We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don’t believe the hype”
Review of The Coddy Shack

The Coddy Shack
Ranked #4 of 77 Restaurants in Looe
Price range: US$8 - US$31
Cuisines: Seafood, British, Fast food
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Reservations, Takeout
Description: For reservations please contact us on the phone number provided. We are unable to make reservations via email or message as the admin team work remotely. For takeaway just arrive and place your order. All food is cooked fresh to order so we can give the best quality, therefore there is a wait time. We do not take telephone orders or offer any delivery services.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

It was a large take away order and we were looking forward to the food as the website made it look so good. Unfortunately it was below average fish and chips but the burger, scampi and Thai fish cakes were awful really awful. It’s a shame

Date of visit: April 2021
Thank andyqpr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jason B, Owner at The Coddy Shack, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Good morning Andy, We’re sorry to hear this. Would you give me a call on 07817 007 007 or text me you number so I can call you. Kindest Regards Jason

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a reviewReviews (2,900)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

44 - 48 of 2,901 reviews

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Bought fish and chips, fish cake, scampi and chicken burger and it was all awful. The fish cake, scampi and chicken burger were worse than iceland quality and alot of the food was burnt and came with an awful salad

Date of visit: May 2021
1  Thank christiansS2638IR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jason B, Owner at The Coddy Shack, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Good morning Christian, We’re sorry to hear this. Would you give me a call on 07817 007 007 or text me you number so I can call you. Kindest Regards Jason

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

My husband and I had a great meal. Fish and chips were very tasty and crevettes were excellent. We would definitely eat here again when in the area. Our waitress was very helpful and friendly.

Date of visit: May 2021
Thank fosterfamily260909
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Short break in Looe and had a takeaway twice. Beautiful fish and chips. can be a bit of a queue but thats always a good sign, and it soon went down and was worth the wait. If your ever thinking of opening another shop, i hope its near me!

Date of visit: May 2021
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank blakeys77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Massively underwhelming based on the online reviews I’d read prior to our special trip to eat here. Once the food was ordered I, along everyone else waited nearly 45 mins for a very basic order (2 portions of sausage and chips and 1 cod and chips) Young staff who don’t apologise for the wait or tell you you are going to have to wait an eternity for your food at the point of order. The queue was small when I arrived however it appears people have got used to the ridiculously long wait and go and sit in their cars until their order has been made (or caught!!). I think I’d be less critical if the food was any good but it’s very average at best. Everything was silly greasy and chips tasted very undercooked. Husbands sausage was nice but mine wasn’t pleasant and tasted like a bland hotdog sausage covered in very sickly batter. Twice whilst I was waiting the wrong food was taken by the wrong customer leaving those poor s... to wait another 40 mins and get told “oh it happens all the time!”. If that’s the case then check the order not the number before you hand it over. Never known anything so utterly stupid. If this is the best in Looe then I dread to think what the rest are like!

Date of visit: May 2021
Thank venkmanuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jason B, Owner at The Coddy Shack, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Good morning Venkmanuk, We’re sorry to hear this. Would you give me a call on 07817 007 007 or text me you number so I can call you. Kindest Regards Jason

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Coddy Shack also viewed

 

Been to The Coddy Shack? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in Hong Kong. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.