We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Eric S
Wheaton, Illinois

Isla Palenque was an amazing family vacation!

5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 30 Mar 2024
Our family recently returned from a 4 night stay and we highly recommend it if you want a bespoke experience away from crowds. There were times when we felt as if we were the only guests on the island, not to mention the two private beaches we enjoyed. The casitas, just steps from the beach, were comfortable, cool, and immaculately kept. We loved seeing and hearing the monkeys, and all the crabs on the beach during our nightly walks.

The people who work here are truly amazing. They are not only great at what they do, but they are so kind. The service made this trip one we will never forget.

Benny and Daniela at the concierge desk were incredibly accommodating about suggesting and planning activities perfect for us. Our family did the Isla Secas tour (worth it!), kayaking, paddle boarding, fishing, hiking and a cooking class. We enjoyed multiple excursions with Manuel who was incredibly knowledgeable and made each one fun for our teens and us.

The restaurant staff including Guillermo, Carlos and Benny were the best! They were the first to greet us in the morning with coffees, and the last ones we saw each night after leisurely dinners. Meals were beautifully prepared and delicious. We appreciated the changing menu including Panamanian dishes as well as more familiar food -even our pickiest eater was happy. The kids enjoyed the delicious ice cream every night. Benny is a true mixologist and we had the most delicious, natural, cocktails made with homemade shrubs and infused liquors. His take on a Mai Tai became the favorite cocktail of the trip. He was always so nice about making unique mocktails for the kids as well.

Thank you to everyone at Isla Palenque for an unforgettable trip!
Date of stay: March 2024
Room Tip: Bring sunscreen, bug spray, casual lightweight clothes, tevas, flip flops.
Trip type: Travelled with family
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Guest Service, Revenue Management at Isla Palenque Resort, responded to this review
Responded 1 Apr 2024
Thank you for choosing Isla Palenque for your family vacation. And thanks for mentioning so many of us in your review. This means a lot. Please come back soon or also take a look at our sister hotels of the Cayuga Collection in Costa Rica and Nicaragua.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Nearby Hotels
HK$1,722
HK$1,554
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Hotels.com
    HK$1,557
  • Expedia
    HK$1,557
  • Agoda.com
    HK$1,554
7.2 km from Isla Palenque Resort
Free Wifi
Free parking
HK$1,288
No prepayment needed
  • Hotels.com
    HK$1,224
  • Expedia
    HK$1,224
  • Agoda.com
    HK$1,288
7.0 km from Isla Palenque Resort
Free Wifi
Free parking
Habitacion doble
HK$468
No prepayment needed
  • Agoda.com
    HK$469
6.3 km from Isla Palenque Resort
Free Wifi
Free parking
HK$1,015
No fees just great deals
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Expedia
7.2 km from Isla Palenque Resort
Free Wifi
Free parking
HK$1,581
No prepayment needed
  • Hotels.com
    HK$1,493
  • Expedia
    HK$1,493
  • Agoda.com
9.9 km from Isla Palenque Resort
Free Wifi
Free parking
HK$468
    6.2 km from Isla Palenque Resort
    HK$1,288
      7.0 km from Isla Palenque Resort
      HK$351
      • eDreams
      5.1 km from Isla Palenque Resort
      Free Wifi
      Pool
      El Hotel fue recien remodelado y tiene 12 habitaciones.
      HK$351
      No prepayment needed
      • Agoda.com
        HK$351
      6.6 km from Isla Palenque Resort
      getlstd_property_photo
      HK$176
      Fully refundable
      No prepayment needed
      • Agoda.com
        HK$176
      31.1 km from Isla Palenque Resort
      Free Wifi
      Free parking
      View more hotels in Boca Chica
      Reviews (218)
      Filter reviews
      218 results
      Traveller rating
      204
      12
      1
      0
      1
      Traveller type
      Time of year
      LanguageAll languages
      More languages
      Traveller rating
      204
      12
      1
      0
      1
      Show reviews that mention
      All reviews bug spray howler monkeys cooking class each meal paddle boarding private beach panama city rum tasting fish natural beauty robinson crusoe rainy season eco adventure the entire experience an incredible experience airport transfer jungle hikes
      Selected filters
      Filter
      Updating list...
      4 - 9 of 218 reviews
      Reviewed 26 March 2024

      Our experience at Isla Palenque was flawless! Imagine an island with 7 casitas and 7 beautiful beaches. Food simply terrific. Bungalow and outdoor spaces charming and well equipped with A/C in the bungalow itself. Complete privacy. Service-wise they couldn't do enough. Everyone knew and called us by name. Private excursions were always available and on our timetable. And dining three times daily at a table in the sand next to the beach with constantly changing menus with sensational choices...wonderful. In the evening there was amazing stargazing without any light pollution from nearby villages or resorts. Enthusiastically recommend and will return again next year. Isla Palenque is simply THE BEST BAREFOOT LUXURY EXPERIENCE EVER!!!!

      Date of stay: March 2024
      • Trip type: Travelled with family
        • Value
        • Location
        • Sleep Quality
        • Rooms
        • Cleanliness
        • Service
      Thank marsha C
      This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
      Guest Service, Revenue Management at Isla Palenque Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 1 April 2024

      How great to hear that you are not only "enthusiastically recommending us" but also returning to stay with us again next year. That says it all. See you soon.

      Report response as inappropriate
      This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
      Reviewed 24 February 2024 via mobile

      This is a truly wonderful escape. Isla Palenque has excellent low key service in an amazing environment with wonderful rooms. We especially loved kayaking around the island with Francis, the cocktails by Carlos, and the truly friendly meal service from both Jorge and Carlos.

      All you need to bring is shorts, bathing suits, shoes optional, and bug spray - we got bites even with spray on (it’s a real tropical island after all!).

      Room tip: February is very hot! Bring bug spray.
      Date of stay: February 2024
      Trip type: Travelled as a couple
      Thank Roving439810
      This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
      Guest Service, Revenue Management at Isla Palenque Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 26 February 2024

      Thanks for your review and the great comments on the service, your meals, and the adventures with our on-site guides. It is a good idea to bring bug spray, especially when going on tours into the forest on the island. But many of our guests also never bother to use it and are fine. Shoes are optional for sure. Please come back soon.

      Report response as inappropriate
      This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
      Reviewed 8 February 2024

      If you are considering a visit to Isla Palenque, stop thinking about it and just book it. You will not regret it.

      My husband and I came for one week to celebrate our 20th anniversary. From the minute we reached the dock, our every want and need was exquisitely catered to. The casitas are fabulous, and the air conditioning kept us very comfortable. We loved the outdoor bathroom - one morning I had monkeys serenading me while I showered.

      It's really the staff where Isla Palenque shines. They go out of their way to ensure you're enjoying your visit. During lunch one day, we asked for our lounge chairs to be moved to the beach - it was done within minutes. Iris provided excellent massages. We did a fun rum tasting class with Michael and his passion for the subject was infectious. We did many activities with Frances including a snorkel trip to Isla Secas, dolphin watching, a monkey walk and a hike into the jungle. He is so knowledgeable about the flora and fauna in the area; every adventure with him was fascinating. I highly recommend the Isla Secas trip. The snorkeling was perfect, and the empty island beach we went to for lunch was one of the prettiest beaches I've ever seen.

      The food was fresh and delicious. Try the Palenque tartar. On our anniversary, they prepared a special private dinner for us in a palapa. The food, including lobsters wrapped in banana leaves, was out of this world. The waitstaff, including Carlos, Guillermo, Jorge, Michael and Carolina were attentive and friendly.

      Benny, the concierge, worked tirelessly to cater to our every whim. Benny and chef Axel even put together a first - an ice cream making class for us. It was so fun and we feasted on our ice cream and sorbet the rest of the week.

      A few (hopefully) helpful tidbits:
      1. You better like the person/people you're traveling with because you won't see many other people.
      2. If you're looking for a party, this place isn't for you.
      3. The only shoes you need are a pair of flip-flops/sandals and a pair of hiking boots - seriously, I way over-packed in the shoe department.
      4. Visit Isla Palenque to be pampered, indulged and well-rested. It is truly a magical place.

      Thank you Isla Palenque for the anniversary trip of my dreams!

      Date of stay: January 2024
      • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
        • Value
        • Location
        • Service
      Thank NorthStar32889334298
      This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
      Guest Service, Revenue Management at Isla Palenque Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 12 February 2024

      What a wonderful review. We love your packing recommendation about shoes. Thank you for spending such a special occasion with us on our island. Greetings from all of us at Isla Palenque.

      Report response as inappropriate
      This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
      Reviewed 14 January 2024

      What a dream! Come here for paradise. The casitas are very comfortable and private. The outside space is absolutely dreamy. You can walk steps to the ocean and yet have complete privacy. I had two of the best massages of my life on the outside deck. The food is beyond fresh and delicious. Expertly cooked and varied. The swimming pool is the perfect temperature, and the ocean is as well. My family had a wonderful time, and we hope to return!

      Date of stay: August 2023
      • Trip type: Travelled with family
        • Value
        • Location
        • Service
      1  Thank TrianaTeresa
      This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
      Guest Service, Revenue Management at Isla Palenque Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 16 January 2024

      Thank you for your "Paradise" Review. We are glad that you and your family had such a wonderful time at Isla Palenque. Please come back soon.

      Report response as inappropriate
      This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
      Reviewed 27 November 2023

      We just returned from a delightful four-day stay at this wonderful resort, and the experience was nothing short of incredible. All the glowing reviews are absolutely accurate. The staff, food, activities, and location make this place worth every moment of the trip. A special shout-out to Derek, Jens, Carlos, Paco, Obajoralis (apologies if the spelling is incorrect), Yarelee, Benny, and everyone else who went above and beyond to ensure we had a fantastic time.

      We enjoyed the night walk, a premium rum tasting led by the knowledgeable Carlos, the Secrets of the Island tour, a fun mixology class, and evening wine and cheese. However, simply lounging in the cabanas or gazing at the ocean during meals was an experience in itself. The casitas were charming, and the housekeeping was nothing short of miraculous – we never once saw them, yet the casita remained spotless throughout our stay.

      One highlight was when an entire family of howler monkeys joined us during lunch to feast on the almond tree. It added a unique touch to our dining experience.

      I wished we could have extended our stay to enjoy more of the activities. There's just so much to do!

      Overall, our time at this resort was unforgettable, and we can't wait to return.

      Date of stay: November 2023
      • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
        • Value
        • Location
        • Service
      Thank JasonM751
      This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
      Guest Service, Revenue Management at Isla Palenque Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 5 December 2023

      Thanks for your visit, Jason. Yes, four days is not enough. At least 5. But most guests say a week. Thanks for all the positive comments and the nice mention of so many team members. We will take great care of the Howler Family and of course the rest of the island. Please come back soon or maybe visit another Cayuga Collection Hotel in Costa Rica, Nicaragua, or Panama soon.

      Report response as inappropriate
      This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
      View more reviews