We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brilliant day out ”
Review of The Deep

The Deep
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: Located in Hull, The Deep is an award winning aquarium home to 3,500 fish including green sawfish, spectacular sharks, rays and a colony of Gentoo penguins. Journey through the story of the world's oceans travelling through a unique blend of spectacular marine life from warm tropical waters to the cold Antarctic seas. Enjoy the fun and educational interactive and audio-visual presentations on your voyage of discovery. Highlights include daily dive shows and animal presentations where you can see our divers hand feed the animals. Join in with our fantastic touch pool sessions at Discovery Corner at the Lagoon of Light and learn about some of the smaller native species to the UK shores. Visit The Deep's newest residents, a colony of Gentoo penguins in chilly The Kingdom of Ice and learn more about the threats to their habitat, issues surrounding climate change and ocean acidification as well as animal biology and food chains. Finally walk through the amazing glass tunnel and take in the stunning marine life swimming all around you, before taking a ride in the glass lift through the 10m Endless Oceans exhibit. Tickets cost: Adults £12.00 Children £10.00 Under 3s free Senior/student £11.00 Family of 4 £39.50 Family of 5 £47.50 You can save 10% by booking your tickets online.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

For all this place was heaving when we visited... all I can say is FABULOUS! It’s clean, the interactive exhibits work, it’s great value for money with the pay once lasts for a year ticket. The tanks are clean fish & mammals look healthy & the cafe & gift shop aren’t extortion! I’d highly recommend a visit with kids

Thank RMonaghan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheDeep-HU14DP, Public Relations Manager at The Deep, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Thank you for your positive review and we are so pleased to hear you enjoyed your visit.

Hope to 'sea' you again soon!

Kind Regards
The Deep Crew

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (3,954)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"sea life"
in 196 reviews
"fish"
in 1,027 reviews
"large tank"
in 74 reviews
"an aquarium"
in 56 reviews
"bubble lift"
in 47 reviews
"penguin enclosure"
in 46 reviews
"annual pass"
in 56 reviews
"gift aid"
in 51 reviews
"soft play area"
in 63 reviews
"all ages"
in 214 reviews
"picnic area"
in 64 reviews
"interactive displays"
in 56 reviews
"family ticket"
in 39 reviews
"half term"
in 60 reviews
"car park"
in 138 reviews
"bank holiday"
in 39 reviews
"school holidays"
in 87 reviews
Filter

30 - 34 of 3,954 reviews

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Visited this attraction on Sunday with my husband and small grandson(almost 2 years). When I visited before it was boring this time it has changed.
The main attraction has a better path way and is both wheelchair and pushchair friendly. There is lots to see and the vantage points are toddler friendly with large viewing areas where a small toddler can gaze at the fish. There are more information points for older people who want to learn.
It is not cheap but a good place to visit with a "little one". The only downside was the penguin area which was white plastic with penguins moving stones around the enclosure.
There is a large car park but you have to pay..

Thank Christine L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheDeep-HU14DP, Public Relations Manager at The Deep, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Hi Christine

Thank you for your review.

The white fibreglass in the Penguin enclosure is to replicate an icy background with the temperature of the enclosure being controlled correctly. We also ensure that they have plenty of rocks and textures to maintain healthy feet and are provided ice whenever necessary.
The Penguins are currently in nesting which is why they are moving the rocks around, this is a positive behaviour for them as it shows that they are happy with their home.

The car park is owned by the council so unfortunately having to pay is something that we cannot control.

We are really happy to hear you all enjoyed your visit and don't forget your pass entitles you to free returns for 12 months,

Kind Regards
The Deep Crew

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We had a wander around the exhibit before our dinner in The Two Rivers Restaurant.
All the exhibits are fascinating and I could stand in front of the main tank for hours.

Thank theharrogatelady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheDeep-HU14DP, Public Relations Manager at The Deep, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

That's so great to hear you enjoyed your time with us.

Hopefully we will 'sea' you again soon

With Thanks
The Deep Crew

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Came on a date here and it was fun but definitely more aimed at children haha, was also very busy but maybe we just went at the wrong time. What’s good about it is that once you buy your tickets you get entry for a year so can go again. You get to see loads as well so is definitely worth it.

Thank ConstancePery
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheDeep-HU14DP, Public Relations Manager at The Deep, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Thank you for taking the time to post your review.
If your visit was during the school holidays it does tend to get very busy, especially between 11 and 3pm.

You could use your pass again to come on a more quieter time for another date perhaps?
Don't forget we have our Two Rivers Restaurant that is open Thursday, Friday and Saturday evenings where you could bring your date and dine amongst the displays.

With Thanks
The Deep Crew

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

A pass gets you in for a whole year which is great if you live nearby and have kids that need occupying in the holidays. It has a cafe and gift shop too. Love the turtles penguins and sawfish.

Thank joebloggs90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheDeep-HU14DP, Public Relations Manager at The Deep, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Thank you for your positive review and we are glad you enjoyed your visit.

With Thanks
The Deep Crew

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Deep also viewed

Kingston-upon-Hull, East Riding of Yorkshire
Kingston-upon-Hull, East Riding of Yorkshire
 
Kingston-upon-Hull, East Riding of Yorkshire
Kingston-upon-Hull, East Riding of Yorkshire
 

Been to The Deep? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
;