We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,781)
Filter reviews
1,781 results
Traveller rating
571
627
329
134
120
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
571
627
329
134
120
Show reviews that mention
All reviews mimi's dock rum point dock bar infinity pool east end of the island time share fish older units david's restaurant seven mile beach grand cayman italian kitchen rci exchange grocery store quiet side ocean view welcome party
Filter
Updating list...
27 - 32 of 1,781 reviews
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Resort was awesome. The only thing if you like to swim in the ocean, this resort is not for you.Definitely need a car. You are away from everything. Although there is a small grocery store, liquor store and a great Italian restaurant in walking distant.Also there is a shuttle that will pick you up, and bring you to 3 different restaurants. If you enjoy snorkeling or scuba diving, this is the place for you.

  • Stayed: October 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with RCI
Thank contedmjp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TortugaMGR, Public Relations Manager at Morritts Tortuga Club and Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Hello,

We would like to thank you for taking the time to leave a review about your recent stay at Morritt’s Resort. We appreciate all comments, whether good or otherwise as our guests' opinions and experiences are what guide us to be the best resort that we can be. We look forward to welcoming you back soon! In the meantime, we wish you safe and happy travels.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

So we arrived Sept 30th and stayed for a wk, off season. We were placed in one of the unremodeled units and requesting a better unit was not an option. We read the terrible reviews before departing and we're not overly picky so we had no worries. The room was out dated as mentioned but appliances functioned well. Tiles were cracked but no biggy it happens. The bathroom was clean and water pressure good with hot water. I'm trying to be fair in this review. So the carpet was so dirty that my husbands feet were black 30 min after his shower. The cushions on couch and dinning chairs were stained and the couch cushions sank into the pull out bed below. 1 was ripped. The white plastic chairs that look like they are from an old man's porch from the 90s are dirty and not relaxing. There's no lounge chair or table so they were of no use. Roosters and chickens are everywhere and several are across the street that continuously cockadoo starting at 4 am, good luck sleeping in. The bed was nice but we ended up on the pull out couch with tv and air on to drown them out to get some sleep. Food and drink is expensive all over the island thats why you dont see much on trip advisor in means of cheap places to eat bc those places are subway and BK. Going toward Rum point is a restaurant named Over the Edge. Cheapest place we found. Beautiful view. We ended up buying vodka and mixers to save money. The duty free store by the port has the cheapest prices. Vodka was 11 bucks. Cheapest beer was in a can call 345. It was 8 bucks usd. The resort and several places dont like doing the math on the currency difference so they round up. I recommend taking cash out of the atm and paying for everything in caymen dollars, except the post office, bank and excursions these places charged the correct amt. Oh and the resort charges you a 15 percent gratuity in every purchase. Even a beer. So things weren't perfect but I had no plans on complaining on our departure. So about an hour before check out. We take our towels back and put some of our belongings into the car. We left some money, our vodka and my jacket in the room. We planned on enjoying one or 2 more drinks before heading to airport. We get back and everything is gone except our trash. We had left the tv on. That was off, kitchen cabnets left open, closer with safe open and looked as if someone started making bed. Looked like they saw us returning and fled. We immediately went outside and saw an employee and reported the theft. He says well that's too bad. We go to check out and report it to manager. Needless to say they didnt seem to care. She thought it was a misunderstanding. But then why wasnt the housekeeper still in the room completing her job when we got back. If she realized we had not departed then why not put the belongings back. Fyi: they're allowed to keep anything left behind, including alcohol. Anyway we recieved no compensation. They didnt even offer a complimentary beverage to make up for the drinks we intended to have. I didnt realize my jacket was stolen right away until I needed it at the airport so we didnt report that right away. They dont have walkie talkies there so they have no system to tell employees when we check out. What if I would have left something more important out. It would be gone. So I figured they stole about 40 bucks worth, not enough to break me but it's the principle. Complaints about seaweed are true. They could clean it up. Ivan's isnt that great. Bartender at MiMis was rude.

Stayed: October 2018, travelled with family
9  Thank Cheri C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TortugaMGR, Public Relations Manager at Morritts Tortuga Club and Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Hello,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience about your recent stay at Morritt's Resort. We take guest feedback very seriously, and it is disconcerting to hear that you did not enjoy your stay with us. What you described certainly does not meet the standard we set forth, and I am truly sorry that we did not meet your expectations. Please contact our main office at 1-800-447-0309 so we may go over these issues. Rest assured that management will review these points further with our entire team, so we can address these issues. In the meantime, we wish you happy travels.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Beach not good for walking or swimming.people were snorkeling..Mimi!s restaurant was enjoyable,prices okay.Food was good at main restaurant,did not have breakfast buffet,but it looked good.we enjoyed the water aerobics classes.East end is far from everything.

  • Stayed: September 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with RCI
Thank aandrzejewski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TortugaMGR, Public Relations Manager at Morritts Tortuga Club and Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Hello,

Thank you for sharing your experience at Morritt's. We are happy you enjoyed your stay and look forward to your next visit. In the meantime, we wish you safe and happy travels.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We used a free certificate exchange from Interval international for this week, so we paid nothing for the room (other than their charge of $115 for electricity for our two bedroom unit) . Therefore I was expecting their worst room, but I mentioned that my husband had a problem with stairs and we needed a ground floor room. They said that they only had townhouses available at the ground floor so I accepted that. It turned out to be a lovely remodeled townhouse right next to the Premier Pool entrance. My husband stayed on the ground floor because the fold out couch was comfortable and there was a large bathroom with a big shower on that floor and a chest of drawers under the TV and a closet for clothes. I was with my two 20 something children also. We had a great time with the hourly activities there such as pool contests, bingo, name that tune, etc for prizes. We spent a bit too much at the swim up bars at the pools. We had a great time snorkeling there, especially at Mimi's dock. There is a wide variety and huge number of fish there a few feet from the beach. You MUST use water shoes in the water because there is a lot of coral that cannot be removed because it is illegal to move coral in Grand Cayman. But that is why there are so many fish. There is only one kitchen at Morritt's, so if you eat at Davids, Mimi's or the Bars, the food is coming from the same kitchen so it's silly to be critical of food at one place and not others. Overall, the food is very good. Our "trip advisor" was Rob Sands. He is from Scotland and is a great guy that went out of his way to make our stay there great. He does the Condo purchase presentation for $100 off your bill. You don't have to do it, but it is so laid back and quick it was a pleasure. He also got us all a trip to Stingray City for only $70 each, which is much cheaper than other offered trips and it made four stops, two at reefs for snorkeling, one at Stingray City where you can hold stingrays in your arms and feed them and one at Starfish Bay. It was a great trip that we will always remember. We made other excursions around the island also such as Crystal Cave and had a great time overall. Everyone said that it was their favorite vacation. Remember that if you fly in on a Sunday, all food markets will be closed for the day.

Room Tip: Ask for a remodeled room. They are in the process of remodeling all of their rooms.
  • Stayed: September 2018, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank luannetrudell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TortugaMGR, Public Relations Manager at Morritts Tortuga Club and Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Hello,

Thank you for sharing your experience and insight with Morritt’s Resort and the TripAdvisor community. We are so happy you stayed with us. It is so very nice to hear that you enjoyed your stay here at Morritt’s Resort and we look forward to seeing you again soon. In the mean time we wish you safe and happy travels.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I went to this resort to dive and the diving was great. But there were some things my wife and I really didn't like about the resort. For starters they seem to charge for everything but the air you breathe and their prices are really high. The pools are really nice but resort activities were really limited. Also the resort adverties queen beds but our bed was barely a double. The fitness rooms needs to be completely redone as the equipmwnt is worn out. On the good side, the staff was really friendly and went out of their way to help us out. Also if you're a diver, Tortuga DIvers based at the resort is a first-class outfit.

  • Stayed: September 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with RCI
3  Thank sinerr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TortugaMGR, Public Relations Manager at Morritts Tortuga Club and Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Hello,

Thank you for sharing your experience at Morritt's Resort. We apologize for anything that may have made your stay with us unpleasant in any way. We understand that the Cayman Islands can be a very expensive destination. The reality is that electricity is extremely expensive on the island so instead of charging exorbitant resort fees for everyone we simply charge guests only for their actual usage. We appreciate your feedback and will use your comments to improve the experience for future guests. In the meantime, we wish you safe and happy travels.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews