We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really worth a visit”
Review of Strawberry Thief

Strawberry Thief
Ranked #46 of 1,847 Restaurants in Bristol
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$4 - US$23
Description: An elegant bar restaurant in Bristol's old city. Its home, Broad Street, was a creative hub of printmaking, a theme that inspired the decor and ambience of the bohemian surroundings. Stocking over 70 of the most famous and revered Belgian beers, quality local beers and ciders, wines, and spirits, there is a drink to suit every occasion. With table service and a food menu inspired by the great continental beer bars, the Strawberry Thief is a special haven where life can slow down.
Restaurant details
Description: An elegant bar restaurant in Bristol's old city. Its home, Broad Street, was a creative hub of printmaking, a theme that inspired the decor and ambience of the bohemian surroundings. Stocking over 70 of the most famous and revered Belgian beers, quality local beers and ciders, wines, and spirits, there is a drink to suit every occasion. With table service and a food menu inspired by the great continental beer bars, the Strawberry Thief is a special haven where life can slow down.
Reviewed 11 November 2018 via mobile

Popped in here on a Friday night as we were staying nearby and wanted something to eat. Food was great and just what we wanted. But the highlight is the massive selection of beers, draft and bottled - went on a bit of an exploration, and ended up staying to closing time. Also loved the table service.

Date of visit: November 2018
Thank John T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StrawberryThief26, Owner at Strawberry Thief, responded to this reviewResponded 13 November 2018

Thank you so much for the fab review John. We love the fact you popped by and stayed until closing, so glad you went on a journey round some awesome beers, it’s exactly what we are trying to create, a place to explore. We hope to welcome you again soon.

The Strawberry Thief Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (127)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2 - 6 of 127 reviews

Reviewed 2 November 2018 via mobile

Finally ended up at the Strawberry Thief after months of trying and it was definitely worth the wait. As expected, the range and knowledge of beers was out of this world, but the secret star of this place is the food. The steak was cooked to perfection and the caveman-esque short rib was beautiful. Can’t recommend it highly enough.

Date of visit: November 2018
Thank robhamblett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StrawberryThief26, Owner at Strawberry Thief, responded to this reviewResponded 5 November 2018

Thank you for the fab review Rob. We greatly appreciate the feedback and couldn’t agree more with those Ribs, we’ve a growing list of happy pooches to enjoy those Dino bones! Over 70 beers to test every week too.

We hope to welcome you again soon for more of the same!

The Strawberry Thief Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 October 2018

Met here for drinks before a meal , great craft beers and lovely gin quite small but very different to the large commercial bars I'm used too

Date of visit: October 2018
Thank pipahastings
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StrawberryThief26, Owner at Strawberry Thief, responded to this reviewResponded 29 October 2018

Thank you for the lovely review Pipa. Yes indeed, we are a proud independent bar specialising in high quality food and drink, all table served so you can sit back and enjoy the experience.

We hope to welcome you again soon.

The Strawberry Thief Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 October 2018 via mobile

This is a gem of a place tucked away in Bristol's old quarter. I spent a lovely lunchtime gazing through the window at the amazing facade of Everard's printing works, which is directly opposite.

I enjoyed a dish of huge, tender olives which had been deliciously marinaded, and an excellent glass of wine. The staff are charming and the Arts and Crafts-styled decor has been well thought out.

Date of visit: September 2018
Thank Dorienne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StrawberryThief26, Owner at Strawberry Thief, responded to this reviewResponded 7 October 2018

Thank you so much for the awesome review. We are so glad you’ve taken the time to enjoy the surroundings including the beautiful Edward Everard building opposite us. We stock all our wines from small vineyards that share our values. And the olives, well we’ve spent along time getting them perfected!


We hope to welcome you again soon.

The Strawberry Thief Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 September 2018

There’s cider, wine, gin and all the rest, but why would you look beyond the amazing selection of (mainly) Belgian beers. I think it was the Westmulle Dubbel I had in Brugge market square many years ago and this lived up to my memories of it. It was one of eight draught beers of which six were Belgian. There was a relatively restricted menu and I was a bit peckish so it seemed churlish not to have another 1/2 pint. It was 7% but the triple and quadruple brews go as high as 11.3%. Service friendly and efficient. I wasn’t so impressed by Bristol, but this place deserves the award it’s already got. I’ll be back.

Date of visit: September 2018
Thank Killeboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StrawberryThief26, Owner at Strawberry Thief, responded to this reviewResponded 7 October 2018

Thank you so much for the fab review. We are so glad you enjoyed the beers and food, we pride ourselves on not only having the great diversity of beer but also table serving it in its best condition (including glassware) to ensure it’s authentic and in keeping with whole experience.

We hope to welcome you again soon.

The Strawberry Thief Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Strawberry Thief also viewed

 
Bristol, England
Bristol, England
 

Been to Strawberry Thief? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing