We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotels.com
Booking.com
Expedia
Agoda.com
ZenHotels.com
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (81)
Filter reviews
81 results
Traveller rating
44
21
9
5
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
44
21
9
5
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews waterhead hotel arrived promptly a lake view room one way system dog treats cooked to order excellent hotel room was lovely and clean each morning hope to return eggs benedict enjoyable stay short stay minute walk full english a great stay lake district
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
7 - 12 of 81 reviews
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

After a very poor check- in due to an early arrival, it went from bad to worse. Do not stay here if you don t want pets in your hotel and don t expect 5 star treatment ,you want get it here. Having stayed here before as the Waterhead Hotel its not good , even with a new exterior and interior. House- keeping staff lovely and very helpful and bar staff good , but avoid this hotel as much better places to stay in Coniston. This is a shame as beautiful views of the Lake and the Old Man of Coniston Mountain. Rooms tatty and not great!!!! Food & Drink expensive and as a regular visitor to this lovely place it was a real shame.!!!!

Date of stay: May 2021
Thank Wendy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

My husband and I, with our two friends, stayed for 1 night midweek recently. We left our car in the parking area and walked into Coniston before checking in. We were lucky enough to have sunshine on that day so, after a lunch in the Black Bull pub, we took the boat trip on the Lake which was lovely.
We checked into our rooms by friendly staff and found them clean, comfortable and with huge beds! We had rooms looking towards the Lake. We had reserved a table for dinner and had a delicious meal. Welcoming dining area and good menu. We were all pleased with our choice of food especially the cheesecake!
Our breakfast the following morning was lovely. Served at the table there was cereals, hot breakfasts and toast etc. I chose the eggs benedict which was tasty.
Would highly recommend and would stay again if visiting the area.

Room tip: Ask for room overlooking lake
Date of stay: May 2021
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Deborah J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2021

We were lucky enough to spend Christmas at this hotel. Despite having more than a third of it's bookings cancelled due to tier changes, the hotel did a great job.
Staff were friendly and welcoming and the food was excellent.
Really hope they get to open up soon, we would go back again

Room tip: Lake view rooms are good, we had a corner room so had a view of the Old Man of Coniston from one window and the Lake from another, perfect
Date of stay: December 2020
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Sacha10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 December 2020

We booked this very last minute after a trip elsewhere got cancelled. It's great value for money. Its hard to find hotels in the Lakes which are well located but not ridiculously priced. This place is right by Coniston water and only a 10 min walk into the town. Also a great base for some popular hikes nearby. The room was fairly basic but a good size, and we had a view of the Old Man of Coniston, which was beautiful. We had our evening meal in the restaurant at the hotel, the food was absolutely delicious and all served fast & hot. The waitress was also lovely. Would definitely stay again!

Date of stay: December 2020
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank 2Hannahl22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 December 2020 via mobile

Well we’ve just arrived home from a wonderful stay at the newly refurbished Coniston inn and it was bliss ! The food was fab the managers John and Anita are lovely and the staff can’t do enough to ensure your stay is perfect. All Covid restrictions were adhered to and we felt totally safe and spent a lovely day walking from their recommendations!! The effort they have gone to is outstanding and the fairy garden created by John is wonderful (even for us grown ups) ! Thanks for a wonderful stay and we will be back soon (restrictions allowing) happy Xmas to all at the Inn and keep up the good work, Nick and Hayley x

Date of stay: December 2020
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank hayleyhenk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews