We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (723)
Filter reviews
723 results
Traveller rating
443
159
74
37
10
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
443
159
74
37
10
Show reviews that mention
All reviews copper bath valet parking the study afternoon tea crisps beautiful hotel wine list dining room free standing copper large walk in shower master room boutique hotel birthday treat cream tea sandwiches wow factor small things
Filter
Updating list...
7 - 12 of 723 reviews
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

My partner took me here for my birthday dinner last week. Whilst the food was fine the service was terrible. We waited some time for our drinks order to be taken in the bar despite the lady that greeted us on reception assuring us someone would be over to take our order if we took a seat. The bar man then served people that went directly to the bar. The restaurant was very well decorated and the food was lovely and good value, however attention to detail by the staff lets down the overall experience. The waitress had no idea about the wine list,( as she didn't drink wine!) couldn't advise on what cheeses were available ( apparently one was like a cheddar), another waiter cleared my partners dessert plate whilst I was still eating , the bill was incorrect ( which was corrected when we advised of the error) although not an apology in sight and certainly no goodbye or hope to see you again etc. This is very poor considering the claims regarding service on the website. The staff obviously need training and management to improve on what could be a wonderful dining experience.

  • Stayed: September 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Denise267
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guest R, Guest Relations Manager at Poets House, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Thank you so much for your recent review and we appreciate you taking the time to feedback on your dining experience at The Poets House Hotel. We are sorry that your experience was disappointing due to the service you received and please be assured that your comments have been taken on board and actions have been taken to rectify this situation. We are delighted you found the food lovely and good value and hope that you will come back again in the future to experience our normal high standard of service that we are proud of at Poets House Hotel. Thank you again for your feedback and we do hope you will give us another chance in the near future. With kind regards The Poets House Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

We stayed for one night last week and we liked being in the centre of town and with views of the cathedral.
The room was spacious and had a big copper bath which was a treat.
We had a cream tea on arrival and the scones were delicious.
But sadly the service was a bit of a let down. The staff seemed inexperienced and weren’t sure of themselves, asking how to make a straightforward cocktail and how to make a coffee that one of our party had ordered. It could be seen as attention to detail but it came across as not quite knowing what to do.
The evening meal was good, although the service was a bit slow and we left the hotel with a feeling of paying a high price for an average service.

Stayed: September 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank 663maxine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 September 2018

Booked via Secret Escapes so very good value. Hotel room and building was top notch in terms of decoration and facilities. Staff seemed young and, to be honest a little naive in terms of customer service, but I am guessing that this has recently been refurbished and these were reasonably new staff to the business?
Booked meal in restaurant the first night of our stay and I felt this was expensive for the food provided and was trying to get to a level that it didnt achieve, having said this The food was good this comment is more about value for money!
Breakfasts were good, although service was only average at times, staff could be more attentive to customer needs.
My biggest gripe was that there were no condiments on the table - Never before have I had to ask for a salt cellar in a restaurant (Applies to both breakfast and dinner) just found this a bit wierd!
Bar staff were very good and seemed more experienced in dealing with customers.
Dont misread this review, it was a very good stay, just needed a little bit of attention to detail form the staff to make it excellent!

Room Tip: The frmore expensive front rooms provided a lovely view of the cathedral
  • Stayed: September 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Simon A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guest R, Guest Relations Manager at Poets House, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thank you very much for taking the time to review your stay at Poets House Hotel. We are very pleased you enjoyed your room. and the facilities of the hotel.

We are are, however, disappointed that there were several issues that caused us not to meet your expectations and we will review all your comments as a team and take actions where necessary.

We do hope that you will return to the hotel in the future.

With warm regards
The Poets House Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 September 2018

The room was fantastic. Front facing with views over the Cathedral. A absolutely lovely copper tub in the room, as well as a fantastic - huge! - walk in shower.

The downside for us was the food. Breakfast was poor. We waited a long time to be served. When we eventually were served, the server got the order wrong. The wrong food came out, and my partner had to wait for his to be re-prepared whilst I ate my full English. It was all a bit awkward and the food was of poor standard.

Then we had afternoon tea later in the day. We were never offerd the tea and coffee included - hard to imagine an afternoon tea without a cup of tea! And when asking for more cream and jam - the pots were hardly big enough for one person, let alone two, it took twenty minutes to find a waiter, as the bar was unmanned and the staff were not present. It then took fifteen minutes to arrive. By that point the scones were cold and we just didn't bother and left. This was a real shame as we were there to celebrate our anniversary, and it just left us feeling a bit disappointed.

Room Tip: Front facing has lovely views of the Cathedral.
  • Stayed: July 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Elle K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guest R, Guest Relations Manager at Poets House, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us at Poets House. We are so pleased you enjoyed the copper bath, they are certainly a great feature of the hotel.

We are,however, disappointed to hear of the the shortcomings in the service you received. Please be assured that all your comments have been taken on board and that actions have been taken to ensure that we offer a consistent level of high service.

We hope that you will return to the hotel and be able to experience our normal level of service.

With warm regards
The Poets House Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 September 2018 via mobile

Absolutely loved this place. Room was spacious, clean and great view of the Cathedral. Staff could not be more helpful and pleasant. Had a great dinner on the first night and breafast was good will be returning next year.

Stayed: September 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank david_anthony27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guest R, Guest Relations Manager at Poets House, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thank you for your 5 star review! It is great to hear feedback regarding how helpful and pleasant the team are as well how good the food was too!

We look forward to see you again soon!

With warm regards
The Poets House Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews