We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (891)
Filter reviews
892 results
Traveller rating
652
206
29
5
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
652
206
29
5
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews hot tub ski run wine glasses ping pong table little extras great place to stay within walking distance would definitely stay here again quiet location ceiling fan the main drag location is great mini fridge nice room bed was very comfortable heavenly ski resort emerald bay
Filter
Updating list...
9 - 14 of 892 reviews
Reviewed 17 September 2018 via mobile

Friendly owner for sure! Great location and very clean and comfortable rooms.
We arrived late but the room was ready with the light on! We will definitely stay again on our next trip to South Lake Tahoe.

Date of stay: September 2018
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank A2329VQjohnd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
thealderinn, Front Office Manager at Alder Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 29 September 2018

We're so glad you enjoyed your stay with us at our Inn and we look forward to you staying with us on your next trip. Thank you for taking the time to write us a review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 September 2018

We stayed for three nights in an upstairs Queen room. Parking outside our room. The hotel is family run and I believe they live on site. The room was clean and comfortable. Wifi was included. No phone or ironing board in the room, but when we did want to do some ironing, it was delivered to the room within minutes. I believe the rooms are serviced each day but on one day of our stay no one came, but it was no big deal as we were happy to reuse towels and make our own bed etc anyway. Hotel is in a quiet location. Only noise we had to report was a loud sound in the early morning that we think might have been plumbing from another room? It was only a short walk down to the water and restaurants. One issue that's common in a lot of places is that it would be nice to have a sheer curtain/blind in the front window so you could leave the main curtains open to let natural light in. Otherwise anyone walking past can see straight in.

Date of stay: August 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Nicho123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
thealderinn, Front Office Manager at Alder Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 8 September 2018

We're glad you had a nice stay and thank you for you taking the time to write a review, We appreciate the feedback.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2018

Our new favorite place to relax! Amazing attention to detail as each room has a different theme. The beds were very comfortable & the surrounding area was quiet. They are centrally located and close to everywhere we wanted to go, we either walked or scootered all over town. Mike and Laura (on-site owners) were so friendly & welcoming. There are lots of games outside (ping-pong, basketball, bocce ball, pool) and common areas to lounge on. The best part was that my teenagers wanted to be outside the entire time! We can't wait to go back!

Room tip: All 24 rooms have beautiful views and are individually themed.
Date of stay: July 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank kterre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
thealderinn, Front Office Manager at Alder Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 7 September 2018

We're so happy you enjoyed your stay with us and got to enjoy all our different amendities that we have to offer here at our Inn. We look forward to seeing you again and thank you for taking the time to write us a review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2018 via mobile

Stayed in August as part of a California road trip and it was Fab-u-Lous. Completely outweighed our expectations. We stayed in connecting king rooms with our two teenage daughters (book direct to get the connecting rooms option - you can’t book that on booking.com). Lovely rooms, very clean with super comfortable beds and fridges, tv, glasses for drinks and candy on arrival. Nothing was too much trouble for this lovely family owned hotel. The pool was great ( massive inflatables made my daughter’s day!) and the hot tub amazing after a long hike In the nearby state parks (try D.L. Bliss park trail to Emerald Lake - fab). The fire pits dotted around the grounds are so relaxing in the evenings.
The hotel is 5 mins walk from the lake and beach and various restaurants and honestly we wished we’d stayed a couple more nights. If I’m ever fortunate to return to Lake Tahoe, I would definitely stay here - it would amazing to come here for skiing! Here’s hoping!!!

Date of stay: August 2018
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank Helen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
thealderinn, Front Office Manager at Alder Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 7 September 2018

Thank you so much for the high compliments. We are so happy you had such a wonderful stay and we hope that you do get to come back to tahoe and stay with us again. Thank you so much for writing such a nice review, We hope you have a wonderful rest of your day.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2018

This has to be my husband's favorite hotel we stayed at during our 15 day trip out west. He loved the ambiance, I liked the room! It was nice and spacious. The only issue we had is that the coffee machine in our room didn't work and we checked out before the office opened

Date of stay: August 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank moncrief20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
thealderinn, Front Office Manager at Alder Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 30 August 2018

Thank you for such a high compliment. We put alot of pride and love into our Inn, so we are glad you noticed that. We did just replace some of our coffee machines, so if you end up staying with us again, we can show you how they work and also make sure its working property for you each time. Thank you so much for writing a review and we hope you have a wonderful day.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews