We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very interesting tour”

Chester Cathedral Tower Tours
Ranked #7 of 22 Tours in Chester
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: This award winning ‘Tower Tour’ will take you behind the scenes, providing an unparalleled level of public access at Chester Cathedral. Our tour will allow you to immerse yourself in our unique blend of medieval and modern history. See one city, two countries and five counties from the top of the cathedral tower. Climb through nearly 1,000 years of history and discover our hidden spaces.
Useful Information: Food available for purchase, Activities for older children, Bathroom facilities, Lockers / storage
Reviewed 29 June 2018

An additional charge but well worth doing. The health and safety notices may put people off, but if you can climb some steps the views at the top are well worth seeing. Our guide - Matt - took things at a nice steady pace, pausing often to provide interesting facts and details about the Cathedral as we went. There was no rush and Matt was very knowledgeable answering all the questions posed

Thank georgegeoffr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kevin B, Marketing Manager at Chester Cathedral Tower Tours, responded to this reviewResponded 2 July 2018

'Georgegeoffr'

Many thanks for taking the time to review our 'Cathedral at Height' tour here at Chester Cathedral. Thanks too, for the five bubbles.

We're delighted that you enjoyed the tour, and look forward to welcoming you back.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (30)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"guide matt"
in 4 reviews
"behind the scenes"
in 3 reviews
"excellent tour"
in 3 reviews
"narrow spiral"
in 2 reviews
"small group"
in 2 reviews
"amazing building"
in 2 reviews
"chester cathedral"
in 5 reviews
"guided tour"
in 2 reviews
"stages"
in 3 reviews
"climb"
in 8 reviews
"passage"
in 2 reviews
"organ"
in 2 reviews
"height"
in 2 reviews
"knowledge"
in 2 reviews
"parts"
in 2 reviews
"information"
in 2 reviews
Filter

4 - 8 of 30 reviews

Reviewed 28 June 2018

Having done a really excellent, extensive guided tour of the floor level of this amazing building, heard about it's extensive history and residents, I was ready to take on the upper reaches and top of the place! And I was not to be disappointed!
You are repeatably warned re "over 200 steps", "are you fitish"....in fact the climb is not at all arduous as there are many stops along the way. Matt was an excellent guide, enthusiastic, energetic, to the point of animated, and clearly very passionate about the Cathedral. He made the hour pass very quickly!
We climbed narrow spiral staircases, "same climb the medieval monks did in their day", walked the narrow walkways, saw the cathedral upper parts up close, and down on the wonderful space below. Then up into the bell tower, heard why the bells had stopped ringing and where they now ring, and saw the last remaining main bell, plus the solitary curfew bell, and why the Welsh need to take care in this wild town! Then up onto the roof of the tower for wonderful views over the tops of the Cathedral, Chester and beyond.
There are 2 climbs, one 30 mins and one 60 mins (latter at 11 am and 3pm). I did the 60 minute one. It was 33C in Chester that day and the climb was not strenuous or affected by the heat at all. Not to be missed! Thanks Matt!

Thank Robert F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kevin B, Marketing Manager at Chester Cathedral Tower Tours, responded to this reviewResponded 2 July 2018

Robert - many thanks for your extensive TripAdvisor review.

We are delighted that you climbed the 'Cathedral at Height' tour - and you're correct, it isn't that difficult as a there are plenty of stops along the way. We will pass on your compliments to Matt!

Thank you for joining us at Chester Cathedral and on the 'Cathedral at Height' tour.

We look forward to welcoming you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 March 2018 via mobile

We've just been on the Tower Tour at Chester Cathedral on the one hour tour led by our guide Matt. It was a small group of five, including ourselves (two of us) and Matt provided us with a first rate tour with plenty of accessible knowledge and sufused with a general good sense of humour. His dramatic style *midly* reminded me of Treguard of Dunshelm from my childhood days of watching 'Knightmare' on ITV played by Hugo Myatt. I don't imagine he was trying to emulate Treguard's style (he may not have even heard of or seen 'Knightmare') but in any case it conjured that memory in my mind. An excellent and enjoyable tour. Top marks!

1  Thank Franco84-92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kevin B, Marketing Manager at Chester Cathedral Tower Tours, responded to this reviewResponded 23 April 2018

'Franco84-92'

Many thanks for taking the time to write a TripAdvisor review of your Cathedral at Height tour here at Chester Cathedral - and for the five bubbles! I'm delighted that you enjoyed your tour.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 March 2018 via mobile

Booked this tour for my hubby and myself was taken by Matt it was an excellent tour very interesting . Matt was an excellent tour guide with a vast and interesting knowledge of the history of the cathedral . Would recommend this loved it .

Thank Pup2018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kevin B, Marketing Manager at Chester Cathedral Tower Tours, responded to this reviewResponded 23 April 2018

'Pup2018' - many thanks for taking the time to write a TripAdvisor review of your Cathedral at Height tour here at Chester Cathedral.

I'm very pleased that you enjoyed your tour, found it interesting, and would recommend it!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 22 February 2018

Joined a small group to climb many stairs in the tower, then to be guided into the roof space of the cathedral, along narrow but safe ledges and into the roof space. We saw views of Chester from the roof as far as Liverpool and looked down on the cathedral interior “fr view points I would have imagined only accessed by a camera crew”. Matt our cathedral guide was very knowledgeable and added enthusiasm to the tour, which lasted an hr. Then spend time viewing the Cathedral itself. Really well worth it.

Thank dr8484
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kevin B, Marketing Manager at Chester Cathedral Tower Tours, responded to this reviewResponded 23 April 2018

'dr8484'

Thank you for taking the time to write a TripAdvisor review of your Cathedral at Height tour here at Chester Cathedral.

The tour is wonderful in that it allows you to see many different aspects of this magnificent building (and the city and counties that surround it). I'm pleased that you enjoyed your tour!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Chester Cathedral Tower Tours also viewed

 
Chester, Cheshire
 

Been to Chester Cathedral Tower Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing