We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (549)
Filter reviews
549 results
Traveller rating
279
149
68
32
21
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
279
149
68
32
21
Show reviews that mention
All reviews bridge street wowcher deal car park lovely hotel no lift on arrival bottle of prosecco triple room the main hotel perfect location top floor bars and restaurants continental breakfast bar area night stay per day stayed for one night
Filter
Updating list...
134 - 139 of 549 reviews
Reviewed 28 May 2018 via mobile

The hotel was very well presented on arrival the location is perfect as it’s in a very nice area on the edge of town car parking available too at a cost but the convenience was great . Found the room a little basic but to be fair the hotel is going through a refurbishment so it’s understandable the staff were very friendly and very welcoming so we would return to this hotel x

Date of stay: May 2018
Trip type: Travelled with friends
2  Thank Angela L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KnowCollection, General Manager at The Townhouse Chester, responded to this reviewResponded 10 June 2018

Hello Angela

Thank you so much for your lovely review, myself and the team are happy to hear you enjoyed your stay and you will return for a future stay. We are going through some refurbishment and hope you enjoy the changes on your next visit.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon

Kind Regards

Jo - General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2018 via mobile

Booked a two night deal here as a Christmas present for me and my other half. Deal included a 2 night stay, bottle of wine and breakfast each morning. Wasn’t expecting much for the the price we paid but had always wanted to visit chester so were mainly focusing on the destination rather than accommodation...... didn’t expect this place to be one of the highlights of our stay. When we arrived we were told we had been upgraded so already off to a great start, as we don’t like wine they Let us have a bottle of prosecco to share although my husband doesn’t like it (that didn’t bother me) so he bought a pint instead...as others have stated, the breakfast is delicious, you get both continental and a hot breakfast cooked to order...... there was some renovation work going on when we stayed but nothing too intrusive at all (maybe that’s why the deal was so cheap)

Definitely recommend and will definitely return.

Thank you the townhouse

Date of stay: March 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank TinaM1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KnowCollection, General Manager at The Townhouse Chester, responded to this reviewResponded 10 June 2018

Hello Tina

Thank you so much for taking the time to write your review, the team and myself are happy you and your other half have enjoyed your stay and our lovely city especialy the breakfast the girls certainly do know how to make a good breakfast.We have just opened our Resturant for lunch and evening meals so we hope on your next visit you wil alsol enjoy a lovely meal with us.


We look forward to welcoming you back soon

Kind Regards

Jo - General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2018 via mobile

Booked through buy a gift two night luxury getaway and for the most part it was a very enjoyable experience the pros right in the heart of Chester, very clean, friendly staff, and an enjoyable breakfast the cons parking on site exceptionally tight and you are easily blocked in, I was called two days before going to be told breakfast would not be available on our second day due to work going on in the kitchen and they would take money off our bill I pointed out I bought it through buy a gift and was told oh that’s ok then! My wife went to get something from our car on the second morning and saw people having breakfast so a little disappointed with the communication but a nice hotel nonetheless

Date of stay: May 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank Glyn1971
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KnowCollection, General Manager at The Townhouse Chester, responded to this reviewResponded 3 June 2018

Dear Glyn

Thank you for taking the time to leave your review, I am extremely sorry for the mix up and breakdown in communication with the breakfast situation, I will look into this with the relevant department to ensure this breakdown in communication doesn't happen again.

I am glad to hear overall you found the hotel very clean and the staff are friendly.


We hope you decide to return for a future visit


Kind Regards

Jo - General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2018

All staff welcoming and friendly. breakfast V good. Waitress who took our order even went to shop to get gluten free bread as they had run out.
However, we stayed in room 3 which is over the bararea- and is open 24/7! Sleep disturbed for 2 hours by party of happy golfers in bar. They might just as well have been in our room.
Spoke to receptionist who did not know how to deal with our complaint. Offered a good deal next time we stayed. Quite an old inappropriate get out!
Bath room needs a deep clean.Waste to basin was dirty and smelly. Large amount of something disgusting down the plug hole. Again mentioned to reception who said they would look into it. Not while we were there.
Nice hotel spoilt by lack of attention to important elements

Room tip: Aviod room No 3 Over the bar area. Also in the front of hotel so noisy with with window open. No AC.
Date of stay: May 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TravelED48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KnowCollection, General Manager at The Townhouse Chester, responded to this reviewResponded 27 May 2018

Thank you for taking the time to leave your Review, I am deeply saddened to be reading this and can only apologise about the issues you have raised and will look into why these were dealt with straight away.

We do hope to welcome you back in the future

Kind Regards

Jo - General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 May 2018 via mobile

We had such a lovely afternoon in beautiful surrondings. Excellent food especially the cakes. Very welcoming and attentive staff. We all very looked after. Looking forward to a return visit. Thank you

Date of stay: May 2018
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank sians122
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KnowCollection, General Manager at The Townhouse Chester, responded to this reviewResponded 26 May 2018

Dear Sian

Thank you for your amazing review. very happy you enjoyed your afternoon tea and we looked after you so well.
we look forward to welcoming you back soon

Kind Regards

Jo - General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews