We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (499)
Filter reviews
499 results
Traveller rating
237
144
67
31
20
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
237
144
67
31
20
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbridge streetcar parklovely hotelno lifton arrivalthe main housebottle of proseccocontinental breakfastbars and restaurantstop floortriple roomexcellent locationstayed for one nightper daybottled waterfull englishcity centre
Filter
Updating list...
82 - 87 of 499 reviews
Reviewed 30 May 2018 via mobile

Recently visited for afternoon tea with a couple of friends. Atmosphere, food, drinks, service and location all 5 out of 5. Looking to stay over in the future and will definitely be returning for afternoon tea.

Stayed: May 2018, travelled with friends
Thank Leanne L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KnowCollection, General Manager at The Townhouse Chester, responded to this reviewResponded 12 June 2018

Hello Leanne

Wow thank you so much for the Amazing Review, Myself and the team are so happy you enjoyed your afternoon tea, so glad to hear you will return for a future stay and afternoon tea, we have just launched our resturant so we hope you will also visit for a lovely evening meal to.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon

Kind Regards

Jo - General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2018

Lovely place to stay, five minute walk into the centre. Staff very accommodating and friendly. Was a little miffed that we had to pay for car park and extra for breakfast, in all it came to £37 extra which did make it expensive. I wish we had known when booking that our room was up two flights of stairs, no lift, and as we are both in our 70's we found it difficult. Other than that we enjoyed our stay.

Stayed: May 2018, travelled with family
Thank yther0d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KnowCollection, General Manager at The Townhouse Chester, responded to this reviewResponded 12 June 2018

Hello yther0d

Thank you for taking the time to leave your feedback, we are happy you enjoyed your stay dispite not having a lift, should you chose to stay in the future please contact us direct to allow us to allocate you a ground floor room.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon

Kind Regards

Jo - General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2018 via mobile

The hotel was very well presented on arrival the location is perfect as it’s in a very nice area on the edge of town car parking available too at a cost but the convenience was great . Found the room a little basic but to be fair the hotel is going through a refurbishment so it’s understandable the staff were very friendly and very welcoming so we would return to this hotel x

Stayed: May 2018, travelled with friends
2  Thank Angela L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KnowCollection, General Manager at The Townhouse Chester, responded to this reviewResponded 10 June 2018

Hello Angela

Thank you so much for your lovely review, myself and the team are happy to hear you enjoyed your stay and you will return for a future stay. We are going through some refurbishment and hope you enjoy the changes on your next visit.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon

Kind Regards

Jo - General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2018 via mobile

Booked a two night deal here as a Christmas present for me and my other half. Deal included a 2 night stay, bottle of wine and breakfast each morning. Wasn’t expecting much for the the price we paid but had always wanted to visit chester so were mainly focusing on the destination rather than accommodation...... didn’t expect this place to be one of the highlights of our stay. When we arrived we were told we had been upgraded so already off to a great start, as we don’t like wine they Let us have a bottle of prosecco to share although my husband doesn’t like it (that didn’t bother me) so he bought a pint instead...as others have stated, the breakfast is delicious, you get both continental and a hot breakfast cooked to order...... there was some renovation work going on when we stayed but nothing too intrusive at all (maybe that’s why the deal was so cheap)

Definitely recommend and will definitely return.

Thank you the townhouse

Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
1  Thank TinaM1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KnowCollection, General Manager at The Townhouse Chester, responded to this reviewResponded 10 June 2018

Hello Tina

Thank you so much for taking the time to write your review, the team and myself are happy you and your other half have enjoyed your stay and our lovely city especialy the breakfast the girls certainly do know how to make a good breakfast.We have just opened our Resturant for lunch and evening meals so we hope on your next visit you wil alsol enjoy a lovely meal with us.


We look forward to welcoming you back soon

Kind Regards

Jo - General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2018 via mobile

Booked through buy a gift two night luxury getaway and for the most part it was a very enjoyable experience the pros right in the heart of Chester, very clean, friendly staff, and an enjoyable breakfast the cons parking on site exceptionally tight and you are easily blocked in, I was called two days before going to be told breakfast would not be available on our second day due to work going on in the kitchen and they would take money off our bill I pointed out I bought it through buy a gift and was told oh that’s ok then! My wife went to get something from our car on the second morning and saw people having breakfast so a little disappointed with the communication but a nice hotel nonetheless

Stayed: May 2018, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Glyn1971
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KnowCollection, General Manager at The Townhouse Chester, responded to this reviewResponded 3 June 2018

Dear Glyn

Thank you for taking the time to leave your review, I am extremely sorry for the mix up and breakdown in communication with the breakfast situation, I will look into this with the relevant department to ensure this breakdown in communication doesn't happen again.

I am glad to hear overall you found the hotel very clean and the staff are friendly.


We hope you decide to return for a future visit


Kind Regards

Jo - General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews