We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Short break”
Review of The King's Arms

The King's Arms
Ranked #38 of 139 Restaurants in Dorchester
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$11 - US$37
Description: Simple fresh food, prepared on the premises daily and relying on the best West Country produce. The menu changes regularly and we are proud to showcase our local suppliers.
Restaurant details
Description: Simple fresh food, prepared on the premises daily and relying on the best West Country produce. The menu changes regularly and we are proud to showcase our local suppliers.
Reviewed 19 August 2021 via mobile

Excellent hotel very friendly and helpful staff especially Jimmy and Evie food was excellent and reasonably priced as were the drinks very dog friendly as well only one negative was the room was quite hot at night. Will definitely be going back again soon would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone right in the town centre close to shops and the breakfast was excellent very good choice

Date of visit: August 2021
1  Thank belbens
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (68)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

8 - 12 of 68 reviews

Reviewed 15 August 2021

We are locals and this redevelopment has been keenly awaited. We have given it some time to settle down and started with a few visits for just drinks in the covered area at the rear. The experience here was good with very friendly and efficient staff.
Last week we decided to take our granddaughter for an evening meal to celebrate her A-level success. Arriving early we noticed the bar and restaurant to be very full for a Thursday night. What follows should be seen with that in mind. We started in the bar with local Furleigh fizz which was excellent. I expected that we would be given menus and then be guided to the restaurant but this didn't happen so I was eventually forced to return to reception and they told us to come through.

The bar had been quite noisy with music emanating from a speaker close to our table. I had hoped that the restaurant would be quieter and calmer but this was not to be! Indeed it was quite hard to hold a conversation across the table and even more difficult to have an exchange with the young woman who came to take our order. We were given 2 menus and there were 3 of us. Luckily I had held onto a drinks menu which had looked very promising from inspection during our previous visits. The restaurant has a statement that they do not employ a sommelier but urges customers to ask their waiter for guidance. There are some interesting inclusions on the wine list with bottles from Bulgaria and Uruguay - it would be good to have some help with these but our waiter knew nothing about the wines we selected other than that one came with a nice label. Luckily the Languedoc white we chose for safety turned out to be excellent and so it should have been at £36.

Our granddaughter is vegetarian and there wasn't a lot of choice for her but I'm happy to relate that all the food we chose exceeded expectations and service was prompt considering the large numbers present.

3 courses, the fizz and the Languedoc came to £177 for 3 which would have been OK had the ambience in the bar and restaurant matched our expectations. Whilst staff were friendly I felt they were under a lot of pressure. I would have been quite happy if they had asked us to come even an hour later to avoid the crush. It' almost impossible to have a first-rate dining experience when there are just too many people. We experienced the same with the 'Pig' chain. A few other niggles - paper napkins and not linen - not really acceptable at this price point. The service charge is automatically added at the end but it's just 10% - I think it should be higher at 12.5% and the customer should know how this is dispersed.

Date of visit: August 2021
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Symphony1010
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 10 August 2021

We stayed for four nights to see the locality and most importantly host a family reunion lunch for 8. The hotel is full of character but has obviously been sensitively refurbished at great cost to provide an altogether excellent venue for tourists and locals. The staff could not have been more cheerful and helpful, the service was first class, and we very much enjoyed our meals and our family occasion which we were able to hold, almost privately, in The Old Smoking Room. Recommended.

Date of visit: August 2021
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Mike K
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 9 August 2021 via mobile

Stayed here one night to break up a long journey to Devon - what a delight! Everything is to a very high standard, from the stylish bar to the exceptional rooms. Bedding was lovely, bathroom beautiful including an excellent shower. Lovely touches that make a difference: radio playing classical music softly in the background when you arrive, complimentary bottled water and fresh milk in the fridge, fancy coffee machine, the discrete lighting that comes on in the bathroom at night to save you switching on bright lights. The cooked breakfast was probably one of the best I've ever had, you can tell every ingredient is of high quality. It's so nice when a hotel really gets it!

Date of visit: August 2021
Thank Journey50660394688
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 7 August 2021 via mobile

11 people and three dogs. We sat in the front bar area room and had the space to ourselves! Lovely staff welcomed us and looked after us. Had some drinks and some chips, our 8 year old had chips made for her specially from the chef. Many many thanks to the team!

Date of visit: August 2021
Thank abbiej00
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travellers who viewed The King's Arms also viewed

 
Puddletown, Dorchester
Piddlehinton, Dorchester
 

Been to The King's Arms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in Hong Kong. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.