We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Breakfast
Edgar House(Chester)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Cotton Farm(Chester)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (2,556)
Filter reviews
2,556 results
Traveller rating
1,313
754
252
142
95
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,313
754
252
142
95
Show reviews that mention
All reviewskings grillkings quarterstrain stationwaiting roomqueens hotelbucks fizzlovely hotelcar parkon arrivalgroupon dealcocktail barcity centrereception staffbuffet breakfaststayed here for one nightevening mealmy partner
Filter
Updating list...
50 - 55 of 2,556 reviews
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

lovely room, rather comfortable compared to UK standards, water tap n shower needs to be reviewed as not easy to adjust temperature, a small fridge would be an asset, breakfast was o.k. but not a highlight, very lovely garden, parking sometimes tricky

  • Stayed: June 2018, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank rostie65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
queendeputy, Manager at Hallmark Hotel Chester The Queen, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Dear rostie65,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your recent visit to Hallmark Hotel The Queen Chester.

I am pleased to see you enjoyed most aspects of your time with us. I am sorry that you encountered problems controlling the water temperature. If have not reported the issues to a member of the team before your departure, could I please ask you to send me a quick email (louise.turner@hallmarkhotels.co.uk) with the room in which you stayed, so I can ensure that these issues have been rectified.

Kind Regards,
Louise Turner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We stayed here for bank holiday weekend lovely staff comfortable room we were attending a wedding in another hotel but glad we booked this one so in the heart of Chester easy to access straight of the train we spent the next day strolling around as we know the area well but a nice little break for us could not fault it

Stayed: May 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank j h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
queendeputy, Manager at Hallmark Hotel Chester The Queen, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Dear j h,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your recent stay at Hallmark Hotel The Queen.

I am glad that you enjoyed your time at our hotel and I hope we get the opportunity to welcome you back upon your next visit to Chester.

Kind Regards,
Louise Turner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We got a last minute deal at a very good price - a family room, which was huge, two king beds in it, and lots of space. Parking available behind the hotel though not cheap.

A big grand hotel, with a large staircase and chandelier taking up reception. Looks like it was a favourite with tour groups. Excellent location right across from the railway station.

We didnt eat there but breakfast was available. We did ask about room service but ate out instead as my wife wanted the soup but there was ham in it, and there was a £5 tray charge ! Also, practically outside our room, there was a shoe shine machine, which everyone seemed keen on trying - the noise kept disturbing us. Why ?

  • Stayed: June 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank shaunsouthern
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
queendeputy, Manager at Hallmark Hotel Chester The Queen, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Dear shaunsouthern,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your recent stay with us.

I am glad that you enjoyed your time at The Queen hotel and that the family room was to your liking. Thank you for the feedback regarding the shoe shine machine, I did not know it was such a popular attraction! We will look to relocate the machine to prevent further disturbance.

I do hope we get the opportunity to welcome you back to the hotel again in the future.

Kind Regards,
Louise Turner.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Popped in the day before our actual check-in to collect our tickets for Chester Zoo - the staff couldn't do enough for us and not only printed these off but gave us a map of the city and gave us great advice on the best way to see around the city. When we actually checked in the following day (Sunday) we received an equally warm welcome. We had lovely room in the King Suites side, which was small but had everything we needed, with a very comfy bed and a lovely bathroom with a large slipper bath and powerful shower. Tea and coffee making facilities included. We had a lovely evening meal and cocktails in the restaurant. Breakfast was buffet style with a great selection of hot and cold foods to choose from. The hotel has plenty of character and the decor is beautiful and quirky, a really great lady in the centre of Chester. There is no free parking available - there is a car park around the back at a rate of £15.00 for 24 hours.
We stayed as part of a hotel/zoo deal so for us it was great value. The restaurant provides an a-la-carte or fixed rate option for dinner. We enjoyed our stay and would definitely stay again.

Room Tip: Good location for exploring the City
  • Stayed: June 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Bobles21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
queendeputy, Manager at Hallmark Hotel Chester The Queen, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Dear Bobles21,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your recent visit to Hallmark Hotel The Queen.

I am delighted to hear the the team looked after you well, and that you enjoyed your time with us. I do hope you had a good time at Chester Zoo!

I look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel upon your next visit to the city.

Kind Regards,
Louise Turner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Stayed here February 2017 and 2018 for a night each time. First time we got a luxury suite which was huge with a seating area, dressing table, huge bed and massive bathroom with separate bath and shower. Really clean with lots of facilities; tea,coffee,biscuits, hair dryer, tv, body wash etc.
As it was cold in February the room was lovely and warm and breakfast in the morning was nice. Lots of selection and again, clean. We left our cases with the hotel when we checked out and they were secured away. When we stayed in 2018 our room was much smaller and colder, would definitely recommend a bigger more luxurious room! But would stay again and definitely recommend

Stayed: February 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Jade C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
queendeputy, Manager at Hallmark Hotel Chester The Queen, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Dear Jade C,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your visits to our hotel.

It is wonderful to hear that you enjoyed your time a The Queen, and thank you for your recommendations, they are very much appreciated.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Kind Regards,
Louise Turner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews