We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 9:00 AM - 6:00 PM
Save
Review Highlights
Fantastic experience - great instructors

I booked a series of three beginners lessons at St Ives Surf School as my wife was doing an art... read more

Reviewed yesterday
jtjt1000
,
London, United Kingdom
Brilliant coach, highly recommended.

Absolutely amazing, perfect location, perfect weather, great waves for learning. This was our... read more

Reviewed 5 days ago
PeterN4077
via mobile
Read all 211 reviews
  
Reviews (211)
Filter reviews
211 results
Traveller rating
196
14
0
0
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
196
14
0
0
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews beginner lesson great fun lasted hours great couple of hours learning how brilliant instructor whole group porthmeor beach an amazing experience safety briefing wetsuits session harris waves intermediate sea activity
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
5 - 10 of 211 reviews
Reviewed 19 August 2021 via mobile

Georgia took our girls (aged 14) through a beginners surf lesson. She was very good at explaining what needed to be done and ensuring an understanding of safety in the water. By the middle of the lesson they were both upright on their boards and had a great time.
Well worth the time and money!

Date of experience: August 2021
Thank Joanne B
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 15 August 2021

What a great bunch of guys at the surf school! Clearly all love what they do and were all smiling.
The instructors taking the surf lesson explained everything so well but kept it fun. It was all about have fun and go at your own pace. Can’t fault them

Date of experience: August 2021
Thank leeaE9084ZQ
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 11 August 2021 via mobile

We rented 2 paddle boards for me and a 13 and 9 year old.

We were given great advice on how to share the board and easy to follow tips on how to get started.

We started at about half 9, and by the time we got in there were lots of eager people. You may have to wait. (But it will be worth it!!)

We can’t wait to come back again!

Date of experience: August 2021
Thank warrenp777
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 8 August 2021 via mobile

Excellent experience with this surf school. All staff really friendly and approachable. We had a private lesson with Steve, he was really good at showing me and my two kids 10 and 12 how to surf safely. We were all standing up within an hour and Steve made sure we kept catching the waves our whole session and suggestions on how to improve. Didn't realise someone was taking pictures for our session which was a nice and not too expensive to purchase if you want to. They will also suggest best times to go surfing so just go along and ask as they know best. We hired some boards and wet suits for a few hours later in the week and they were able to tell us when would be a good time to do it as this depends on the tide.

Date of experience: August 2021
Thank mattcL8477IN
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 5 August 2021

I cannot recommend this experience enough. We did beginner surf school lesson as a family and everything from booking to the actual organisation was brilliant. What really made it though was the surf school coaches Jacomo (apologies if spelt or pronounced wrong )or - Emily and Toby whose enthusiasm, friendliness and expertise was 2nd to none. I even managed to stand thanks to jacomo !

Date of experience: August 2021
Thank Hjacquesy
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews