We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Official Hotel
Hotels.com
Expedia
Booking.com
Agoda.com
FindHotel
View all 7 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (679)
Filter reviews
680 results
Traveller rating
183
242
137
70
48
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
183
242
137
70
48
Show reviews that mention
All reviews shearings holiday dining room coach driver evening meal lovely location waiting staff short break night break hotel is situated harbour falmouth views mawes ferry pubs
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
6 - 11 of 680 reviews
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Beautiful location and stunning views from our balcony but in desperate need of renovation and more staff. We couldn’t get into our room until 2 hours after check in time. The bathroom had paint peeling off the ceiling, a hook hanging off the door and a trickle of a shower. In our room the curtains wouldn’t draw properly and the tv didn’t work. We were told that they were busy and understaffed and the staff were pleasant but obviously couldn’t cope and the result was very Fawlty Towers like.

Room tip: Parking in public car park nearby
Date of stay: September 2021
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank j_pbyford
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 14 September 2021

We booked a Superior Twin with balcony. The view was amazing looking over the harbour. The room was filthy! It is where to start regarding cleanliness. Who would know we are in the middle of a pandemic? There was dirty "bed runner" on the bed which I thought was meant to enhance the look of the room but it was stained and dirty. The shower stall was black with mould and the whole room was a shambles. We said there was no way we were going to stay in that room! They offered us a "Premier room" with a view for that night and they would "deep clean it overnight" ready for us the next day, in fact we tried our level best to find somewhere else to stay and cold find nowhere at all. So it was a case of turning round and a drive of four hours to get home or staying the one night in the Premier room and the following nights back in the "superior twin". The Premier Room was not exactly clean either and I have photos to prove this fact. However, we put up and shut up until e could deide what to do.
The breakfasts were good although the cooked food was hit and miss whether it all got on the table at the same time. There were three staff on duty each morning and they were wrung ragged trying to keep up a good service, All praise to the waiting staff.
Dog friendly: yes dog friendly but we had to take a seat with all the other dog owners and their dogs at breakfast which can be a challenge for some dogs.

Date of stay: September 2021
1  Thank Vivienne F
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 14 September 2021

So this is live time - we are still here. The Ship & Castle is really well positioned next to the small harbour. We have seen some terrific work by staff - one lad only covering breakfast this morning - and how well did he do, fantastic. We have spoken to the man who with just one other have cleaned 45+ rooms - amazing. The check in staff have been great - sorting out problems. But and (seriously) if you are not deaf or partially deaf do not accept room 108 as an option. Directly above the 24 hour air co keeping whatever cool it runs all night. Room 108 is also just a few feet from the terrace of the pub across the way - privacy is only obtained by keeping the curtain drawn. This room should be a store room not a hotel room. That aside the location, the willingness of the staff, the decor and everything makes this a nice enough average hotel. There is nothing wrong with average, but room 108 is way below that.

Date of stay: September 2021
1  Thank Paul D
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 13 September 2021 via mobile

Great spot for the hotel, read that there was some refurbishment which seemed like it did in the actual hotel room but not the bathroom.
The bathroom walls looked terrible, there was a used towel left behind the back of the door and small and dingy.
Some hooks behind the doors would have been good.
Our room was directly facing the pub so it was extremely noisy at night -especially during the weekend when we was there.
Closed the windows but that didn't really help and couldn't actually close the main window! That definitely would have blocked the noise. Got woken up the second night because of it!

Limited stuff on the food menu but understandable with the shortage of staff but overall the 3 course meal was a good price. Breakfast was good - buffet style but several food items wasn't replaced quick enough. Same again totally understandable with the shortage of staff.

But the staff was great!

Room tip: Park in the car park by the fish and chip shop, a few minutes walk from the hotel. £6 for 24 hours! Request a room not by the pub side!
Date of stay: August 2021
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank DaisyN91
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 11 September 2021 via mobile

Booked for 2 nights, unfortunately checked out after enduring the first night!
Extremely tired smelly, dirty hotel.
Room 108 still had rements of previous guests rubbish in the bin, half used toiletries remaining in the bathroom aswell as previous guests body hair in the shower.
The whole hotel is a disappointment and we left on the day we were to celebrate our wedding anniversary.

Date of stay: September 2021
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank andrea1234wales
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews