We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
US$176
View deal
Free cancellation until 05/12/21
Booking.com
Official Hotel
US$176
View deal
Reserve now, pay at stay
Hotels.comUS$176
Agoda.comUS$175
ZenHotels.comUS$211
View all 10 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,207)
Filter reviews
1,207 results
Traveller rating
810
258
83
38
18
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
810
258
83
38
18
Show reviews that mention
All reviews aromatherapy room riverside suite balcony overlooking the river langdale room lake district lovely hotel coffee and petit fours relaxing stay hydro pool venison wine list small balcony high standard spa facilities luxury hotel evening meal wedding anniversary
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
10 - 15 of 1,207 reviews
Reviewed 18 October 2021

I booked 2 nights at this hotel for my Husbands 65th Birthday. We stayed 15th & 16th October. Anna greeted us on arrival and was very welcoming, she even took some photos of us in the grounds! Room was spacious and nicely decorated. Lighting does need looking at for dressing table (this goes for ALL hotel rooms I have stayed in!) not just here but it’s just constructive points to help that’s all and comes from a good place in my ❤️
All staff very attentive, approachable and friendly. I apologise for not knowing all names but Maria, Robert & Richard we would also like to thank for making breakfast and dinner so enjoyable and making it extra special. We would like to give a shout out to the kitchen staff who work so hard making the meals so delicious and well presented. It was very much appreciated. Also the the house keepers keeping everywhere so clean and beautifully presented. Thank you.
We used the spa which was totally relaxing and just what we needed. We loved the aromatherapy room which was just the right temperature for us. One thing I felt I would like added to the room would be some music. Something like sounds of the ocean, or forest to give that extra layer to the senses. That would be lovely
We actually felt sad when we left, like we were leaving friends. We will be back to see you all again as soon as we can. Maybe you can take some more pictures Anna! Take care everyone and stay safe until next time xxx

Room tip: We had room 19 on first floor which has a larger veranda overlooking the river, field and mountains. Room spacious and quiet.
Date of stay: October 2021
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 56Myangel62
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris Tomlinson MIH, General Manager at Rothay Garden Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear 56Myangel62,

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay. During these challenging times it means a great deal for my team and I to receive such lovely comments, the team are extremely hard working and pride themselves on offering the best service they can here at Rothay.

My team and I very much look forward to welcoming you back again to Rothay Garden Hotel.

Kind regards

Chris Tomlinson MIH,
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 October 2021 via mobile

Lovely rooms, excellent service with good attention to detail and the food was really good. I didn’t try the spa but some of our group did and said it was excellent. The hotel has excellent covid protocols better than others we have been to. Even our dog was pampered with a soft bed and food bowls. There is also a drying room which was very welcome after a wet day in the fells. I can highly recommend this hotel both for walkers and other visitors. Its location is very convenient for the very pretty town of Grasmere and surrounding area.

Date of stay: October 2021
Trip type: Travelled with friends
1  Thank Navigate05554322834
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris Tomlinson MIH, General Manager at Rothay Garden Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear Navigate05554322834,

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay. During these challenging times it means a great deal for my team and I to receive such lovely comments. I am so glad to hear that your dog also enjoyed the stay with us!

My team and I very much look forward to welcoming you back again to Rothay Garden Hotel.

Kind regards

Chris Tomlinson MIH,
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2021 via mobile

Food simply wonderful, Spa well organised considering the times we live in, and the staff were nothing short of perfect. Mask wearing in the public areas of the building is great. Grasmere is a wonderful place and the hotel made our weekend perfect. Thank you

Date of stay: September 2021
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank John W
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris Tomlinson MIH, General Manager at Rothay Garden Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 October 2021

Dear John,

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay. During these challenging times it means a great deal for my team and I to receive such lovely comments.

My team and I very much look forward to welcoming you back again to Rothay Garden Hotel.

Kind regards

Chris Tomlinson MIH,
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 September 2021 via mobile

We had a lovely bedroom that had one large balcony with a wonderful view overlooking the river and countryside and a smaller balcony overlooking the gardens. The bathroom had a window which was good, but I preferred the bathroom we had last year with a spa bath and separate shower and that was in not as expensive a room. There was no proper mirror too in the bathroom and the lighting was dim, plus there was no seal on the shower panel and as we expected, even with trying to keep the shower panel well over the bath, water went on the floor.
I was slightly disappointed about the spa as we were told we could book a slot for 45 minutes so we assumed it was like like last year where we had it to ourselves but when we got there, there were two other couples in there, so we had to share time in the jacuzzi and time on those hot beds. I think there’d been a mixup and there should only have been four people in the spa and not six as we were asked politely by a lovely male member of staff were we all happy to share. We all said we were but one couple made it evident to us and the lovely staff member later (who seemed to be getting grief off another staff member as well as guests) they weren’t happy, so it was a bit off putting and marred the experience.
We weren’t too impressed with the evening meal either and potato and vegetable portions are very meagre. On check out we saw there was a service charge of £7.50 (minimum charge I believe or 10%)…. At breakfast there was no fresh fruit or yoghurt which you would expect a hotel of this calibre to have, but am not sure if this was due to the hotel closing down that day for ten days.
The bedroom and view were wonderful but we didn’t enjoy our stay as much as we did last year. Something was missing/lacking this year including atmosphere/soul and we didn’t feel as comfortable in the hotel as much as we did in one we stayed at in Windermere before travelling to Grasmere. The location is wonderful though and the hotel has a lovely garden to sit out in.

Date of stay: September 2021
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank TillyFloss_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris Tomlinson MIH, General Manager at Rothay Garden Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 September 2021

Dear TillyFloss_11,

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay and I am sorry to hear about some of these issues that you had during your stay with us.

I can only apologise for the mix up in the spa, and thank you for being so understanding in the circumstances.

We are currently looking at our breakfast menu as we have a new Executive Chef with us, so thank you for the feedback especially on the fruit! We are also due a refurbishment in all the bathrooms throughout the hotel which will be starting in 2022 so we very much hope you will come back next year and enjoy Rothay once again.

Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 September 2021 via mobile

Very pretty hotel and beautiful grounds couldn't really fault the room except no mini fridge and no fresh milk, very clean and the hotel is beautifully decorated and clean. The spa is also beautifully done but only offering a 45 min slot isn't really good enough this isn't explained when you book the hotel. The mask wearing is still strict, slightly surprised but most places we visited still had signs maks were needed. Breakfast was average a Platter is served it contained cheese that was warm and sweated ham that had been left out and was hard fruit and a smoothy that was just strawberry yoghurt the cooked breakfast was nice, I assume as with all the other places staffing maybe an issue we struggled to eat out as everywhere had limited food service or was fully booked. Also 2 glasses of wine came to £19 I appreciate the impact covid has had but for the price the hotel changes I would expect a bit more or a price decrease until facilities can be used without restrictions

Date of stay: September 2021
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank hols092
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris Tomlinson MIH, General Manager at Rothay Garden Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 September 2021

Dear hols092,

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay and I am sorry to hear about some of these issues that you had during your stay with us.

In reference to the spa, this has been put in place due to Covid restrictions and allowing us to give each of our guests the opportunity to use the facilities. I apologise if this was not communicated to you effectively, and will ensure the team are aware of this for future relations. We are a small team and we are doing everything to ensure that the team and all our visitors are safe so we are grateful that people are still wearing masks when moving around the hotel.

We are currently looking at our breakfast menu as we have a new Executive Chef with us so we hope that in the future you will visit us again and enjoy.

My team and I very much look forward to welcoming you back again to Rothay Garden Hotel.

Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews