We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Ana H
Panama City, Panama

The best stay in Panama.

5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 8 May 2024
The hotel exudes charm, offering a breathtaking view of the quaint bay. Our room was delightful, and the addition of a bathtub was a delightful surprise. We embarked on an excursion to an inhabited island with soft, powdery white sand, making our stay even more memorable. The restaurant surpassed our expectations with a fantastic meal. We wholeheartedly recommend this experience.
Date of stay: April 2024
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Nearby Hotels
HK$1,187
HK$1,094
No prepayment needed
  • Hotels.com
    HK$1,187
  • Expedia
    HK$1,187
  • Agoda.com
    HK$1,094
0.2 km from Hotel Bocas Del Mar
Free Wifi
Free parking
HK$1,016
No prepayment needed
  • ZenHotels.com
  • Agoda.com
    HK$1,015
  • Expedia
0.2 km from Hotel Bocas Del Mar
Free Wifi
Free parking
HK$1,582
HK$1,494
No prepayment needed
Earn rewards on eligible stays
  • Booking.com
    HK$1,582
  • Expedia
    HK$1,494
  • Vio.com
    HK$1,489
3.9 km from Hotel Bocas Del Mar
Free Wifi
Free parking
Habitacion doble
HK$469
No prepayment needed
  • Agoda.com
    HK$469
1.4 km from Hotel Bocas Del Mar
Free Wifi
Free parking
HK$1,094
    0.3 km from Hotel Bocas Del Mar
    HK$469
      1.5 km from Hotel Bocas Del Mar
      • Expedia
      • Hotels.com
      • Booking.com
      7.2 km from Hotel Bocas Del Mar
      Free Wifi
      Pool
      HK$1,607
      Fully refundable
      Earn rewards on eligible stays
      • Booking.com
        HK$1,617
      • Expedia
        HK$1,607
      • ZenHotels.com
      0.0 km from Hotel Bocas Del Mar
      Free Wifi
      Free parking
      HK$351
        2.2 km from Hotel Bocas Del Mar
        Free Wifi
        Pool
        HK$352
        No prepayment needed
        • Agoda.com
        0.8 km from Hotel Bocas Del Mar
        View more hotels in Boca Chica
        Reviews (812)
        Filter reviews
        812 results
        Traveller rating
        722
        80
        9
        1
        0
        Traveller type
        Time of year
        LanguageAll languages
        More languages
        Traveller rating
        722
        80
        9
        1
        0
        Show reviews that mention
        All reviews the managers fish hotel restaurant panama city boat trip wonderful hotel discovery tour del mar infinity pool water taxi the hotel manager sunset cruise beautiful location david airport an amazing view rooms are beautiful saw dolphins
        Selected filters
        Filter
        Updating list...
        1 - 6 of 812 reviews
        Reviewed 7 April 2024 via mobile

        Having visited this great location two years ago I was so excited to be returning for a relaxing great value stay at one of my favorite places. Sadly it didn’t turn out that way. Service was awful the entire week and the food was pretty mediocre compared to my last visit. Value for money was none existent as prices had skyrocketed and they seemed to want to charge for absolutely everything top dollar. Our final night we provided the restaurant with a significant amount of freshly caught Tuna. Some of the belly (around 2 kilos) we specifically asked to be prepared for sashimi and the rest (around 3-4 kilos) we asked for the chef to prepare a couple of dishes of his choosing. Well we had some sashimi (no wasabi to be seen) that was around 0.25 kilos and asking for more we were told initially that the remaining belly was not suitable for sashimi. I called BS as I regularly prepare my own fresh tuna belly sashimi but they were adamant. Then we were
        Presented with a mock poke - dry
        And with odd ingredients and nothing like the sesame oil and freshness that is normal in the dish - so that was disappointing and finally the piece de resistance a main prepared and cooked so badly that 50% was inedible being so ridiculously overcooked. I spoke to the manager to gently express our disappointment and there was every excuse put forward but no responsibility taken. Then the bill was presented and yes there was a charge for the inedible food. Manager (Ignatius) and I had words. He was frankly awful refusing to take any accountability for the dreadful state of the food and actually telling us that others were served the same ( presumably ours) with no complaints. That was my final straw. I explained in no uncertain terms that despite what other diners were prepared to put up with I could not and would not accept that any part of the dish or our treatment was acceptable. I explained that my son is a chef and he would rather commit harakiri than ever allow that sort of awfully prepared food leave his pass. As if the food wasn’t enough, the pool is in sad need of a major overhaul and the rooms, whilst pleasant are looking a little tired. I feel both sad and ripped off and unless something changes we won’t be back. Such a shame.

        Date of stay: April 2024
        Trip type: Travelled with friends
        Thank MarkT-G001
        This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
        Team Manager, Guest Services / Front Office at Hotel Bocas Del Mar, responded to this reviewResponded 15 April 2024

        All the team aims for every guest to have the best experience possible at Hotel Bocas del Mar and that commitment is as important to us now as it has always been. We are especially sad to receive your comments therefore. We value all feedback, however we regret we could not do more to satisfy you further on this visit.

        Kind regards,

        Hotel Bocas del Mar

        Report response as inappropriate
        This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
        Reviewed 6 April 2024

        My family and I had a wonderful stay at Hotel Bocas Del Mar. The location is absolutely stunning, the resort was beautiful and the guest house we stayed in was clean and comfortable. The service was excellent and the food at the restaurant was delicious. The highlight of our stay was probably the island hopping tour. My children absolutely loved snorkeling, going to the beach and seeing the dolphins. They were also big fans of the pool. I cannot recommend it highly enough to anyone who is looking for a relaxing getaway. Thank you to all the staff for all your hard work and making our stay so amazing! We will definitely be back!

        Date of stay: March 2024
        • Trip type: Travelled with family
          • Value
          • Location
          • Sleep Quality
          • Rooms
          • Cleanliness
          • Service
        Thank Dorothy L
        This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
        Team Manager, Guest Services / Front Office at Hotel Bocas Del Mar, responded to this reviewResponded 15 April 2024

        We really appreciate your five-star review of your stay, which fills us with pride, and that you enjoyed so many elements of your time with us. It was a pleasure to take care of you and we look forward to welcoming you again soon.

        Kind regards,

        The Hotel Bocas del Mar team

        Report response as inappropriate
        This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
        Reviewed 22 February 2024

        We enjoyed our time at Bocas Del Mar very much. We recommend the boat trips they offer; both the beach day trip and the bird watching sunset trip. The food was delicious. We enjoyed the personalized service, as well as the limited number of guests on the property even during a very busy time of year in Panama.

        Date of stay: February 2024
        Trip type: Travelled as a couple
        Thank 675mandyz
        This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
        Team Manager, Guest Services / Front Office at Hotel Bocas Del Mar, responded to this reviewResponded 26 February 2024

        All the team thanks you for your gracious review. It was a pleasure to welcome you and we are thrilled you enjoyed your stay so much. We aim to provide just the right amount of personalized service while maintaining our guests' privacy.

        Kind regards,

        Hotel Bocas del Mar

        Report response as inappropriate
        This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
        Reviewed 18 February 2024

        Everything about this place is "Top Notch" We had a great day fishing with Captain Johnny and First Mate Owen. We caught all sorts of fish. I would go back in a heartbeat! We brought on board Mahi, grouper, tuna, something called a Rainbow Runner ??? There were 5 of us and there was plenty of room on the boat.

        Date of stay: February 2024
        Trip type: Travelled with friends
        Thank Freedom703771
        This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
        Team Manager, Guest Services / Front Office at Hotel Bocas Del Mar, responded to this reviewResponded 26 February 2024

        We appreciate your five-star review of your stay. Sport Fishing is one of the many activity options for people of all ages and interests that we offer at Bocas del Mar. We hope to welcome you again.

        Kind regards,

        The Hotel Bocas del Mar team

        Report response as inappropriate
        This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
        Reviewed 8 February 2024

        The grounds are beautiful, the rooms spacious and comfortable, the food excellent and the staff friendly and accommodating. Plenty of activities are available to fill the day: kayaking, sunset cruises and snorkeling adventures. Or you can just stay on the grounds lazing around the pool, swinging in a hammock by the dock or hiking up to see the parrot sanctuary. We had a great stay and were very sorry to leave. We are already making plans to return.

        Date of stay: January 2024
        • Trip type: Travelled with family
          • Value
          • Location
          • Service
        1  Thank David H
        This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
        Team Manager, Guest Services / Front Office at Hotel Bocas Del Mar, responded to this reviewResponded 26 February 2024

        Thank you so much for your review of your stay. We are pleased that you took advantage of so much on offer.

        Kind regards,

        The Hotel Bocas del Mar team

        Report response as inappropriate
        This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
        View more reviews