We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Eden Park Bed & Breakfast(Auckland Central)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Te Whau Lodge(Waiheke Island)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Whangaparaoa Lodge(Whangaparaoa)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Delamore Lodge(Waiheke Island)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Kahu I Rangi(Waiheke Island)
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (55)
Filter reviews
55 results
Traveller rating
17
29
5
4
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
17
29
5
4
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewspanel heaternespresso coffee machinewarm roomthe ground floorsuper comfy bedparking spotcar parkroom ratefully equipped kitchenshort staygreat hotelper nightone night staynice stayeasy accesswould stay againtwo nights
Filter
Updating list...
35 - 40 of 55 reviews
Reviewed 25 April 2018 via mobile

Everything was great, the staff the facilities. Showers were hot and clean, fresh towels whenever you wanted, free tea and coffee it was lush. Only points I can think of is there was no freezer or oven so not great for a long term stayer, also the Internet isn’t great at peak times. The beds in the shared rooms are quite noise when you turn around, the sheets sound like cardboard. But they’re really comfy and clean and the staff treat you like friends and it’s lovely. Would really recommend this place

Stayed: April 2018, travelled solo
Thank Hafwen L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joelle G, Manager at Haka Hotel Newmarket, responded to this reviewResponded 27 April 2018

Hi Hafwen, Many thanks for your feedback and we are glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. We have been experiencing some issues with our WIFI which have since been corrected; however will continue to monitor this to ensure we do not have any further problems. It was a pleasure to have you staying with us for so long and we hope to see you again soon. All the best, Joelle G

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 April 2018 via mobile

Great hotel in a good central position. The staff went all out to help and make my stay easy and pleasant. Clean comfy room with nice linen. Nice communal lounge / kitchen with fabulous Nespresso coffee machine.

Stayed: April 2018, travelled solo
Thank hf-nelson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joelle G, Manager at Haka Hotel Newmarket, responded to this reviewResponded 19 April 2018

Many thanks for your feedback we are glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and made use of all of our fantastic facilities. We will make sure to pass on your great comments to the rest of the team. All the best, Joëlle G

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 April 2018

Was a good choice for a one night stay, arriving late and leaving early! There were 4 of us in the group and we chose the hostel style room. Was well set up for simple accommodation. Small and pokey, but with friends was fine!
The staff were very helpful, as we had a sick friend and they helped us get to a hospital easily.

  • Stayed: April 2018, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mel Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joelle G, Manager at Haka Hotel Newmarket, responded to this reviewResponded 19 April 2018

Hi Mel,

Many thanks for your review and we are glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. Our dorm rooms are perfect for groups traveling together as they provide you with a shared sleeping space and ensuite washroom. I hope your friend is doing much better now and we look forward to seeing you again at the Haka Hotel Newmarket soon! All the best, Joëlle G

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2018

In all I spent five nights at Haka Hotel Newmarket, three in a standard room (small but not pokey) and the remaining two in the best ever four-bed dorm with its own bathroom. I really enjoyed my stay. This is a three star hotel and is brand spanking new with a clean crisp aesthetic. The large fan in the standard room worked for me instead of aircon, and I happily availed myself of the superb kitchen and common lounge facilities on the ground floor. There was plenty of fridge and under-bench space for everyone to store things, with an effective labelling system. The common area is also tech-friendly with lots of places to sit and work and recharge devices. There's also a business grade Nespresso machine there and in the regular room there were a couple of complimentary pods on check-in - a nice touch. The beds in the four-bed dorm were comfortable, each with its own curtain and a storage cage (BYO padlock) and there's a reading light, a three-pin plug and a USB port at the bed as well. The staff were awesome - very friendly and helpful. If you want heaps of privacy and luxury then go elsewhere. If you want to be able to chat to others in the evening after a day at work or doing tourist stuff, and stay in a style that way exceeds a standard budget / backpackers, then Haka Hotel should be on your list. I'll be back!

Room Tip: I suspect the front rooms get more traffic noise than the back ones.
  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank RichTank1962
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joelle G, Manager at Haka Hotel Newmarket, responded to this reviewResponded 8 April 2018

Hi Richard, thank you so much for your wonderful feedback. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and had the opportunity to stay in both the private and dorm rooms and utilized all of the facilities available at the Hotel. We love seeing when our guests makes the most of the co-working sharing space and take the time to mix and mingle with other guests. You really have taken upon yourself to truly experience the essence of what a Hybrid Hotel can really offer. We enjoyed having you stay with us and we look forward to seeing you again soon. All the best, Joelle Gagnon Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 March 2018

Stayed here early march as i was going to a concert at Spark arena and didn't was to pay $400+ a night to stay in the CBD. The rooms are small but functional, the bathrooms are brand new and have everything you need. They even give you a couple of Nespresso pods to make coffee in the lounge area, a nice personal touch and you can catch the train right to Spark.. overall next time i'm back in Auckland this is where i'll stay

Room Tip: Get a room at the back, less noisy
  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank _mike_williams_nsw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joelle G, Manager at Haka Hotel Newmarket, responded to this reviewResponded 19 April 2018

Hi Mike, Thank you for your fantastic review. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and took advantage of the excellent coffee produced from our Aguila Nespresso Coffee Machine. We hope to you see you again soon on your next visit to Auckland. All the best, Joelle G

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews