We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
FindHotelUS$101
ExpediaUS$100
TripadvisorUS$100
Agoda.com
ZenHotels.com
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (824)
Filter reviews
824 results
Traveller rating
778
39
4
3
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
778
39
4
3
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews luxury suite gothic suite sea view suite roll top bath separate lounge cooked breakfast each morning excellent stay cannot fault town centre full english breakfast little extras comfy bed few minutes walk lovely breakfast sea front fridge
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
4 - 9 of 824 reviews
Reviewed 30 August 2021

Just returned from a stay with my boyfriend at the Ascot House Hotel. We were lucky enough to find this gem on Expedia for a 3 night stay as all other b&b’s and hotels were either full or ridiculously priced. I can honestly say this b&b was more than comfortable and at a bargain price!

The owner was friendly, attentive and always happy to see you! She has recently taken over this hotel which was built in 1840 and has had 2 previous owners and in my opinion is doing a fantastic job!

The room wasn’t serviced during our stay as the b&b is still abiding by covid guidelines, however this made it feel like a much more self-contained apartment than anything which was great! If you needed anything, all you need do was request and this would be placed outside of your room on your return.

Breakfast was available upon request which we did take advantage of on our departure morning for £10pp (what you expect to pay in a b&b). It was served on the lower floor with the patio doors open and included fresh fruit, yoghurt, cereal, toast and a cooked breakfast. If my boyfriend enjoys the breakfast, then you know you’re on to a winner!

Our ‘sea view suite’ was a lovely size and my boyfriend took advantage of the view from the lounge window each morning with a cuppa! The bed was fantastic and had a memory foam mattress with a duck & down type quilt. The room included a fridge which came in handy for storing drinks.

It was only a 10 minute walk into the centre so is in a great location and had free parking! If you know Torquay, then you know parking can be an absolute nightmare so this place is a little treasure.

All in all, we thoroughly enjoyed our stay, we’d definatley recommend and would also consider staying again in the future!

Date of stay: August 2021
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank Becki-may
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 13 August 2021

Had a great time at this hotel. The owner is very cordial and looks out for all our needs. Rooms are spacious and well decorated. You can walk everywhere from the hotel although you won't hear the noise from the street. Place is very clean and bathrooms are luxurious. Worth a stay in this lovely Victorian building when you are in Torquay! Easy to get anywhere and relaxing stay guaranteed.

Date of stay: August 2021
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank artsy-it-girl
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 13 July 2021 via mobile

We recently stayed for a week in this hotel. It is on a main road but the noise level is low.
Our room was a spacious suite with separate lounge from the bedroom & bathroom and had two sets of patio windows with outdoor furniture provided.
The suite was beautiful, very elegant and clean.
The suite contained a fridge and a courtesy tray with refreshments provided. Breakfast was offered extra but we didn’t partake but saw a note from another room one morning thanking the hosts for a lovely breakfast.
The suite wasn’t serviced during our stay due to covid but we were instructed to leave notes in reception with our requests such as clean towels, toilet roll etc and they were put outside our room for later. There was also cleaning spray provided in the bathroom to keep things fresh and clean.
The hosts were very nice and could not do enough for us.
The location is a good 15 / 20 minute walk to the marina and is down hill going. There is an excellent regular bus service for coming back if you need a help with the hills if you don’t drive into town.
Off road parking is provided free of charge and each room has a space provided.
We really enjoyed our stay in this gem of a hotel and would stay again.

Date of stay: June 2021
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
2  Thank ALIHATESFLYING
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 5 July 2021 via mobile

Excellent seven night stay in the Sea View room, very spacious clean and bright.
Great location for the sea front and town with free onsite parking.
Anything we required was soon catered for by Heather.
Clean towels when requested and fresh mugs.
We especially liked having a separate living room with a view over Torbay.
We would definitely recommend.

Date of stay: July 2021
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank BazHullyMalaga
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 July 2021

Lovely hotel, very friendly owners. Room absolutely as described. We were in the Junior Suite (room 4). Great to have a seperate living room space as well as the bedroom. TV in both rooms, fridge in the livinng room along with tea and coffee facilities. These were well stocked and a pint of milk provided rather than the little pots of uht milk when restocked. Due to the Covid restrictions rooms werent serviced during our stay but towels let outside the room were changed if required and any other things required were restocked if we left a note on the hall table or spoke with the owners. Masks worn in the public areas, hand gel at the entrance door and in the lobby area, very safe.
Very comfy beds, good thick curtains for a decent lie in on a morning too. Not advertised as having a seaview, but you could see the cruise ships docked in the bay without having to climb a ladder lol. Towels, bedding, the room itself, bathroom all very very clean.
Stay again? Definitely. Didnt partake of breakfast as we like to get out and about and are not really breakfast people.

Room tip: Junior Suite bathroom has a shower cubicle rather than a bath. Suited us though.
Date of stay: June 2021
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank mantalk
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews