We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
FindHotel
Hotels.com
Expedia
Booking.com
View all 6 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,318)
Filter reviews
1,318 results
Traveller rating
1,155
143
18
1
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
1,155
143
18
1
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews john and jane lovely hotel meadfoot beach warm welcome high standard few minutes walk town centre lovely garden breakfast was delicious small hotel perfect hosts bars and restaurants within easy walking distance full english new owners comfortable bed nothing is too much trouble
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
4 - 9 of 1,318 reviews
Reviewed 16 October 2021 via mobile

Well where do we start. We booked here for
Our Honeymoon as Mexico wasn’t to be. But we can honestly say we had the best time. John & Jane were so pleasant and welcoming, which made our stay even more enjoyable. They couldn’t do enough to ensure your stay was perfect. The little touches they added to our room for our honeymoon were amazing and we can’t thank you enough for making it feel special. Perfect location for getting out and about too.
But The breakfast.. WOW!! The choice was brilliant but the taste was outstanding. We throughly enjoyed our breakfast each morning. We can’t wait to return and might make it into a yearly getaway to celebrate our anniversary. John’s espresso Martinis are the best too
Thank you again for the best honeymoon we could have wished for. X

Date of stay: October 2021
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank amyhC3123VC
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John Dodds, Owner at Haytor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 October 2021

Thank you so much Amy and Perrie for choosing to stay at The Haytor Hotel and for taking the time to send a review. We are so proud you both enjoyed your Honeymoon stay with us and we hope to see you again. We really enjoyed having you stay as you make such a lovely couple. Wishing you love and happiness in your future life together.

Kind regards John & Jane

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 October 2021

John and Jane really made our stay very enjoyable.
Hotel is well located and the facilities are of a very high standard.
Rooms are well apponted and the gardens are well maintained.
Breakfast is a real treat.
We will be going back.

Date of stay: October 2021
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank alangt55
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John Dodds, Owner at Haytor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 October 2021

Thank you so much Alan and Barbara for choosing to celebrate your birthday with us and for taking the time to send such a lovely review. We enjoyed your company in our bar in the evening and will also look forward to seeing you both again in the future.

Kind regards John & Jane

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 October 2021

John and Jane made our terrific stay so memorable. Their attention to detail, whether cleanliness of the room to the wonderful cooked breakfast, made all the difference. We fully endorse all of the previous comments and would most heartily recommend this hotel to anyone wishing to stay in Torquay. Perhaps not mentioned before, are the wide range of nearby restaurants, which are all within easy walking distance. Thank you J&J for a fantastic relaxing stay.

Date of stay: October 2021
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank smK5509LP
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John Dodds, Owner at Haytor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 October 2021

Thank you so much Steven and Debra for your wonderful review. We so enjoyed your company and are so greatful you choose to stay with us at The Haytor Hotel. We also thank you for the recommendation as we find a lot of prospective guests read comments on tripadvisor and will book because of the comments left here. All the team have been working very hard to make sure our guests have a good holiday with us and will want to return in the future.

Kind regards John & Jane

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 October 2021

Omg yet again John and Jane owners of the haytor Hotel have not let us down this hotel is superb beautiful and great quality. We arrived Thursday having booked 4 days instead if 3 we was moved from our original suit into the new suit which we loved so much beautiful decor and superb service Jane's breakfast 1st class and attention to detail outstanding we will be returning would not stay anywhere else.

Date of stay: October 2021
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank davinah167
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John Dodds, Owner at Haytor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 October 2021

Thank you so much for making The Haytor Hotel your Hotel of choice while visiting Torquay. It was lovely to see you both again and we also look forward to seeing you on your return. We are all so proud of your comments and thank you for taking the time to send a review.

Kind regards John & Jane

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 October 2021 via mobile

Great place to stay, John & Jane the new owners continue to provide a great friendly service and a spotless hotel. The breakfast and service is excellent. The friendly and relaxed atmosphere in the bar area provides a nice end to an evening out

Date of stay: October 2021
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank L454YDdavew
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John Dodds, Owner at Haytor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 October 2021

Thank you so much Dave and Wendy for coming to stay with us and for taking the time to send a lovely review. We are so glad you both enjoyed all we have to offer at The Haytor Hotel and would love to see you back next time you come to Torquay.

Kind regards John & Jane

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews