We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (745)
Filter reviews
745 results
Traveller rating
405
160
97
44
39
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
405
160
97
44
39
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsswimming poolsteam roomnew ownerseggs benedictwedding receptionspa bathfunction roomfour poster bedvisited this hotelleisure facilitieslounge areabreakfasts were excellenthigh standardfollowing morningthis lovely hotelcooked breakfastone night stay
Filter
Updating list...
33 - 38 of 745 reviews
Reviewed 24 June 2018

On arriving my heart sank as the hotel is on a main road and I had wanted to getaway from traffic and noise, however I quickly became aware that this was not a problem at all, the hotel has a quiet and peaceful atmosphere, it is welcoming with pleasant spaces and kind, no problem at all staff, a blessing in today's world. After a massage form Jane we had prebooked for our arrival we began to melt, thanks to her tolerance of our late arrival and her capable hands. The room was comfy as described and a very good bed. I had no idea the food was going to be as good as it was, it was excellent and the menu covered all our desires and was true to its promise: really outstanding thank you chef. We were lucky enough to have very good weather on our visit, if it had not been so good the hotel would have made up for it. Thanks all we have not named.

Stayed: June 2018, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Sarah P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Emma P, Manager at Merchants Manor, responded to this reviewResponded 28 June 2018

Dear Guest,
Isn't it wonderful when the reality exceeds the expectations of the first impression. We are thrilled to read that you how much you enjoyed your time with us, and in particular your time at the Linen Rooms spa and our Rastella restaurant. Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review and we hope to welcome you again next time you need an escape from the noise.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2018 via mobile

We had a wonderful weekend at Merchants Manor. Such a warm personal welcome it felt like we were staying with family. We had asked if they would be showing the Royal Wedding and they took the trouble to set up a television in one of their lounges so our party could all watch together. Thank you!!! Other guests joined us and it was a great atmosphere. This hotel is the perfect size, big enough to provide a pool,gym and spa, several lounge areas,a bar and restaurant but small enough to maintain intimacy and personal service. We were pleasantly surprised to find homemade cake and iced water in the lounge that we could help ourselves to.
We ate dinner in the restaurant and can totally recommend that you do. Breakfast is cooked to order whilst you help yourself to the fruit,cereals and pastries etc on offer.
The location is ideal too as you can easily walk to both the beach and town centre. We have stayed in a number of the top hotels in Falmouth but this is by far our favourite. I could go on but I’ll run out of space!!! If you choose to stay here you won’t be disappointed.

Thank you Sioned and Nick for making my husband’s birthday such a memorable trip.

Stayed: May 2018, travelled with family
Thank chatgirl44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Emma P, Manager at Merchants Manor, responded to this reviewResponded 28 June 2018

Dear Guest,
We are delighted to read that you had a wonderful time with us celebrating your husbands birthday (and the royal wedding!). It was our pleasure to look after you and we hope to welcome you all again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2018

Found on a website specialising in 'value' hotels. Seems any such 'special exclusive' offers come at a cost which can mean only basic facilities for guests. Bedroom was badly placed next to the rear entrance which was noisy well into the night (window had to be open due to lack of air cond. and hot weather which did not help the situation). Only had breakfast once during our two day visit due to food was both overcooked (hard centred poached eggs) and undercooked (sausages looked almost raw). Bar staff need cocktail training.

Room Tip: Carefully review the offered room with a talk to staff.
  • Stayed: June 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
3  Thank Inspectorjon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Emma P, Manager at Merchants Manor, responded to this reviewResponded 28 June 2018

Dear Guest,
As a small family run hotel, we are absolutely devastated that a guest would leave us feeling disappointed or dissatisfied in any way. We have tried to contact you to discuss your review and we'd welcome the opportunity to chat to you directly regarding your feedback, so please do get in touch.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2018

merchants manor has lost none of its charm since last year. The same warm welcome, the carrying of the bags to the room, showing you , in person, where your room is. This time another lovely room, looking out through the trees to the sea, with a little back stairway to the gym and the pool. The room was a decent size for a single room, and the bed wonderfully comfortable. This time I tried the pool, a decent size and lovely and warm. I had a great swim and was then ready for breakfast.
What a breakfast! first I must comment on the welcome into the dining room, not just "Room number?" but "Good morning, May I take your name and room number please"..so polite. Pot of tea came very quickly, good choice of buffet but I opted for the full English and, boy, was it good? It took a while because it was freshly cooked but what a pleasure to eat a real juicy mushroom, instead of a tinned one! Bacon was lovely and crispy, and the little local delicacy, hogs pudding, a local sausage, was delicious. The wine list was excellent and the bar warm and friendly.
The bathroom was a good size, wonderful toiletries and lovely thick towels.

I can't wait to go again

Room Tip: 35 was great...quiet and excellent views
  • Stayed: June 2018, travelled solo
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ann P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Emma P, Manager at Merchants Manor, responded to this reviewResponded 28 June 2018

Dear Guest,
We are delighted to have looked after you again and thrilled to read you enjoyed your stay. We look forward to your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2018 via mobile

We stayed for 2 nights while exploring Cornwall. Merchants Manor is in a great location. Easy walk down to the harbor/shops/restaurants.
The staff were very friendly and made sure we were taken care of. Miguel was a wonderful server for dinner on our 2nd night. He interacted with my 3 year old son & made him feel comfortable in the restaurant. At breakfast the next morning, my son was looking for him.
Our room was very nice and clean, with a sea view from our balcony.

Stayed: June 2018, travelled with family
Thank krystalsk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Emma P, Manager at Merchants Manor, responded to this reviewResponded 28 June 2018

Dear Guest,
We are thrilled to read that you enjoyed your time here in Falmouth and thank you for taking the time to leave us a review. We hope to welcome you and the family again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews