We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,133)
Filter reviews
1,133 results
Traveller rating
629
273
94
58
79
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
629
273
94
58
79
Show reviews that mention
All reviews silks restaurant champagne bar balcony suite sea view roll top bath walk in wardrobe modern bathroom lovely hotel fistral beach breakfast room public rooms breakfast was excellent large room amazing views lovely room indoor pool newquay town
Filter
Updating list...
12 - 17 of 1,133 reviews
Reviewed 1 October 2018 via mobile

Having read some of the not so positive reviews I felt I should question if the reviewers reviewed the correct hotel!

We stayed at the Atlantic so we could attend the Nutcracker Masquerade Ball in aid of prostate cancer. The moment we arrived we were warmly greeted by Denise and taken to our room by a porter. Going from reception to our room you could see the hotel was maintained to a high standard and our room was impeccable with double aspect views.

On the night of the ball the dinner was amazing and the staff exceptional feeding 90+ guests with great care and enthusiasm!

Breakfasts were amazing and I loved being able to select how your egg was cooked rather than helping yourself from a congealed tray on a warming counter.

As for the zip together bed with memory foam topper probably the most comfortable hotel bed I have ever slept on. Would I use this hotel again? Yes in a heartbeat!

Stayed: October 2018, travelled with friends
Thank georgieannjc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlantic-Managment, Manager at The Atlantic Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 October 2018

Dear georgieannjc,

Thank you for a fabulous 5 star reviews.
We too have been baffled by a small amount of not so positive reviews, although of course do take on board customer feedback always, our AA rating is at the highest level for a 4 star hotel, and we have won many awards and accolades over the past 18 months including "Modern Luxury Hotel of the Year 2018" by the Luxury Travel Guide and gold Taste of the West in our amazing restaurant.

We so enjoyed hosting The Nutcracker Masquerade Ball- a fabulous event, and we always recommend any attendants of functions staying over if they can, to enjoy our fabulous leisure facilities, bar and our fantastic English Breakfast the following morning.

We know how warm welcome sets the tone of our guests stay, and it is lovely to hear that you were warmly greeted by the lovely Denise, and taken to your room by our porter- always happy to help.

Thank you for your comments on our high standards in all communal areas and we are pleased that you found your room the be impeccable and that you were impressed by the double aspect views- perks of being positioned within 10 acres of private headland!

Thank you for your feedback on the amazing dinner, and exceptional staff on the night of the ball, as you quite rightly noted, keeping the level and quality of food and service for large numbers is not an easy feat, but our team of talented chefs and waiting staff are experts in providing the very best food and service, and we are glad that you felt very well cared for by an enthusiastic team.

We are glad that you were so impressed by breakfast served in our beautiful sea view dining room- we offer such a fantastic choice of buffet items, and we are so glad that you enjoyed being able to choose the way you wanted your eggs to be cooked, we believe a freshly cooked English Breakfast is the best and we are glad you agree.

It is great feedback to hear that you found our bed to be the most comfortable bed you have ever slept on! We have a mix of super king and zip and link beds that guests can select when they book direct, all off fabulous comfort.

We hope to welcome you back again soon, and thank you for a wonderful, detailed review of your 5-star stay.

kind regards
Cath Mukit
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2018 via mobile

From the moment we stepped into the Atlantic hotel we were warmly greeted and made to feel very welcome. We arrived slightly early and our room was already ready for us. We made our way to our room and were pleasingly surprised to find we had a balcony room with the most stunning views.
On Saturday night we dined at the silks bistro, the food was stunning, real first class cuisine, the staff were extremely friendly and attentative, we had a cocktail after our food at the bar and were served by a great barman who made absolutely the best cocktails and explained them to us thouroghly.
We used the facilities at the hotel in the spa area, the pool was lovely , the sauna and steam room excellent and the Jacuzzi a lovely extra with the most fabulous views from sitting in it.
Breakfast was lovely with so much choice and again great staff, I have to say the staff at this hotel are an absolute credit to the beautiful hotel and we will be back again.
Thankyou
Patrick and Simara

Stayed: September 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank patwinter31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlantic-Managment, Manager at The Atlantic Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 September 2018

Dear patwinter31,
Thank you for a fabulous 5 star review.
We are honoured that you chose our venue for your Wedding Anniversary and Birthday celebrations!
It is so lovely to hear that from the moment you arrived you were warmly greeted and made to feel so welcome- our staff are so often praised for their friendliness, eagerness to help and warm friendly welcome.
Although check-in is at 3.30pm we welcome guests to arrive early, park their car and use all the facilities and as in this instance that your room was ready early, we were pleased to take you to your room. It sounds as though you were very impressed by your balcony room and stunning views.
We are so pleased that enjoyed the perfect dining experience in our AA rosette restaurant, Silks Bistro & Champagne Bar and found the food to be stunning and our staff to be extremely friendly and attentive, a cocktail at the bar is the perfect way to finish a lovely evening and we are so glad that you found your cocktails to be "the best" and found our barman to be knowledgeable and providing you with great service.
Thank you for your comments on our lovely pool, excellent steam room and sauna and jacuzzi, and we agree- being able to look out to the ocean while relaxing certainly makes the experience all the more special.
We are so pleased that you found breakfast to be lovely with so much choice and once again found our staff to be great.

Your final comments on our staff being an absolute credit to our hotel really does make all their hard work feel appreciated and we always share such fabulous reviews with the team.

We cannot wait to welcome you back again, and do ensure that you book direct to receive your loyalty card reward or offer as a return guest.

kind regards
Cath Mukit
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2018

We left this hotel on 21st Sept after having spent a week there. The hotel is very comfortable and well looked after [except the outside]. Our room which was facing the sea and had its own balcony was clean and comfortable but very hot, and there is no Aircon. The double bed had a very heavy [winter] duvet which made for an uncomfortable restless nights sleep. After the first night we asked to be provided with either a lighter duvet or a sheet. We were informed that all duvets were the same so a sheet would be provided together with a portable fan, neither of which was actually forthcoming.
As we had booked "room only" we expected to pay for our breakfast, which was £13.75 per person and was excellent....full English etc. We asked if it was possible to have a "continental" breakfast, but were informed that the price £13.75pp would still apply, this was queried at the reception desk but we were told no concessions could be made. We therefore went out every morning to a Cafe Nero which was only a short distance away [so the hotel lost out]. We thought too that meals in the restaurant were quite expensive so we only had 2 or 3 meals there. We ate out most evenings. There are plenty of restaurants in and around Newquay especially if one likes fish. All the staff were friendly, efficient and obliging [except for the matter of breakfast]. Although quite expensive we would recommend the Atlantic as a good place to stay in this part of Cornwall but book as B & B clients.

Stayed: September 2018
Thank Brian P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlantic-Managment, Manager at The Atlantic Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 September 2018

Dear Brian P.
Thank you for your detailed review of your week's stay with us.
I am glad that you found our hotel to be comfortable and well looked after. Our housekeeping and maintenance team have exceptionally high standards and ensure all inside areas and our 10 acres of private headland including gardens, sun terraces and outdoor swimming, pool hot tub and sun trap gardens are maintained to the highest possible level. I am surprised that you feel the outside needs a complete repaint- the exterior was re-painted in June this year, a very large project leaving our hotel looking stunning.

I am glad that you found your room to be clean and comfortable and I am sure that you were impressed with your balcony and sea view. As a listed building, we are unable to install air conditioning but can provide fans as mentioned. I am sorry that there was a mix up with your sheet and fan not arriving to your room, and I do wish that you had mentioned this to housekeeping or reception during your week's stay as we would have been happy to rectify this for you.

Thank you for your comments on our "excellent breakfast" we pride ourselves on the spectacular choice available in our sea view breakfast dining room where guests can enjoy table service and even sit outside on the sea view breakfast sun terrace. We do not currently have a lower priced continental only breakfast option, however, this suggestion will be fed back, as at the moment this option is not available reception were correct in informing you that there are no concessions.

We hope that you enjoyed your meals in our AA Rosette award winning restaurant, using the highest qulaity locally sourced ingrediants expertly cooked by our team of chefs, and the stunning surrounds and first class service, with main meals from our A la Carte menu starting from £12.95, we feel our prices are very reasonable.

We are so glad that you enjoyed your stay with us, and thank you for your recommendation.

We hope to see you again.

Kind regards
Cath Mukit
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2018

Hotel is in a great location overlooking Newquay. Not far to walk into town or the beach, and has panoramic views out over the sea. Parking was good and we managed to find a space for the weekend without any problems. Staff were friendly and the restaurant was great.

First impressions are that the hotel is very grand, but on closer inspection the decor is a little rough round the edges and the rooms are dated and would benefit from a refurb. The rooms are large and spacious which was great and there was even a walk-in wardrobe, but there were stains on the carpet, marks on the walls, and the plug in the shower was broken. We booked a room with a balcony, and was also a little disappointed to find that our balcony was on the same level as the lower roof - this limited our sea view and took away a little from the experience of having a balcony. The door to the balcony was also in the bathroom, which was a little odd. None of these things would have really been an issue for us, if we had not paid £250 a night for the room (without breakfast), for this price I expect better.

  • Stayed: August 2018, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank yuki1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlantic-Managment, Manager at The Atlantic Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 September 2018

Dear yuli1234,
Thank you for your feedback, we value all customer comments and can see that you enjoyed many aspects of your stay.

Thank you for your comments on our great location overlooking Newquay- we agree! Being set in 10 acres of private headland certainly offers spectacular panoramic ocean views, and as you mention, we are located just a short walk from town and many sandy beaches.

It is wonderful feedback to hear that you found our staff to be friendly and helpful throughout your trip and the food in our restaurant to be great.

It is very disappointing to hear that you found our decor to be "a little rough around the edges" and found that your room was dated and would benefit from a refurb- we have invested in complete refurbishment across all areas of the hotel and leisure and spa areas, and all our rooms have been refurbished to the highest specification. I am shocked to hear that you found stains on your carpet and marks on the walls and that the plug in the shower was broken, none of these issues are to our standard and this room is being investigated immediately.

All the layouts in our rooms are different, and the room you describe does have the balcony door leading out via the bathroom, regarding the flat roof, the sea view is still breathtaking and again, not every room with a balcony is on the same level as the roof.

It sounds as though you did enjoy your stay, and may I recommend talking to a member of our reservations team if you choose to stay with us again, they can then select the perfect room for you.

Our prices do reflect all the luxury facilities, locally sourced food and drink and service, and are in line with other award winning 4 star properties within Cornwall we are sure that by talking to a member of our team direct we can find the perfect room for you.

Kind regards
Cath Mukit
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 September 2018 via mobile

Nice views over the sea. Beautiful restaurants. Breakfast oveooking the sea. In its day it probably was a 1st class hotel ... but the main bar is closed in the evening and lacks just. Service here is good and nice public toilets.

Stayed: September 2018, travelled as a couple
1  Thank 123taz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlantic-Managment, Manager at The Atlantic Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 September 2018

Dear 123taz,
Thank ou for a great review.
It is lovely to hear that you enjoyed our beautiful sea views, were impressed by our beautiful restaurants, and especially enjoyed breakfast overlooking the sea.
We certainly are a 1st class luxury hotel, winning countless awards and with an excellent 4 star AA Rating.
We are sorry if there was any confusion over the bar- I believe the bar you are referring to is our private function bar, our champagne and cocktail bar in Silks Bistro & Champagne Bar is open every day from 11am, with happy hour running for guests, there is also multiple outdoor terrace areas to enjoy a drink al fresco and comfy seating throughout the hotel all offering table service for drinks.

Thank you for your comments on our good service, and nice public toilets.

We hope that you will visit us again, do ensure you book direct to receive you exclusive offer as a return guest.

kind regards
Cath Mukit
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews