We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Booking.com
US$84
View deal
Expedia
US$96
View deal
Hotels.com
US$96
View deal
Agoda.comUS$91
Vio.com
Etrip
View all 10 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,291)
Filter reviews
1,292 results
Traveller rating
605
327
198
115
47
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
605
327
198
115
47
Show reviews that mention
All reviews roll top bath nespresso machine afternoon tea walk in shower queen victoria junior suite parking space special occasion mini bar beautiful room a lovely stay stayed for one night car park following morning full english town centre yogurt
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
13 - 18 of 1,292 reviews
Reviewed 4 December 2022

If you recall eating at the HDV 10 to 15 years ago, with great service and a fabulous sommelier, then you will be incredibly disappointed now. Even the previous (pre-pandemic set Sunday lunch is just a fond memory). Our meal was a Sunday lunch to celebrate a birthday with family and it was very disappointing, with undercooked pastry and over seasoned food generally. The restaurant was nowhere near full and lacked the old atmosphere we used to experience. Some staff had no idea what was on the menu. We were actually quite embarrassed about it - only saved by a reasonable selection of wine. Having written to HDV (a central email address), I can confirm that they don’t actually care enough to respond. I guess staying there is a different experience. Compare the atmosphere, service and food to Cote and you will be astonished to see how different they are, the latter being streaks ahead. It’s not somewhere I would go for a meal now, let alone a celebration.

Date of stay: November 2022
Thank Drmthom62
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Eryn Dawe, General Manager at Hotel du Vin & Bistro Tunbridge Wells, responded to this reviewResponded 7 December 2022

Hello and thank you for taking the time to review your recent experience with us. Please accept our apologies as it seems were not simply not able to offer you the experience you had expected on this occasion. As it is out utmost priority to ensure we deliver exceptional service and product to our guests, it seems we missed the mark. I can assure you that our guest feedback is invaluable in assuring we uphold our standards and if you had not yet been contacted by our team, someone would be in touch at the earliest availability. We appreciate your feedback and hope to have the chance to speak to you in further detail.

Many thanks,
Eryn Dawe

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 November 2022

spent last night here had a suite what luxery staff very good seeing you have a good stay i had a fullenglish my partner have avocado both good did not have dinner there to many bad reviews. had room overlooking park and ice skating rink

Room tip: pay for parking in advance as car park gets busy
Date of stay: November 2022
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank A4018ZXdavidn
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Eryn Dawe, General Manager at Hotel du Vin & Bistro Tunbridge Wells, responded to this reviewResponded 25 November 2022

Hello and thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us. We are so pleased you enjoyed your accommodation and hope to welcome you back again in the future.

Many thanks,
Eryn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 November 2022

The afternoon tea at The Hotel Du Vin Tunbridge wells was not a good experience. After being shown to our table, we were told that the menus had not yet been printed and they would be with us when they had. When the waiter returned he said he was unable to print them, so he told us what the Xmas afternoon tea consisted of.

We ordered our drinks and when they were served to us we were then told that the afternoon tea wasn’t going to be the one we had just been told about, it was going to be their normal one. We were then given a menu with the description of sandwich fillings and cakes and scones that would be served. We did ask for the children to have no pickle on their cheese sandwiches, which they did manage to do.

When the food arrived there were no ham sandwiches as described by the waiter, no Bakewell tarts (on the menu) and no scones. We assumed the scones would be served after the sandwiches and cakes on a separate plate. We asked where the Bakewell tarts were (our son was particularly keen for it to be served as it’s a favourite of his) the waiter apologised and went to the kitchen to get them. He returned to say sorry, the chef isn’t happy with them so won’t be serving them. Ok that happens. We ordered some
more drinks as we were finishing the cakes and sandwiches. Still no scones. We thought maybe we should ask about them as we’d been there for a long time (70mins) and had finished the food that had been served. We asked the waiter could we please have our scones now to finish off with the drinks we had just ordered? The waiter returned to say he was very sorry but the chef says there are no scones!

Not only was the service slow and completely disorganised, but the kitchen clearly wasn’t prepared for our afternoon tea booking. The waiter seemed to be completely embarrassed about what was happening and told us that the chef would be covering the cost of our afternoon tea as it was their mess up.

We appreciated the apology from the waiter on behalf of the chef but felt considering it was the chef that really mucked up, it should be them apologising and not the waiter.

It was a booking made to celebrate a birthday. Unfortunately it was a big disappointment. You don’t expect to go for afternoon tea and be told part way through, sorry we don’t have any scones!

This was my first experience at this hotel and it will be my last. I will not be returning. The service and quality of food was poor and failed to live up to expectations. It was very disappointing.

Date of stay: November 2022
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank K7156JHbeckys
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Eryn Dawe, General Manager at Hotel du Vin & Bistro Tunbridge Wells, responded to this reviewResponded 25 November 2022

Hello and thank you for taking the time to review your recent experience with us. I must offer our genuine apologies as this is not the experience we strive to provide to our guests. I would very much apprecaite the opportunity to speak with you further regarding this, should you be willing? We will attempt to reach you directly and thank you again.

Many thanks,
Eryn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 November 2022 via mobile

We had organised a special family event, we experienced good food, ambience and tremendous service. Many thanks to Sophia and her team. It made the day very special for us as a family and for our guests. The hotel is a splendid destination. Thank you!

Date of stay: November 2022
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank E6338DNdavidm
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Eryn Dawe, General Manager at Hotel du Vin & Bistro Tunbridge Wells, responded to this reviewResponded 15 November 2022

Hello and thank you for taking the time to review your recent experience with us. We are so pleased our team was able to take such good care of your family and friends. We do hope to welcome you back again in the future.

Many thanks,
Eryn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 November 2022

This is the second Hotel du Vin that we’ve been to and it didn’t disappoint.
The staff were excellent, the room and bed was great and the location was perfect.
The bar in the evening was friendly and comfortable and you can pre-book a parking slot.
All in all, thoroughly enjoyed our stay.

Room tip: Book your parking.
Date of stay: November 2022
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Tjay37
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Eryn Dawe, General Manager at Hotel du Vin & Bistro Tunbridge Wells, responded to this reviewResponded 8 November 2022

Hello and thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us. We are so pleased you enjoyed your experience and we hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back again in the future.

Many thanks,
Eryn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews