We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,446)
Filter reviews
1,446 results
Traveller rating
152
368
281
221
424
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
152
368
281
221
424
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsa ground floor roomplenty of hot waterexcellent value for moneybreakfast and evening mealbus stopplenty of choicefull englishdartmouthquizcomedian
Filter
Updating list...
63 - 68 of 1,446 reviews
Reviewed 27 June 2018

The sheets were clean, the room tiny.

Returned to the hotel one afternoon to see a group of drunks on the lawn appearing to have a ‘who can swear the loudest’ competition.

If you like endless bingo, this is definitely the place to be.

Room Tip: Pay a bit more and go somewhere else.
Stayed: June 2018, travelled solo
3  Thank Anna B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2018 via mobile

Booked Trecarn on a Wowcher offer for a night with dinner, bottle of wine and breakfast at £59. Had a lovely stay. Basic but comfy room with tea coffee facilities and bathroom was good except for bit of a damp smell. Hot summers day and room stayed lovely and cool with windows open. Seems to cater well for coach parties. Very little parking at hotel but we luckily got parked on road outside but this is June and not Juky/August when i expect parking could be tricky. Dinner was buffet with three hot options, salad, deserts and soup which was all tasty but was manic and not even at full seating capacity. Staff work their socks off. Very umcomfy and hot literally like a furnace in the large restaurant area and in the 21st century i suggest if they dont put air con in then ceiling fans would be necessary at the very least. That aside, not a bad hotel and definitely would recommend if looking for a bargain getaway.

Stayed: June 2018, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Kirsty C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2018 via mobile

We didn’t like our too small room so it was changed for us without a problem.
The hotel is undergoing refurbishment, our room hadn’t been refurbished but it was fine. The room had sufficient hanging and drawers space, tea and coffee making facilities and an iron and ironing board. There was a flat screen tv. Bathroom a bit tired but clean and shampoo/shower gel/soap provided.
The food was self service and okay.
If you are a fan of bingo then The Trecarn will be heaven to you, if you don’t like bingo then sorry you are stuck with it. The P A system was far too loud ( both during bingo and during the entertainment). The tv sound was muted, there were notices on every wall asking for silence during bingo!! When the weather was good enough we stayed out or sat in the pleasant grounds but when the weather was colder and windy we sat in the lounge (no suitable local pubs and not walking distance to Torquay) we joined others trying to escape the noise of the bingo. There were as many guests trying to avoid the bingo as join in. Come on Trecarn Hotel, either move the bingo players to a designated area or have a quiet area for others. Oh, and the horse racing on a Wednesday night!!!!!! Even louder.......
The bingo/horse racing starts at 8.45 pm (a time when many people are returning to the hotel after walks out or a drink locally) it would be better if it was earlier so non participants could avoid it.
Finally a couple of guests were exceptionally rude to the staff in the dining room. No need for it. It seems to me the staff are an asset to the hotel- they are not to blame if water during meals is self service from a filtered water machine so why a guest would shout at a young member of staff is beyond me. The management make the decisions - not a young lad cheerfully clearing the tables.
Would we return? Torquay- absolutely. Trecarn Hotel? Nope - not unless they ditch the bingo.

Stayed: June 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank janethendrixlover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2018

Just returned from a 4 night stay here. The hotel was exactly what expected for the price you pay for a National Holidays hotel. Room clean and tidy, dinning room big and spacious, bar area was big. Corridors could do with a lick of paint but not sleeping in them so didnt really care. The self service breakfast and evening meal were very good. There were some really nasty old people on this trip who just wanted to complain about everything. We have been on numerous National Holidays and have heard people complain about small portions of meals and on this one they were still complaining even tho you could eat as much as you wanted which most of them did!!! Location is excellent, trips were good apart from our driver cutting them short due to wanting to finish early as he lives in area we were back at hotel for 2.30pm on our day trips. I dont know what people expect for the price they pay but in my opinion I find all these National Holidays value for money. If people want 5 star treatment book a 5 star holiday and not a budget one. You get what you pay for!!!!! PS you oldies should be a bit more polite to the staff and stop being so greedy and nasty.

Room Tip: Book a groundfloor if you struggle with stairs and ask for a newly decorated room
  • Stayed: June 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank fvdelaney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2018

This Hotel sits in a great location for Babbacombe and St Mary Church. Our Double room was a great size and the bed was very comfortable. The buffet breakfast is exceptional based on our experience, we had a full English and everything was cooked to perfection. A huge dining area makes it even more appealing as you can sit and eat without feeling crammed in with other guests. Staff are welcoming and seem organised and there's decent night time entertainment with bingo, cabaret if you fancy a night in. A great stay during our 3 nights there and we plan to go back in September for a longer stay.

  • Stayed: May 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gasfoodlodger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews