We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing”
Review of The Hand & Sceptre

The Hand & Sceptre
Reserve a table
2
Sun, 25/07
20:00
Price range: US$7 - US$34
Cuisines: British, Gastropub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Outdoor Seating, Private Dining, Reservations
Description: Tunbridge Wells cozy country pub & boutique lodge with simply amazing food & drink. There's something for everyone every day of the week !
Reviewed 11 June 2021

Found this beautiful pub, absolutely amazing food and excellent service. A well managed restaurant. Thank you

Date of visit: June 2021
Thank Rebecca H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General Manager A, Manager at The Hand & Sceptre, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Hi Rebecca H, we are very happy to have provided you with such a positive experience!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a reviewReviews (571)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

15 - 19 of 572 reviews

Reviewed 2 June 2021 via mobile

Ordered the steak salad and the vegan type salad , poor quality ingredients , steak was cold , awful salad , ingredients not fresh .
Wine by the glass is very expensive large white wine nearly £9.00
Service is chaotic and they don’t appear to know which order goes to what table
Will not be returning

Date of visit: June 2021
Thank noopster88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2021

Went out and left do not disturb sign on the door. Staff decided to go through our belongings and when questioned about it we were told to left as they suspected we had drugs on the property. This was 10pm on a bank holiday weekend! The room was damp, and dirty. Sink didn't work, shower was cold and barely a dribble

Date of visit: May 2021
Thank sims842
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 May 2021

Was so pleased to have revisited the hand and sceptre staff as always very helpful Daniel was very nice and helpful nothing was to much trouble thank you for a lovely evening

Date of visit: May 2021
Thank D1178FUsarahv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 May 2021 via mobile

I've just spent a lovely evening with myself and a few of my girl friends, we came in for a few drinks and ended up staying for food the staff they they had on were nervous ( expected after just haveing months away from a demanding job) but they soon got into the swing of things they had an awnser for every question we asked and were very happy to help. Mark our waiter was a really good laugh and really made out evening, I'm so glad that they have reopened and we didn't have to sit in the rain

Date of visit: May 2021
Thank Q9883SDannam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Hand & Sceptre also viewed

Eynsford, Sevenoaks District
 
Brasted, Sevenoaks District
Royal Tunbridge Wells, Kent
 

Been to The Hand & Sceptre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in Hong Kong. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.