We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,314)
Filter reviews
1,314 results
Traveller rating
759
305
97
70
83
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
759
305
97
70
83
Show reviews that mention
All reviews sausage country park craig y nos bar area wedding venue ghost tour dog friendly hotel wedding breakfast bridal suite groupon deal evening meal ghost hunt old building welsh cakes my partner dog owners patti bar
Filter
Updating list...
8 - 13 of 1,314 reviews
Reviewed 12 September 2018

We came to the castle for an asian wedding that had several functions, and was one of the first ones at this venue.

It is located in nice surroundings and relatively easy to get to, and was nice to have all the functions in one area. There were all well managed by the team and especially by Donna in ensuring all the functions were kept on time.

our room was nice ( albeit probably priced competitively) but i agree with others that lighting at night outside the room and in fountain area going to our room was very very minimal and that is the biggest recommendation. its just an accident waiting to happen.

the staff were amazing and did their best to deliver all service with a smile.
having minimal wifi was brilliant as people actually socialised

some things could do with a refurb eg toilets in the dance area we had, and some of the carpets, but the conservatory room was the best room.

seems there is a continuous theme about the food in other reviews, and the same applied to our weekend. there was a big miscommunication between various people, and although resolved slowly but surely, it was something that those affected will always remember about the wedding.

overall, the best thing about this weekend is the staff who are absolutely fantastic, from the chaps putting tables and chairs away outside, to the bar staff and waitresses. they go out of their way to please guests and many of them commented to us about how much they enjoyed the wedding atmosphere too, which was nice to hear.

would very much recommend anyone having their function here as its very convenient for guests who want to stay up drinking dancing socialising, but there are a few things to improve on.

  • Stayed: August 2018, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank BritishAsianfamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MichaelLudwig, Manager at Craig-y-Nos Castle, responded to this reviewResponded 12 September 2018

Thank you for taking the time to respond. It is good of you to acknowledge the positives, especially the venue itself and the excellent staff. that looked after all the guests.

Our wifi in the bar, function room, lounge and reception sadly does not extend to the Conservatory or Bedrooms but it is great that you used this to your advantage.

It is acknowledged that the food (specifically some of the vegetarian dishes and meat based dishes were not as described and we sincerely apologies for this - naturally all the comments from guests and the bride and groom have been taken on board and can be used to ensure that future events are planned and prepared correctly.

Your recommendation is well received.

Thank you M!chael

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 September 2018 via mobile

We visited craig y nos castle and stayed overnight for a freinds wedding there. The staff were amazing,freindly,helpful and always smiling, the food was very good and the setting was lovely for the couple who were getting married however after paying £150 for one night bed and breakfast we found that certain lights in our room didnt work and others just worked when they felt like it, the chair in our room was broken and there was mould on the ceiling in the en suite shower, the room was also quite cold. The lighting in the corridor outside room 34 only one of the two lights worked which meant we couldnt see our lock to put our key in,cobwebs could be seen almost everywhere in the hotel,wiFi was very poor .our room was very clean and the bed and pillows were very comfortable but to be honest we paid a quarter of the price the previous night to stay at a b and b and they were of a better standard and had good WiFi although not as beautiful as Craig y nos I think if we returned to the area i think we would choose the cheaper accommodation

Stayed: September 2018, travelled with friends
1  Thank LynneJ104
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MichaelLudwig, Manager at Craig-y-Nos Castle, responded to this reviewResponded 10 September 2018

Thank you for your comments. I am glad to read that positively, the staff looked after you well and that you enjoyed the food.

Our rates are in line with that of other Castle Hotel venues offering exclusive use, although i can concur that if the room is not clean you are not getting value for money. I have spoken to our housekeeping this morning who are undergoing some deep cleans and for our maintenance to look at the shower seals.

The lights too will be looked at and i have asked our Reception to add this to our maintenance task list.

Internet in the Castle is limited to free wifi in our Reception area, Lounge, Function Room and Bar and was recently upgraded so is faster - i am unsure why you were unable to connect but apologise for the inconvenience.

Regards M!chael

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 September 2018 via mobile

Omg have paid less for a more luxury room plus shareing with six and paying the amount is shocking room not that clean very dated shocked by the room for the price view from window is a main road looking up at hill with dump truck wounderfull no not good been around world and this is the worst place yet

Stayed: September 2018, travelled with family
2  Thank Mark J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MichaelLudwig, Manager at Craig-y-Nos Castle, responded to this reviewResponded 9 September 2018

Thank you for your kind comment, it is a shame that you felt that the family room was not clean, and am sure that had this been brought to receptions attention, we could have had this resolved. However, i can appreciate that the room should be clean and tidy in advance.

Whilst i appreciate the fact that the view might not have been the best, the Horse Riding School and Stables opposite the Caste in the other side of the road is something that we cannot sadly do much about.

The Castle offers affordable rooms commensurate with other Castles in Wales, offering Weddings and Events which we try to keep in an antique and historic manner.

M!chael

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2018

Craig y Nos castle in the Brecon Beacons, a lovely time, room was very clean & tidy, the staff were friendly & helpfull.
The castle is dog friendly & even give dogs a sausage for breakfast, there are lots af walks & the area itself is very picturesque.
The only bad point for me was lack of internet connectivity & poor phone signal, but if you’re looking to get away from all that then go there

Stayed: September 2018, travelled with family
1  Thank Stuf1973
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MichaelLudwig, Manager at Craig-y-Nos Castle, responded to this reviewResponded 7 September 2018

Thank you for your comments especially regarding the staff.

Great to hear you like the area. Yes, sadly our free wifi is available in our Bar, Function Room, Breakfast Room, Lounge and Reception area and due to the location at the foot of the valley, mobile signals are patchy.

That said, the fresh area, the mountains and scenery no doubt make up for it.

Regards

M!chael

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 September 2018 via mobile

Just returned from the castle after a two night stay. Lovely setting and walks. Met some lovely people and pets. When we visit again would book a room with a bath not just shower. Good food staff very good particularly lady that served us breakfast not sure of her name. Lights by reception need to be on as very dark at night and I nearly tripped. But overall a lovely place to visit and weather was good too.

Stayed: September 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank hallelujah10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MichaelLudwig, Manager at Craig-y-Nos Castle, responded to this reviewResponded 7 September 2018

Thank for your comments, great to read that you enjoyed the food and found the service to be good.

I will pass your comments to our Maintenance and Housekeeping about the lighting.

Glad you enjoyed overall.

Best Wishes

M!chael

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews