We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (827)
Filter reviews
827 results
Traveller rating
659
94
37
17
20
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
659
94
37
17
20
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsdeparture loungecrows nesthot tubfire pitglass of champagnesunday lunchvictory barunique experiencewater bedofficers messguided tourchurchill suitemusic quizchampagne receptiontreasure huntkite flyingother guests
Filter
Updating list...
76 - 81 of 827 reviews
Reviewed 29 May 2018

We spent a Sunday afternoon aboard the fort to have dinner and drinks.
It was a sunny afternoon and the weather helped us explore the fort both inside and out before dinner.
Dinner was about what you can expect on a day trip and the drinks were reasonably priced considering we were a captive guest pairing.

Room Tip: didn't stay so i don't know
  • Stayed: May 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank DEXTER52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AmaZing V, Manager at Spitbank Fort, responded to this reviewResponded 2 June 2018

Dear Dexter52,

Many thanks for leaving your kind feedback, I am glad you enjoyed your time with us.

Best Regards,

Kyle

Kyle R. Allen
Spitbank Fort Manager
kyle@solentforts.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2018

The rooms, the bar area, the recreation area, nooks and crannies: attention to detail in every corner; beautifully and thoughtfully restored. A unique and stunning venue staffed by lovely people who cared.

BUT

No white bread for toast (they don't do that?), tea and coffee in short supply (not offered and when asked for undrinkable), lunch was supposed to be 'sumptuous' but consisted of one hot dish and rice with a bit (i.e. not nearly enough) of salad and fish and pasta.

Dinner was quite good in parts, but left us hungry and had absolutely no wow factor. If you had a shellfish allergy the alternative to the crab was a tomato (really - that was it).

The hot tub with champagne (£48 I think) was amazing providing you didn't bother with the muck floating around, and the fire pit experience at the end of the evening only happened because we improvised when we were told there was no wood for it. In fact on too many occasions had to chase up drinks or service or go into the kitchen to get tea bags or order cheese boards. Or find our own sauces (still couldn't find brown for breakfast) or salt and pepper, butter, marmalade, more croissants (8 for 16 people.. come on) .I was left with a cup with no saucer because none had been washed. And so it went on....

Overall we had a good laugh and of course there was the fort itself... but Fawlty towers could do another episode with this... and it was meant to be luxury 5 star (the price reflected this)... it reminded me of a holiday camp at times.

More staff please... more food choice please... truly 5 star food please... more, much more food please.... more tea and coffee and learn how to make it (when asked for more tea, the pot was merely refilled with hot water and a guest had to go back into the kitchen to get another tea bag). More drinks choice (pale ale- craft ale), wood for the fire pit and clean out the hot tub.

Basil might then approve.

Room Tip: all fabulous
  • Stayed: May 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
7  Thank Chris-Greville
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AmaZing V, Manager at Spitbank Fort, responded to this reviewResponded 2 June 2018

Dear Chris-Greville,

Thank you for spending the time leaving your feedback on TripAdvisor, I regret I was not on board during your stay;

It is clear the kitchen did not cover themselves in glory during your stay, and for that I apologise and have addressed this in terms more fitting for our "Flack Room" on the lower deck.

This is not indicative of the experience we offer at Spitbank Fort given our historic feedback

Perhaps we are fortunate that duck wasn't on the menu and none of our kitchen team had the responsibility of cobbling together a Waldorf Salad. I do urge you to contact me directly so I may investigate your feedback further on the below email address.


Best Regards

Kyle

Kyle R. Allen
Spitbank Fort Manager
kyle@solentforts.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2018 via mobile

Stayed Saturday 26th May, and had a super adventure, and left with plenty of great memories. Everything was well managed by the staff, from check in, the journey across the Solent, and especially the staff on site, who would always go above and beyond to make sure we were relaxed and looked after.

The fort is full of stories and places to explore, and is really a museum piece and a homage to its military history. The accommodation is very good, with large spacious bedrooms rooms, and very comfortable lounge and dinning areas. I heartily recommend taking some time in the day to explore the fort and it’s secrets. The pitch black circular passageway around the forts base is worth a walk along, but it can get silty. Happy to report no sign of ghosts. Obviously.

Food and drink are excellent, but with a set menu, you need to include any dietary requirements when you book. Champagne on arrival, and again later after (the incredible) homemade cake, and again in the evening was very well received!

We were so lucky to be able to meet some fantastic people on our stay, all 8 couples genuinely got on so well. We shared some brilliant times, chilling in the hot pool, playing the hook game (so simple, so much rivalry!), and all getting completely soaked in the spontaneous downpour during a beautiful lightening storm. Sitting in the lounge, drinking rum, in our best clobber, wrapped in dressing gowns.. Great times.

Till next time! Can’t wait.
P.s. Mo says hi.

Stayed: May 2018, travelled as a couple
4  Thank JimmyJam75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AmaZing V, Manager at Spitbank Fort, responded to this reviewResponded 2 June 2018

Dear JimmyJam75,

What a fantastic review! I do apologise about the absence of the ghost, he may have made a special guest appearance for one night only in the kitchen during your stay...

We hope to welcome you back soon.

Best Regards,

Kyle & Abi

Kyle R. Allen
Spitbank Fort Manager
kyle@solentforts.com

Abigail Priestnall
Spitbank Fort Restaurant Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2018 via mobile

Came across this by accident and so glad we did. Fantastic venue, company, and the staff were brilliant. In particular, Jack, who went out of his way at every opportunity to make sure our every need and request was met. Highly recommended. #scotty #teamjack

Stayed: May 2018, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Rockitmurray
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AmaZing V, Manager at Spitbank Fort, responded to this reviewResponded 2 June 2018

Dear Rockitmurray,

Many thanks for spending the time to leave your feedback on TripAdvisor, Jack in particular was delighted to read it.

We hope to welcome you back soon.

Best Regards,

Kyle

Kyle R. Allen
Spitbank Fort Manager
kyle@solentforts.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2018

We stayed on Spitbank last night. This was a surprise for my 50th birthday my wife had booked. Our room was Admiral Nelson which exceeded our expectations. Everything was amazing food, hospitality and Kyles knowledge and personality made it special. I would strongly recommend a overnight stay. We were fortunate too sit with other like minded people and the weather was glorious.

Stayed: May 2018, travelled as a couple
1  Thank aspectmick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AmaZing V, Manager at Spitbank Fort, responded to this reviewResponded 2 June 2018

Dear aspectmick,

I am delighted you enjoyed your stay with us, we hope to welcome you back soon, particularly if you return with such amazing weather.

Best Regards,

Kyle

Kyle R. Allen
Spitbank Fort Manager
kyle@solentforts.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews