We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (268)
Filter reviews
268 results
Traveller rating
173
72
16
3
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
173
72
16
3
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviews security man special mention must go on site restaurant superb staff sauna and steam room sister hotel quiz night regular visitors maintained grounds home from home heated pool children's club crazy golf quality acts great satisfaction working order small gym
Filter
Updating list...
7 - 12 of 268 reviews
Reviewed 24 September 2018

Despite the booking entitlement arrangements changing (Timeshare ownership to Points) the resort retains a lot of its gentile atmosphere. The apartments are well equipped and scrupulously clean. The gardens are fabulous, and the pool area is a delight. Owner’s garden was in tip top condition. The Beach Bar under new management is thriving with 4 nights of tribute acts in the week we were there. Staff are universally friendly and positive and in this week, we noticed the lifeguard making a real effort to impose some control on inappropriate pool antics. Eli was poorly so there was no quiz this week, but like the trooper she is, she was there the next day for Sangria making. We enjoyed very high temperatures, between 26 and 32 degrees in the third week of September (though the week before had been very wet) and with 87% humidity we had to use the air conditioning through the night, but our electric bill was a very reasonable 21 euros. The wifi was the strongest and most stable we have experienced. We experienced 2 problems with our apartment – someone had programmed the phone alarm for midnight and someone had put the apartment’s sunshade away while damp and so it had become mouldy. Both problems sorted within one hour of them being reported to Reception. Gym and pool areas are spotless and well serviced. We had an excellent take away pizza from the Beach Bar on our first night. We understand that following 5 consecutive ‘Certificates of Exellence’ since 2013 the resort is now in the TOP 10% of all TripAdvisor business worldwide and awarded the prestigious Hall of Fame award. Totally deserved. Here’s to our visit next year!!! (Brexit or no Brexit).

  • Stayed: September 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Topkoppite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sebastián U, General Manager at Macdonald Leila Playa Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 3 October 2018

Thank you so much for posting your comments. We have indeed received the Hall of Fame award, which we are very proud of. We look forward to greeting you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 September 2018 via mobile

Stayed one week in 1 bedroom apartment C4. Terrible noice from highway. Smallest terrace ever with awful old plastic furniture. Hotel did not do anything to improve.

Garden and pool area are excellent. Walking path by the coast line is nice for jogging and walking.

Not many choises for enterntainment in the area. Nice terrace would have saved the evenings.

Stayed: September 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank terasteija
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 September 2018

Right on the beach and next to one of the best chirrangito in the area. We had Aptmt A26 overlooking the beach. We were Mum, Dad and 3 x 21 yr olds ( 2 girls) sharing one bathroom which was a bit of a pain but we managed. A great week. Very clean and comfortable. Reception staff were extremely efficient and helpful

Stayed: September 2018
Thank phlipManchester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sebastián U, General Manager at Macdonald Leila Playa Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 11 September 2018

Thank you for taking the time to post your comments. We are so happy you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to seeing you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2018

I’ve been here a few times brilliant place fantastic staff great entertainment and lovely surroundings. Apartments are really great they have everything you need. It’s a fantastic place to go and relax.

Stayed: April 2018, travelled with family
Thank Karen Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sebastián U, General Manager at Macdonald Leila Playa Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 11 September 2018

Thank you Karen for your kind words. We are thrilled you enjoy visiting us and look forward to seeing you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2018

We've jointly owned a 3 bed villa in Leila Playa for about 20 years with our best friends. However, we'd not used our week here for many years as it became difficult to take the children out of school and we tended to exchange our week in November for warmer Lanzarote. Fast forward to last October when just the 4 adults returned (our 4 'children' are all adults too now!). Our villa by the pool had been refurbished and we were so impressed with the new contemporary style, it was a real home from home. The resort has beautiful gardens, the beach is 2 minutes away and the new Boardwalk provides an easy walk along the coast to visit wonderful restaurants. The bar and Beach House restaurant onsite are good and all the staff are friendly and helpful. We stayed in May 2018 again and have booked already for June 2019. The only trouble is the 'kids' want to come with us!

Stayed: May 2018
Thank Nicki P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sebastián U, General Manager at Macdonald Leila Playa Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 11 September 2018

Thank you Nicki for your very positive comments. We are delighted to welcome you back and look forward to your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews