We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (740)
Filter reviews
741 results
Traveller rating
453
161
77
37
13
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
453
161
77
37
13
Show reviews that mention
All reviews copper bath valet parking the study afternoon tea crisps beautiful hotel dining room free standing copper boutique hotel special occasion wine list birthday treat ely cathedral bar area attention to detail walk in shower main course
Filter
Updating list...
27 - 32 of 741 reviews
Reviewed 11 September 2018

Booked via Secret Escapes so very good value. Hotel room and building was top notch in terms of decoration and facilities. Staff seemed young and, to be honest a little naive in terms of customer service, but I am guessing that this has recently been refurbished and these were reasonably new staff to the business?
Booked meal in restaurant the first night of our stay and I felt this was expensive for the food provided and was trying to get to a level that it didnt achieve, having said this The food was good this comment is more about value for money!
Breakfasts were good, although service was only average at times, staff could be more attentive to customer needs.
My biggest gripe was that there were no condiments on the table - Never before have I had to ask for a salt cellar in a restaurant (Applies to both breakfast and dinner) just found this a bit wierd!
Bar staff were very good and seemed more experienced in dealing with customers.
Dont misread this review, it was a very good stay, just needed a little bit of attention to detail form the staff to make it excellent!

Room tip: The frmore expensive front rooms provided a lovely view of the cathedral
Date of stay: September 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank 755simona
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guest R, Guest Relations Manager at Poets House Hotel and Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 13 September 2018

Thank you very much for taking the time to review your stay at Poets House Hotel. We are very pleased you enjoyed your room. and the facilities of the hotel.

We are are, however, disappointed that there were several issues that caused us not to meet your expectations and we will review all your comments as a team and take actions where necessary.

We do hope that you will return to the hotel in the future.

With warm regards
The Poets House Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 September 2018

The room was fantastic. Front facing with views over the Cathedral. A absolutely lovely copper tub in the room, as well as a fantastic - huge! - walk in shower.

The downside for us was the food. Breakfast was poor. We waited a long time to be served. When we eventually were served, the server got the order wrong. The wrong food came out, and my partner had to wait for his to be re-prepared whilst I ate my full English. It was all a bit awkward and the food was of poor standard.

Then we had afternoon tea later in the day. We were never offerd the tea and coffee included - hard to imagine an afternoon tea without a cup of tea! And when asking for more cream and jam - the pots were hardly big enough for one person, let alone two, it took twenty minutes to find a waiter, as the bar was unmanned and the staff were not present. It then took fifteen minutes to arrive. By that point the scones were cold and we just didn't bother and left. This was a real shame as we were there to celebrate our anniversary, and it just left us feeling a bit disappointed.

Room tip: Front facing has lovely views of the Cathedral.
Date of stay: July 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Elle K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guest R, Guest Relations Manager at Poets House Hotel and Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 13 September 2018

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us at Poets House. We are so pleased you enjoyed the copper bath, they are certainly a great feature of the hotel.

We are,however, disappointed to hear of the the shortcomings in the service you received. Please be assured that all your comments have been taken on board and that actions have been taken to ensure that we offer a consistent level of high service.

We hope that you will return to the hotel and be able to experience our normal level of service.

With warm regards
The Poets House Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 September 2018 via mobile

Absolutely loved this place. Room was spacious, clean and great view of the Cathedral. Staff could not be more helpful and pleasant. Had a great dinner on the first night and breafast was good will be returning next year.

Date of stay: September 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank david_anthony27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guest R, Guest Relations Manager at Poets House Hotel and Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 13 September 2018

Thank you for your 5 star review! It is great to hear feedback regarding how helpful and pleasant the team are as well how good the food was too!

We look forward to see you again soon!

With warm regards
The Poets House Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2018

I booked a cocktail class for my family and myself. When we arrived we all received a glass of champagne and then we were taken to the bar. Our mixologist Harvey, was very knowledgeable and friendly, this made our experience very enjoyable and we would do it again.

Date of stay: August 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Alexandra E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guest R, Guest Relations Manager at Poets House Hotel and Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 13 September 2018

Thank you so much for your fabulous review, especially about Harvey and his masterclass! He thoroughly enjoyed meeting you and we look forward to seeing you again soon!

With warm regards
Christine

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2018 via mobile

Very good afternoon tea, need to pay before arrival to secure booking. Good parking nearby at Barton road car park. Brilliant sandwiches, very tasty scones and a good mix of cakes. As much tea as you would like however not a wide selection of them so if you like something slightly different they may not have it.

Date of stay: August 2018
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank Jim187789
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guest R, Guest Relations Manager at Poets House Hotel and Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 12 September 2018

Thank you very much for taking the time to review your afternoon tea experience at Poets House. We are very pleased to hear you enjoyed the food selection and the quality too. We have taken on board your comments regarding the offering of tea, however it sounds like we may not have offered you the full selection of teas that we have and can ensure you, that this will be looked in to.

Thank you again for your comments and we hope to see you again soon.

With kind regards
Poets House Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews