We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
pendred9
Norwich, United Kingdom

Lovely place just needed more time with the elephants

Review of Elephant Hills
4.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 24 Feb 2024
Wonderful location with stunning views, staff and food all excellent. Our tent was definitely what I would describe as glamping ! Stayed for two nights and the excursions were great, only disappointing thing is that we had our elephant experience within a couple of hours of our arrival and that was it .. would have been lovely if there were further opportunities to interact or see them.
Date of stay: February 2024
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
4.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Resident Manager Elephant Hills, Other at Elephant Hills, responded to this review
Responded 26 Feb 2024
Dear Khun pendred9,

Thank you for staying with us at the Elephant Hills Tented Camp, and for taking time to leave such a nice review here on Tripadvisor. We are very happy to hear your comments on the location and the accommodation, good food and staffs and that your overall experience was great!

Our programs are designed to best fit all guests the activities and they do not feel overwhelming and exhausted throughout the day and night. We would like all guests to always embrace spending energy to all adventures around the camp and return home with "one in the life time" memory presantly indeed.

We hope to welcome you to visit us and our elephants here in Khao Sok soon again!

Warmest regards,

Elephant Hills Team
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Nearby Hotels
Earn rewards for every stay
  • Agoda.com
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
4.9 km from Elephant Hills
Free Wifi
Free parking
  • Agoda.com
  • eDreams
9.9 km from Elephant Hills
Free Wifi
Free parking
  • Expedia
  • Hotels.com
  • Agoda.com
10.0 km from Elephant Hills
Free Wifi
Free parking
D
  • Expedia
  • Hotels.com
  • Agoda.com
8.8 km from Elephant Hills
Free parking
Restaurant
  • Expedia
  • Hotels.com
  • Agoda.com
9.7 km from Elephant Hills
Free parking
Restaurant
  • Agoda.com
  • eDreams
10.8 km from Elephant Hills
Free Wifi
Restaurant
  • Official Hotel Site
  • Agoda.com
10.9 km from Elephant Hills
Free Wifi
Pool
Perle des Jungle, Hotel Khao Sok & Spa
  • Expedia
  • Agoda.com
  • Hotels.com
9.9 km from Elephant Hills
Free Wifi
Free parking
Pool with mountains in the background
  • Agoda.com
  • eDreams
10.7 km from Elephant Hills
Free Wifi
Free parking
Deluxe Tree House
  • Agoda.com
  • eDreams
10.6 km from Elephant Hills
Free parking
Restaurant
View more hotels in Khao Sok National Park
Reviews (2,859)
Filter reviews
2,859 results
Traveller rating
2,492
259
72
25
11
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
2,492
259
72
25
11
Show reviews that mention
All reviews floating camp elephant experience jungle trek main camp amazing experience cooking demonstration local school children local market the river whole experience bucket list evening entertainment tented accommodation night experience from start to finish once in a lifetime guide sam
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
79 - 84 of 2,859 reviews
Reviewed 18 February 2024

Wonderful experience. We travelled around Thailand and were fortunate to have a 2 night stay here. The whole experience was amazing staff are so nice and friendly, the tent was very good, selection of food and drinks excellent and the experiences whilst there are well worth a visit. Kong was our guide and she was amazing, thoroughly loved this place!

Date of stay: February 2024
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Nats21_west
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Resident Manager Elephant Hills, Other at Elephant Hills, responded to this reviewResponded 19 February 2024

Dear Khun Nats,

Warmest greetings from our peaceful jungle retreat, the Elephant Hills Tented Camp!

We all feel most humbled reading your amazing review, it was certainly a pleasure welcoming you at the camps and genuinely look after you.

Your kind words will be relayed to our dedicated team. Guide Kong will be super excited to be shared your compliment especailly. She is indeed one of our best hosts with high level of service mind and Thai hospitality.

We all hope to have the pleasure of your return in our lush jungle soon.

Kind regards,

Elephant Hills Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 February 2024

Elephant Hills (EH) is amazing, full stop! We travelled as a family of 8 with 4 adults and 4 kids of various ages from 16 to 8 years old and we were on the Jungle & Lake Camp Safari experience spending one night at the Elephant Camp and one night on the lake.

Firstly, our guide Tam, who was with us for the three days, was brilliant and looked after everyone, especially our 8 year old Anna, really well. All EH staff are very friendly, really professional and super helpful. You can feel the team ethos and commitment to the purpose of EH is something very important to everyone, we really liked this.

The elephant experience is fantastic and the kids loved every minute of it, very informative and ethically done ensuring that the welfare of the elephants is always No. 1 priority. We got to spend time getting to know each of the elephants then preparing their food and feeding them. Lots of opportunities for group photos and videos. The elephant experience, obviously, was the main draw for our family to go to Elephant Hills but all the other activities were amazing too, especially the jungle trek in Khao Sok National Park when at the Lake Camp.

Food at both camps was served in buffet format and was excellent, a mixture of Thai food as well as stuff that are more staple for the kids etc. Whilst this is an all inclusive experience you have to pay for any drinks (tea, coffee, water all free) - these are all reasonably priced in comparison with other "standard" hotels we stayed at on our holiday. We had read reviews which talked about only being able to pay only in cash and this had us in a bit of a panic before we arrived as we try to do most things electronically these days, but it was pretty painless in reality - you do have to settle your bill at both the Elephant Camp and Lake Camp separately but the staff make sure its very easy to check out. We would advise you take more than you think you will need for peace of mind. (Some feedback for EH - given you have good WiFi at the Elephant Camp i think you should consider accepting card payments here and remain cash only at Lake Camp) For a family of 3 (as part of the group of 8) we spent just under £100 or 4,000THB in the three days although we didn't buy souvenirs. Having additional THB for tips for the staff, which are all shared, is important too we felt.

Both camps are very well laid out but for us the Lake Camp was amazing - the location, the fact its a floating camp so you feel some bobbing and the opportunity to sit out in the evening just outside your tent to gaze up at the stars (we had a cloudless night) and listen to the noise of the jungle was pretty mind blowing. The tents we very well kitted out and the bathroom facilities especially were really good. However we arrived at Lake Camp on Valentines Day and the team had made a huge effort, both with the communal area and in the tents - when we checked in to our tent we found a wonderful towel arrangement and flower arrangement celebrating Valentines Day. A lovely touch.

Overall we would say EH is one of the best experiences we have had on our travels. My wife and I have travelled extensively before we had our family and we have always loved the more adventure holiday with lots of activities and sightseeing, especially in nature but this was the first adventure holiday experience we have taken our 8 year old and we were slightly apprehensive. She just loved it and what made it special for us was the EH staff intuitively knew this and always made sure she was front and centre and felt safe. In saying this they also helped us push her boundaries and got her involved interactively with the wildlife. We never at any time felt uncomfortable, its all very well done.

Finally, if you thinking of going to EH, you should definitely go. You wont regret it!

Date of stay: February 2024
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank ScottCat07
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Resident Manager Elephant Hills, Other at Elephant Hills, responded to this reviewResponded 19 February 2024

Dear Khun ScottCat07,

Warmest greetings from the Jungle Camp! Thank you very much for taking the time to share such an excellent review of your recent experience at the Elephant Hills Tented Camp. It was an absolute pleasure to have you staying with us and allowing us the opportunity to share our special locations with you and your family!

We are delighted to read how much you enjoyed every minute of your stay and everything we have to offer. The detailed description of the entire experience you have shared touches on so much of the beauty of our facilities. My team is very lucky to call this one-of-kind destination experience, and we agree that the combination of every aspect in the camp, from the natural surroundings, tents, activities, meals, elephants and the Thai hospitality, makes this place incomparable. Guide Tam will be super happy to know how much you enjoyed her excellent and attentive work.

We very much enjoyed connecting and sharing a bit of our magic with you as well. Once again, thank you for having chosen to stay with us. We all, including the 'gentle giants' and all the animals, look forward to welcoming you back for another stay in the not-too-distant future.

Kind regards,

Elephant Hills Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 February 2024 via mobile

A wonderful place to visit. The tents were comfortable and had everything you would expect in a good hotel.
We were there for 4 days. The organisation was phenomenal. Sam our guide who was with us for all our day trips was amazing, so knowledgeable and enthusiastic. He was Also entertaining and made sure we were fully briefed right up to our departure. All the activities were great. We saw and experienced so much. The food was also excellent. Elephant Hills was the highlight of our Thailand tour. A big thanks to Sam and all the staff.

Date of stay: February 2024
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank jaggededge2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Resident Manager Elephant Hills, Other at Elephant Hills, responded to this reviewResponded 17 February 2024

Dear Khun David W,

Warmest greetings from the Elephant Hills Tented Camp!

We are delighted to learn our unique jungle camp have served you very well, thank you for sharing your words with the online community!

We indeed offer a one of a kind experience, from endless views across the tent and facilities at Khao Sok, local discoveries and adventures, delicious food, to magical encounters with our gentle giants.

Your kind words have been relayed to our rangers, especially your tour guide - Sam, and we all hope to have the opportunity of welcoming you back for more amazing experiences! Please contact us directly anytime if we can be of any help.

Kind regards,

Elephant Hills Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 February 2024

Brilliant and slightly unexpected.
We were met at Elephant Hills by our guide for the duration of our stay - Kong. She was fantastic and was so knowledgeable.
I had no idea what to expect and folllowing arrival we got changed, had lunch and went straight out for time with the elephants followed by a gentle canoe down the Sok river.
Our tent was really nice with mod cons. The quality of the food was excellent too.
Perhaps the only disappointment was the 'Jungle trek'. As you're in a national park, they legally can only take you into the land belonging to Elephant Hills, so the trek part felt a bit underwhelming, but that's picking fault in an otherwise well paced and well organised 3 days.

Date of stay: February 2024
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Sam_on_hols
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Resident Manager Elephant Hills, Other at Elephant Hills, responded to this reviewResponded 16 February 2024

Dear Khun Sam_on_hols,

Warm greetings from the Elephant Hills Tented Camp! We appreciate your feedback and thank you for writing in. Our tropical-surrounded destination is a unique experience in the heart of the Southern Thai Jungles, and we’re delighted to see that your getaway was beautifully met.

We are truly grateful for your wonderful feedback about the facilities and activities, your dining experience, and our service. We are committed to consistently delivering a memorable experience for our guests, and your comments and appreciation are the greatest motivation and reward for all of us, particularly guide Kong.

Thank you once again for your valuable feedback. We look forward to welcoming you back to the camp in the future for another memorable experience.

Kind regards,

Elephant Hills Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 February 2024

Absolutely amazing!! Not one complaint. Stayed 2 nights and 3 days and had the best time ever. Our guide was Chief and she was amazing. So knowledgeable and friendly knowing all our names after about 1.2 hour!! So well organised, fab tents and great food. A great sociable dining hall to share stories about your day . Do not hesitate just book it

Room tip: Trainers fine for trekking , flip flops fine for other activities
Date of stay: February 2024
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank boroladyl
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Resident Manager Elephant Hills, Other at Elephant Hills, responded to this reviewResponded 15 February 2024

Dear Khun boroladyl,

Thank you very much for your wonderful review of the Elephant Hills Tented Camp.

We are totally thrilled to learn that you enjoyed your overall stay, the tent, activities, facilities, and the food.

Again, thank you very much for your kind words and we will surely pass on to the team whom will be pleased to know that their service are well recognized by you, in particular guide Chief.

We all including the 'Gentle Giants' look forward to the opportunity of welcoming you back to our camp again for another unforgettable experiences in the not too distant future.

Warmest regards,

Elephant Hills Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews