We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (743)
Filter reviews
743 results
Traveller rating
474
145
64
40
20
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
474
145
64
40
20
Show reviews that mention
All reviews laura ashley afternoon tea decanter of sherry country house the river special occasion michelin star tasting menu beautiful hotel cream tea scones four poster bed downton abbey a la carte menu billiard room morning room public rooms
Filter
Updating list...
20 - 25 of 743 reviews
Reviewed 17 September 2018 via mobile

Booked for an overnight stay for our 15th wedding anniversary, Llangoed Hall was the perfect decadent treat!

Beautiful house, bedroom, grounds and food. Stunning scenery and the staff were totally attentive, friendly and helpful.

We had a wonderful visit. Afternoon tea was a triumph, the 6 course tasting menu in the evening was utterly delicious and the full Welsh cooked breakfast in the morning was tasty and filling. We couldn't fault anything.

Thank you Llangoed Hall for a lovely stay, we even had a lovely little anniversary card from the staff.

Stayed: September 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank The_Welshtotty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guest R, Director of Sales at Llangoed Hall, responded to this reviewResponded 27 September 2018

Thank you for choosing Llangoed Hall to celebrate your special day - we are delighted that you enjoyed your time with us and look forward to seeing you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2018

We thought we would host my husband's 70th birthday dinner here as we have held a group party in the hotel before, so we popped down for a bank holiday weekend to organise and discuss. We were not impressed with the way we were treated by the new events manager, although the new manager Sergio was very nice and hands on in looking after his guests. We felt that the events manager took advantage of our plans to host a dinner there by increasing the price of the rooms for our guests that would be attending. The net result was that they would end up paying more than would ordinarily be the case, whilst telling us at the same time that they would be given a discount. The difference was quite considerable, she then block booked all the rooms so that they would be unable to book them on-line at the cheaper rate. This has soured our relationship with the hotel, and we therefore cancelled. With regard to our stay there, a staff changeover meant that we noticed a slip in standards. There were a number of faults in our bathroom that should have been fixed before we arrived, also I found the pillows to be very hard, which meant that I didn't sleep particularly well. The food was good as always, and the staff were helpful when we alerted them to anything, but they forgot to deliver our tea and newspaper on the first morning, and room service forgot to deliver cutlery and sauce.

  • Stayed: August 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
4  Thank izzyhutch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guest R, Director of Sales at Llangoed Hall, responded to this reviewResponded 27 September 2018

We are extremely disappointed that your last stay with us was not up to our usual standards and can assure you that despite the staff changeover at the hotel we are still striving for the high service standards that you and all our regular guests are used too,.

We very much appreciate you bringing these points to our attention and must stress that despite what you have encountered this is most certainly not the policy with regard to group bookings at Llangoed Hall.

We will investigate this in some detail and if you feel that you would like to still go ahead with your birthday celebrations then do please feel free to contact Sergio who will be pleased to assist you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 September 2018

Had not booked just found by accident driving home via countryside not motorway. Met at door by doorman who ushered through to reception desk. All staff very friendly and helpful. Our room was at the back overlooking grounds and fields. Complimentary water and a decanter of spirit. The room had a 4 poster, desk and wardrobe. Bathroom even had a TV on the wall. Decorated like an old country house. The evening meal was lovely, Were encouraged to look at books describing artworks and history of place. In the morning we walked round the gardens, vegetable plot and small maze. Even the gardener had time to talk and made us feel welcome. Would go back.

Room Tip: Only saw our room which was lovely.
  • Stayed: August 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank houseslave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Events M, Guest Relations Manager at Llangoed Hall, responded to this reviewResponded 12 September 2018

Thank you for choosing to stay at Llangoed Hall.

We are so pleased to hear that you enjoyed your time with us. Thank you for your kind words.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Kind regards

Stacey

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 September 2018

Three night stay for our Anniversary, in my opinion 5 stars is underselling this but we don't often stay in places that offer such refinery. The Hall itself dates back to the 600's I was reliably informed by the Gentleman showing us to our room, every corridor and room is done to the highest standards with a collection of Whistler's in the dining room. The room we stayed in was one of the smaller rooms but was still big enough to house the super size bed, large wardrobe with storage, desk with chair, armchair and table with ample space to walk around. The en-site was excellent with bathrobes and toiletries supplied even down to a comb and nail file/polisher. The only flaw we noticed was on the third night a couple of cobwebs from the really high ceiling adding to the charm of this really old building. The grounds where well looked after I especially liked the orchard and the maze. Dining is expensive if on a budget and the local area is a bit hit and miss but we would definitely return.

Room Tip: All rooms are good rooms, got a sneaky peak at some of the others.
  • Stayed: September 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Keithy1970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Events M, Guest Relations Manager at Llangoed Hall, responded to this reviewResponded 11 September 2018

Thank you for choosing to stay at Llangoed Hall.

We are so pleased to hear that you enjoyed your time with us. Thank you for your kind words.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Kind regards

Stacey

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 September 2018

We visited Llangoed Hall for our recent wedding anniversary, an overnight stay with dinner. What a delight this hotel turned out to be, well deserving of the accolades it has received. The house was a splendid sight on arrival and we were treated to an upgrade, perhaps in light of it being our wedding anniversary.
Tea on the terrace enjoying the view was lovely and the waiter was respectful but friendly and engaging. Dinner was very good with some lovely creative dishes. They didn't have the exact wine we wanted but the Maitre d'Hotel gave us a superior wine for the same price.
What seems most remarkable is the way that you are made to feel like house guests rather than regular customers. The staff were very friendly and it felt like we were encouraged to wonder the beautifully decorated halls and lovely gardens, there were no 'keep out' signs.
Highly recommended for a special occasion.

  • Stayed: September 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Chris S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Events M, Guest Relations Manager at Llangoed Hall, responded to this reviewResponded 10 September 2018

Thank you for choosing to stay at Llangoed Hall.

We are so pleased to hear that you enjoyed your time with us. Thank you for your kind words.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Kind regards
Stacey

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews