We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Booking.com
US$98
View deal
Agoda.com
US$98
View deal
Hotels.com
US$96
View deal
FindHotelUS$96
ExpediaUS$96
Trip.comUS$104
View all 7 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (599)
Filter reviews
600 results
Traveller rating
478
97
15
5
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
478
97
15
5
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviews heated pool town centre full english lovely hotel breakfast was excellent sea view superior room comfortable bed family room car park lovely room well stocked bar plenty of choice guest house feel very welcome sea front couldn't do enough
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
7 - 12 of 600 reviews
Reviewed 19 October 2021

We were visiting Torquay for a couple of days for our wedding anniversary and my brother-in-law recommended The Cimon. He wasn't wrong! The location is excellent - just a short 10-minute walk from the seafront but far enough back to avoid any noise from the busy seaside resort. Our room - a superior double - was immaculately clean and spacious, with a neat if slightly tight ensuite shower room with a good electric shower. The bed had attractive bedding and was very comfortable. Julia the co-owner was friendly and helpful at all stages from check-in, at breakfasts and at check-out; this personalised touch sets The Cimon apart from the more impersonal branded hotels we sometimes use for short breaks and it does make such a difference. Breakfasts were excellent with a great selection of cooked and non-cooked options all served to table by Julia and her team. The hotel was quiet at night although we could hear some sound from nearby rooms. We were too late in the season to take advantage of the outdoor pool which was put to bed for the winter at the end of September so maybe we need to book again in prime summer season - a quick dip followed by a drink on the patio would be fantastic! As already said, the hotel is very well placed for the seafront as well as the lively harbour, the main shopping area and many of the main restaurants, as well as for walks through the beautiful back streets of Torquay and up and down the cliff walkways along the promenade. We were rather taken with Torquay (and Cockington which is worth a visit - a half-hour walk from the hotel) and so we think its very likely we'll return for a stay at The Cimon - and maybe a swim in the pool!! Thank you to Julia and the team for a lovely stay.

Date of stay: October 2021
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank brendanf28
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Julia Southby, Owner at The Cimon, responded to this reviewResponded 21 October 2021

Ahh thank you so much for the wonderful review and taking the time. We are so happy you enjoyed your stay with us after the recommendation! Glad you liked Torquay and all it has to offer and look forward to welcoming you back when the pool is open and heated!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 October 2021

This was our ‘summer holiday’ - We were not disappointed- Julia & James were amazing - nothing was too much trouble and we were made to feel very welcome. The Staff were polite and efficient and always spoke in a morning. The breakfast was great - kept us going all day!
Thank You both for a wonderful stay - it’s the only holiday I’ve ever had when I felt I had lost weight from all the walking! The pool was like getting into a bath and the room was lovely. See you next year! X

Date of stay: September 2021
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Compass41102241738
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Julia Southby, Owner at The Cimon, responded to this reviewResponded 18 October 2021

What a fabulous review - thank you so much and we are delighted you had a good break! Look forward to welcoming you back next year for some more exploring!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 October 2021

My mum and I very much enjoyed our stay while visiting family in the area. The room was quiet and clean, beds very comfortable, parking was safe at the rear of the property, wifi worked well, breakfast was varied using good quality ingredients. An added bonus for me was the small pots of Marmite! Although we didn't use them, the lounge areas were very welcoming. The hosts were very helpful and the breakfast staff very friendly and efficient. I look forward to a return visit.

Date of stay: October 2021
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank deborahw574
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Julia Southby, Owner at The Cimon, responded to this reviewResponded 17 October 2021

So glad you and your mum enjoyed your stay with us and thank you for the lovely review! We would love to welcome you both back again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2021 via mobile

Excellent hotel, the owners were very helpful, very friendly staff ,excellent breakfast, cooked to order, clean and tidy rooms, nothing was to much trouble, plenty of parking , would highly recommend staying here, just a short walk to the town and the sea front.

Date of stay: September 2021
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank susanpX2439DD
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Julia Southby, Owner at The Cimon, responded to this reviewResponded 3 October 2021

So glad you had a good stay and thanks so much for the lovely review, we really appreciate it.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2021

Just returned from a week stay at The Cimon . We stayed in room 12 which had lovely views during the day, including the pool and at night all the lights around the bay.
The hosts were warm and friendly, nothing was too much trouble, but equally you could go about your day without any interference. The restaurant for breakfast was spotless and food delicious. The whole hotel was very clean and always smelt fresh.
The hotel is ideally situated to get around on foot and trains are easily accessible to Dawlish and Exeter, very handy when we chose the only week when petrol supplies were in short supply
We would definitely stay at The Cimon again and would recommend it to friends and family

Room tip: Choose room 12
Date of stay: September 2021
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank G148PGnicolam
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Julia Southby, Owner at The Cimon, responded to this reviewResponded 3 October 2021

Thank you so much for the fabulous review - very much appreciated. We are glad you had a good stay and 'petrolgate' didn't interfere! Very much hope to welcome you back again for further exploration of the area!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews