We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Rhonda M

Amazing views and immersion in natural beauty

5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 7 Aug 2023
Our gracious hosts greeted us personally. We were taken aback immediately by the views. The resort is very beautiful and well maintained. The infinity pool was one of our our favorite places to be. Hummingbirds zoomed by us on the mirador. There were more hummingbirds than I’ve ever seen in one place before. We awoke to birds and howler monkeys. It is a magical place to experience the best of the natural beauty of Boca Chica.
Date of stay: August 2023
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
HErbie Ellison, Owner at Boca Chica Bay Eco Lodge, responded to this review
Responded 9 Aug 2023
Dearest Rhonda, We really enjoyed meeting and getting to know both You and Vern - so glad that you were so happy with your stay here with us and look forward to welcoming you back. Kindest Regards, HErbie and ErikA
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Nearby Hotels
HK$1,554
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Hotels.com
    HK$1,542
  • Agoda.com
    HK$1,370
  • Expedia
    HK$1,542
0.2 km from Boca Chica Bay Eco Lodge
Free Wifi
Free parking
HK$1,289
No prepayment needed
  • Hotels.com
    HK$1,090
  • Expedia
    HK$1,090
  • Agoda.com
    HK$1,289
0.2 km from Boca Chica Bay Eco Lodge
Free Wifi
Free parking
Habitacion doble
HK$469
No prepayment needed
  • Agoda.com
    HK$469
1.2 km from Boca Chica Bay Eco Lodge
Free Wifi
Free parking
HK$1,582
No prepayment needed
  • Hotels.com
    HK$1,494
  • Expedia
    HK$1,494
  • ZenHotels.com
4.2 km from Boca Chica Bay Eco Lodge
Free Wifi
Free parking
HK$1,289
    0.1 km from Boca Chica Bay Eco Lodge
    HK$469
      1.3 km from Boca Chica Bay Eco Lodge
      HK$1,015
      No fees just great deals
      • Booking.com
      • Hotels.com
      • Expedia
      0.0 km from Boca Chica Bay Eco Lodge
      Free Wifi
      Free parking
      HK$351
      • eDreams
      2.2 km from Boca Chica Bay Eco Lodge
      Free Wifi
      Pool
      El Hotel fue recien remodelado y tiene 12 habitaciones.
      HK$351
      No prepayment needed
      • Agoda.com
        HK$351
      1.0 km from Boca Chica Bay Eco Lodge
      getlstd_property_photo
      HK$176
      Fully refundable
      No prepayment needed
      • Agoda.com
        HK$176
      31.7 km from Boca Chica Bay Eco Lodge
      Free Wifi
      Free parking
      View more hotels in Boca Chica
      Reviews (145)
      Filter reviews
      145 results
      Traveller rating
      138
      2
      1
      0
      4
      Traveller type
      Time of year
      LanguageAll languages
      More languages
      Traveller rating
      138
      2
      1
      0
      4
      Show reviews that mention
      All reviews infinity pool other guests lovely hosts stunning views beautiful room luxurious accommodation excellent breakfast nice property place to stay a great place to relax gravel road overlooking the ocean a wonderful stay howler monkeys two nights every morning heaven on earth
      Selected filters
      Filter
      Updating list...
      3 - 8 of 145 reviews
      Reviewed 25 April 2023

      This place is absolutely beautiful. The rooms are clean, the pool area is incredible. We could watch the hummingbirds in the trees and it truly is a place to relax. HErbie was always available via email or whatsapp and organized an island tour for us which was also really nice. Boca chica is a place to relax, there is a nice restaurant just a few steps away so if you look for nature and calm hours at the pool you should spend some nights with Herbie and Erika. Herbie even offered to drive us to our next hotel in boquete (2h drive) for a way cheaper fare than other taxis would have offered which was nice.

      One thing I want to mention is that I do have to agree with some of the reviews about the very strict vibe that Herbie creates in his home. Maybe they had some bad experiences how other people behaved but we were a bit surprised. There are two big open kitchen and we wanted to cut open a fruit we bought at a shop and appearently we were not supposed to touch the dishes. Since this house is in the middle of nowhere I would have expected this not to be a problem as long as we clean up. Also on our first morning we suggested having breakfast outside (where there are also tables 2 meters away from the kitchen) which was actually denied since the table was already set up inside. If you offer a beautiful view like that I would actually expect some flexibility when it comes to that. What I found actually most disturbing is that in our two days Herbie frequently harshly talked to Erika which gave us a weird feeling when laying in a hammock and listening to them "argue" but maybe it was just a coincidence and bad timing.

      To summarize: Highly recommend spending some days at the lodge but it would be great if the hosts would be a bit more flexible.

      Date of stay: April 2023
      • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
        • Value
        • Location
        • Service
      1  Thank Magdalena K
      This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
      HErbie Ellison, Owner at Boca Chica Bay Eco Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 25 April 2023

      Hi Magdalena

      So sorry that it now appears that you did not understand that you did not select a backpackers facility with shared bathrooms and kitchens - which are clearly demarcated as private and that being in the middle of the jungle we do have to take the utmost care against infestations and have strict health and cleanliness restrictions against guests simply using the facilities in this shared home environment - would you be okay with us in your home and just helping ourselves? We clearly state that if you wish to have access to any kitchen items ask and we will assist as we have different sets of suitable plates and cutting boards for this purpose

      It is disturbing that you were eavesdropping on our personal conversations and had no idea about the context with someone I have known for almost 40 years! I am by nature loud speaking and unashamedly have a Mediterranean temperament and thus very vocal - this was about the same time that Erika's Cousin had been tortured and Uncle had died after a brutal farm attack in South Africa and I was incredibly upset - now that you have had to mention this, in a public space ... is unfortunate

      We are flexible in so many ways that you cannot even imagine and advise that any prospective guest should decide as to what accommodation type would best suit them - self-catering, bed and breakfast, bungalows or an impersonal HOTEL

      This is also why we will now totally move away from accepting any direct bookings as the policies and guidelines are clearly stated in the TERMS and CONDITIONS of the booking platforms on which we rely

      Report response as inappropriate
      This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
      Reviewed 11 April 2023

      A very beautiful lodge with an amazing view, everything is very well maintained and spotless clean. The owners Erika and Herbie are very friendly people and extremely helpful. They prepare fresh breakfast for everyone according to their taste and do it with great pleasure. From the pool you have a fantastic view over the bay and you can watch all kinds of birds. It's quiet, peaceful and very relaxing. But if you're looking for parties, this isn't the right place for you.

      Date of stay: March 2023
      • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
        • Value
        • Location
        • Service
      1  Thank Yvonne Anita O
      This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
      HErbie Ellison, Owner at Boca Chica Bay Eco Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 13 April 2023

      Dearest Yvonne, It was lovely to have you and Pip both stay with us, Thank you so very much for the kind words and "YES!" this is a sanctuary - so no noise from music let alone parties ! Kindest Regards, HErbie and ErikA

      Report response as inappropriate
      This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
      Reviewed 6 April 2023

      The view is AMAZING, the rooms are extremely comfortable. This is a great place to relax and relieve all the stress you might have. Erika and Herbie are outstanding hosts and they serve delicious and more than complete breakfast every morning. We will come back next year for sure!

      Date of stay: March 2023
      Trip type: Travelled as a couple
      Review collected in partnership with this hotel
      Thank Maria Gabriela V
      This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
      HErbie Ellison, Owner at Boca Chica Bay Eco Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 13 April 2023

      Dearest Maria, It was la pleasure to have stay with us, Thank you so very much for the kind words and look forward to your return ! Warmest Regards, HErbie and ErikA

      Report response as inappropriate
      This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
      Reviewed 17 March 2023 via mobile

      My wife and I stayed at Boca Chica Eco lodge for two nights and thoroughly enjoyed our stay with our host Herbie and Erica. They were very welcoming and ensured we had all the knowledge needed for the area from boat tours which we highly recommend to restaurants in the area. Herbie was very entertaining and kept all guests laughing especially at breakfast time. We would highly recommend staying here and will return in the future.

      Date of stay: March 2023
      Trip type: Travelled as a couple
      Thank Derek P
      This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
      HErbie Ellison, Owner at Boca Chica Bay Eco Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 28 March 2023

      WOW!

      Report response as inappropriate
      This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
      Reviewed 16 March 2023 via mobile

      This is a very lovely small b&b, with glorious views and the ability to watch birds and monkeys right from your hotel room or one of the terraces. It also has a small and delightful swimming pool perfect for cooling off. Be aware that you need a car, as the owners will tell you. They have created a lovely slice of a remote and tranquil place to relax and as a small B&B you will need to be mobile to get your meals out or go exploring what the area has to offer

      There is a nice big breakfast to start the day and then you can go to the village for your other meals. There are some beautiful islands to see via water taxis, or tours you can do, and renting a kayak from a neighboring hotel is also a really nice way to spend a day. The hummingbird feeding area is rather lovely and we really did enjoy watching all the wildlife. 

      Beds are super comfy here, we slept a lot and still enjoyed the monkey and bird wake up calls! We had 5 nights here and were truly able to relax while also finding stuff to do each day. Walking on boca brava (loads of monkeys) snorkelling Bolanos and  kayaking to load beaches were our highlights. 

      Room tip: Make sure u have a car
      Date of stay: March 2023
      Trip type: Travelled as a couple
      Thank 685inky66
      This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
      HErbie Ellison, Owner at Boca Chica Bay Eco Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 23 March 2023

      Dearest 685inky66,

      We are so glad that you had such a wonderful time and much appreciative for the full score rating of 5/5

      Kindest Regards,
      HErbie and ErikA

      Report response as inappropriate
      This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
      View more reviews