We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Service”
Review of GearUp

GearUp
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: <1 hour
Owner description: GearUp Sports was first established in 1996 specialising in sports rental equipment, including Downhill, Backcountry and Nordic skis, ice skates, snow shoes and climbing equipment. In summer months we rent full suspension mountain bikes and 'Legacy Trail' bikes.
Useful Information: Bathroom facilities
Reviewed 2 May 2018

I’ve stopped here on 2 different occasions to rent skis, the staff are great and know what they are doing. And the rental cost is about half of what rentals are at the ski resort (sunshine or Lake Louise) Depending on how busy they are and how many are I. Your group it can take up to 20-30minutes to get your gear, so plan for that. Or if you can go the night before to rent so that you don’t need to go in the morning before heading to the mountain

Thank Daniel S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
neil o, Manager at GearUp, responded to this reviewResponded 3 May 2018

Hi Daniel S,

Thank you for the great review! We do like everyone to try their boots on to ensure everything fits right so the total time for the rental process may vary between people. We do indeed allow customers to pick up their rentals the night before - at no extra cost!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (98)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"legacy trail"
in 11 reviews
"ski equipment"
in 5 reviews
"hired bikes"
in 3 reviews
"these guys"
in 5 reviews
"bike lock"
in 2 reviews
"rental process"
in 2 reviews
"snow board"
in 2 reviews
"downhill ski"
in 2 reviews
"very friendly and helpful staff"
in 2 reviews
"easy process"
in 2 reviews
"great equipment"
in 2 reviews
"great advice"
in 2 reviews
"lake louise"
in 4 reviews
"rental shop"
in 2 reviews
"in great condition"
in 2 reviews
"banff area"
in 2 reviews
"goat"
in 2 reviews
Filter

10 - 14 of 98 reviews

Reviewed 17 April 2018

For the past five years I have been recommending Gear Up to all our visitors to Canmore/Banff for skiing or biking rentals. I will continue to do so but wish to alert others to the mistakes and dissatisfaction that can happen if you are not savvy.
My friend called in and was told to make her reservation online. Something was not clear to her on the website for ski rentals and she booked everything but skis for a price of $27. When she went to pick up her rentals, nothing was said and a pair of skis was given to her despite not reserving them. This would have been the point at which they might have alerted her to the lack of skis on her reservation and the additional cost. Upon return they told her her fee was $47. While the details of the pricing were clarified what did not happen was an apology or an acknowledgement of how this happened. Nothing was offered but when asked for a discount, my friend was given the locals discount. She is a local anyway and had never been asked about this either. Leaves a bit of a sour taste in my mouth after 5 years of bringing people there. To be fair I did not mention this but I feel they could have done a bit more to make her happy given she is a local and looking to rent once or twice more this season. I feel badly they did not do a bit more and that I referred her to a negative experience. Owning up to our part in a snafu is always important. Pointing out the customer's mistake doesn't make for a satisfying experience. I still believe the rental fees were fair but the experience was simply - you made a mistake, that's the fee, oh ok since you are complaining perhaps we'll offer you the locals' discount, oh well that's all. Sorry, not good enough. The rest is great, this, not so much.

Thank Civia V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
neil o, Owner at GearUp, responded to this reviewResponded 17 April 2018

Hi Civia V,

Thank you for taking the time to write this review and for your continued support over the years to Gear Up. We are sorry you felt our staff did not deal with this in a satisfactory manner however in our defence, as you noted, your friend made a reservation for a Sport Ski package including a helmet and insurance which comes to a total of $45. She deselected the skis on the online reservation form which brought the price down to $27. Upon arriving at the store she rented the whole package - skis, boots, poles, helmet and damage insurance and when scanning all these items the price comes to $45 (excluding tax). Regardless we are sorry for any ill feelings and please let your friend know I would like to offer her a free rental the next time she comes to the store.

Owner,
Mike Meilicke

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2018

We rented cramp ons for a winter hike- definitely recommend- people were slipping everywhere and we had no problems at all & made it to The summit (not many decided to try that day due to ice)

Review collected in partnership with this attraction
Thank lbrown1141
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
neil o, Manager at GearUp, responded to this reviewResponded 6 April 2018

Hi lbrown1141, thank you for a great review! We are glad you liked the crampons!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 March 2018

The whole experience couldn't have been any easier. Great location,easy to find and park on the way into Banff. Allowed us to avoid big queues in Banff resort. Canmore itself is a beautiful town so it was great to have a look around on the way to our hotel. Staff were incredibly helpful and went out of their way to ensure we had the best gear and were properly kitted out before heading to the mountains. No pushy sales staff and the company offered great value for money. Would definitely use gear-up again and would thoroughly recommend them. Overall, a really positive experience. Thank you!

Review collected in partnership with this attraction
Thank nicolabilly1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
neil o, Manager at GearUp, responded to this reviewResponded 15 March 2018

Hi nicolabilly1,

Thank you for taking the time to write such a great review of our store, it is really appreciated!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 12 March 2018

Gear up has great customer service, economical prices, and super convenient hours. Great place that I would highly recommend!

Review collected in partnership with this attraction
Thank Andrea9665
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
neil o, Manager at GearUp, responded to this reviewResponded 12 March 2018

Hi Andrea9665,

Thank you for the great review!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed GearUp also viewed

Canmore, Kananaskis Country
 

Been to GearUp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing