We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overnight Stay”
Review of The Hanmer Arms

The Hanmer Arms
Ranked #1 of 1 Restaurants in Hanmer
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$5 - US$28
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Description: The Hanmer Arms is a traditional Countryside 11 bedroom inn serving quality food and drink and located within the beautiful village of Hanmer on the border of England and Wales. Centrally located between Birmingham, Manchester, Liverpool and within half an hour of Chester, Shrewsbury and Wrexham the Hanmer Arms is a great location for a quiet stopover whether travelling for business or into North Wales.
Reviewed 27 May 2018 via mobile

Rooms separate from the main building, similar to a Chalet, so lots of people passing your door and window to get to their rooms etc.. nice little grassed area to sit. Room very standard. Old furniture. Beds ok. Bathroom ok. Large shower.

Nothing to really complain about for an overnight stay. Very basic. Clean bedding.

Nice breakfast in the morning included

Date of visit: May 2018
2  Thank bellabow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (131)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

29 - 33 of 131 reviews

Reviewed 21 May 2018 via mobile

Came in on a Wednesday evening, the food and the customer service was absolutely fantastic. We had the salmon roulade and the duck salad to start which were absolutely amazing, being a chef I can’t complain the flavours were so well put together and they were truly incredible. For mains I had the sea bream special with my other half having the assiete of fish. These were truly stunning, never tasted flavours like this in anywhere we have visited before. 10/10. For dessert we had the amaretto and pistachio parfait and the sticky Toffee pudding which were both amazing. And even better we managed to have a conversation with the head chef Tom who
Spoke to us about all of the dishes, the Hanmer is extremely lucky to have such a good team of chefs run by a young and passionate chef like him. Me and my girlfriend would definitely give the Hanmer a 10/10 for the food and the customer service we received. Absolutely fantastic. Would reccomend to absolutely everyone. Also a big thank you to Elle who made us feel extremely comfortable for our fantastic and quite frankly perfect first visit to the Hanmer arms. We will definitely be back. Many thanks.

Date of visit: May 2018
4  Thank Joe B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 May 2018 via mobile

Last night we visited The Hanmer Arms. We hadn’t been for ages and last minute managed to get a table

Wow! This place has improved SO much under the new management . Fantastic varied menu with some of the best desserts I’ve ever seen on a menu . This is top notch and the chef is very skilled

Staff all friendly and professional . Complimented the chef who came up for a chat afterwards

It was a really nice atmosphere and we will be regulars from now on as we are just down the road

Date of visit: May 2018
3  Thank alisona594
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2018 via mobile

Great food,in fact amazing food, delightful staff, relaxed and friendly atmosphere. We hope to return soon....

Date of visit: May 2018
3  Thank Jonathan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2018 via mobile

We stayed for 2 nights whilst motorcycling in the local countryside.

The rooms are clean and very practicable, and come at a very pleasant price. More akin to a motel where the rooms are separate from the main body of the inn, this makes coming and going very easy. Large well appointed and maintained car park allows for secure off road parking.

The food is of an extremely high standard, with a broad list of options to suit all, and good value for money. The wine list is extensive and again offers a wide choice to suit all palettes.

The beer is very well kept and surprisingly is from Hook Norton. Other guest beers also available.....and lager too if you prefer.

Be careful what you order for breakfast, the portions are not for the faint hearted.

The staff/management are universally friendly and helpful.

An excellent choice all round.

Date of visit: April 2018
3  Thank Spartacus1959
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Hanmer Arms also viewed

Wrexham, Wrexham County
 
Welshampton, Shropshire
Bangor On Dee, Wrexham
 
Ellesmere, Shropshire
 

Been to The Hanmer Arms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing