first visit. The hotel is very well situated for walks and sight seeing in the Lakes. A lovely Hotel, the staff were all extremely attentive and professional. Our room and the public rooms were all very attractive and the food was excellent. We will certainly return.

Room tip: I suspect they will all be of a similar standard (ours was named Damson).
Date of stay: October 2021
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank stuartbB9476FP
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 16 October 2021 via mobile

We stayed here as a quick stop over (without our kids). Was so comfortable - we had the cosy room. I was pleasantly surprised at the size of the room. The bed so amazing, had the best sleep. And the breakfast was exquisite! Would definitely want to come back!

Date of stay: August 2021
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank adventureJS
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 15 October 2021 via mobile

Well, certainly lived up.tomour expectations. On arrival we were greeted by a very friendly young lady and showed up to our rooms which were fantastic. Clean, comfortable with stunning views.out over thr gardens. We went to.dinner whi h was amazing andalthough far from a food critique, it lives up to.michilin status. Service was grand and the 8 course were all sublime. Couple of favourites being artichoke and then the venison. So.far as waiters are concerned- Dean deserves a special mention, he was helpful friendly and had a great personality persona and sense of humour. It was a real treat and would love to go back

Thank Mark0966
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 29 September 2021 via mobile

We stayed at Forestside on a DBB
First the positives, the food was delicious and service in the restaurant was perfect and couldn’t be faulted.
The negative - after 18months of Covid staying in and a lockdown baby fueled sleepless nights we thought a relaxing stay would be well deserved and needed. The room was adequate maybe a little basic, but window restrictors and two fans in the room were warning signs..
The room was stuffy and a bit uncomfortable.. we left the fans running when we went down to the restaurant. After the meal we went straight to bed… this was a late September night which was a mild night but not anything out of normal.
The room temp was 27 degrees and as other reviews have said the two portable cheap fans are useless and just push the hot air around.
We spent the entire night listening to the noisy fans and a sweaty uncomfortable room.
My wife had to get up at 6am and go for a walk outside to get get some fresher cool air.
The problem was mentioned to the receptionist who apologised but did acknowledge they had problems with room temperatures.
We left feeling tired and aggravated (although again the breakfast was delicious).

Go for the food, but stay somewhere else. For the money there is far better places to stay locally.

Date of stay: September 2021
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank adeypea
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews