We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good choice for our meal”

The Beach Restaurant
Ranked #38 of 163 Restaurants in St Ives
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining, Child-friendly
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Dinner, Lunch, Reservations
Reviewed 29 June 2018

Nice views, helpful staff and lovely food well priced. We had Cajun veg tagliatelle with salmon flakes - delicious!

Date of visit: June 2018
Thank V7252EHdavidn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (942)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

73 - 77 of 942 reviews

Reviewed 25 June 2018

Wonderful to find a fish shop that does take away fresh fish to cook yourself or eat in the restaurant

Date of visit: June 2018
Thank AAfinstock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2018 via mobile

We first visited in 2015 and we liked it. Portions were decent, prices reasonable... a lot changed since then.
We went to try the crab sandwich and mackerel burger, but they stop serving that at 5pm which is a little silly. We were looking forward to trying these but it was after 5pm so we had to get something different. We both ordered haddock and chips, and it was ok but i think £11 is a little expensive considering this is all you get. Not even mushy peas to go with it ! And if we went downstairs to their takeaway fish & chips - we would of save ourselves a few quid and still got the same food. We thought about ordering mussels for starter but after we saw how little the portion is... we decided against it. Back in 2015 that bucket of mussels was twice the size !
Decor is lovely and view stunning, but this place is trying to be a posh seafood restaurant and it really is far from it. Food is average, and prices way too high.

Date of visit: June 2018
Thank Dominika L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2018 via mobile

Very busy restaurant but my wife and I managed to get a table without booking. Service was superb. The fish was perfectly cooked. Roast potatoes were lovely although parmesan mash was a little dry for my taste. Excellent Chardonnay. Lovely views of the harbour. Highly recommended, booking essential.

Date of visit: June 2018
Thank Jon C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2018 via mobile

Whilst waiting for our boat trip I thought fish and chips was the order the sign said the best no bones about it. Sadly not the case fish and chips came in at £12 per head so certainly not cheap so I was expecting top notch food what I got however was reheated chips and a thin over battered and cooked cod that was lacking in flavour and pretty small to boot wife had the scampi which was good but again the chips were poor. Wouldn't advise you make it a stop fish and chips + scampi and chips +2 1/2 of lager £29 never again

Date of visit: June 2018
1  Thank mryo69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Beach Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to The Beach Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing