We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,325)
Filter reviews
1,325 results
Traveller rating
768
305
98
70
84
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
768
305
98
70
84
Show reviews that mention
All reviews sausage country park craig y nos wedding venue ghost tour dog friendly hotel bar area bridal suite wedding breakfast evening meal groupon deal ghost hunt old building welsh cakes dog owners patti bar my partner
Filter
Updating list...
477 - 482 of 1,325 reviews
Reviewed 30 November 2015 via mobile

We stayed one night with dinner and breakfast also tour after breakfast . We enjoyed it and food was lovely , staff although not many were very friendly and informative , found certain areas of castle very spooky ( toilets in basement and theatre ) really felt a male presence there . Our room was basic but very clean . The tour was great and the guide very good and humorous about its colourful past . I hope they complete all the renovations it is a wonderful building .

Stayed: November 2015, travelled as a couple
Thank Annbarge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MichaelLudwig, Manager at Craig-y-Nos Castle, responded to this reviewResponded 3 December 2015

Thanks for such good feedback, It is good to hear you found our staff helpful and also that you found the tour to be great. Not sure what male presence was around – often it is either a small girl crying or Adelina Patti singing.

Best Wishes

M!chael

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 November 2015

Really enjoyed our short stay here, very impressed with everything about it. Beautiful romantic building and a warm welcome by lovely, friendly staff. It was a very cold night but huge fires in every room made it very cosy. Dinner was first class, my husband and I had different dishes each course and they were all superb.
Bedroom had everything one would need, very clean and most importantly a comfortable bed. Bathroom huge with a big bathtub and nice big towels.
The castle is so interesting and the theatre an absolute treasure, I do admire the owners for all the effort they have put into the castle and it is such a shame that they can't get any help with the restoration. especially to preserve the wonderful theatre.
Wished we had time to have stayed longer, hopefully return again.

  • Stayed: November 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Lynn C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MichaelLudwig, Manager at Craig-y-Nos Castle, responded to this reviewResponded 29 November 2015

What a great review, I am glad you enjoyed everything about the Castle and that you had a good time. I also find your compliments about our staff fantastic and am sure they too will love your praise.

The kitchen too, will be please about your food comment.

Alas we do need guests such as yourself to enjoy their stay and return in order to keep the Castle going!!

Regards

M!chael

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 November 2015

A unique hotel amidst Brecon Beacons leaves us feeling we've been somewhere special. Our room was comfortable with a really spacious and luxurious bathroom. What a power shower and heritage bathtub! Enough room for us with our 2 dogs for a couple of nights. The bar and other public rooms have such huge potential and views. An unfinished project of historical importance - as a home for Adelina Patti and later for a sanatorium. Great access for us & them via the secondary entrance - very convenient when dodging the rainshowers. The history tour with Nicole was brilliant - not to be missed - especially the 360 views from the rooftop.

Room Tip: Newer extension is much warmer. Views to enjoy from the older section.
  • Stayed: November 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Diane C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MichaelLudwig, Manager at Craig-y-Nos Castle, responded to this reviewResponded 27 November 2015

Thank you for your review of the Castle, it is great to hear you enjoyed the Castle and its comfortable room with spacious facilities both for humans and enough room for your 4 legged friends.

Its great you enjoyed the history tour, and found it interesting along with understanding how we wish to move forward.

Regards & Best Wishes

M!chael

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 November 2015

We stayed 2 weeks ago on a dog friendly midweek 3 night special on a B&B basis. The room was great with a lounge so plenty of room for us and our 2 dogs. Lovely grounds and country park within walking distance from the castle. Unfortunately it rained a lot whilst we were there so we didn't get to explore as much as we might have done otherwise, but on the plus side it made for a lovely relaxing break. No phone signal or WiFi in the room, but WiFi in the lounge and bar where the dogs were made to feel very welcome. All dogs get a sausage in the morning too! The buffet breakfast was lovely and because of the weather we ended up eating at the Castle on the first night, the meal was so good we ate there on our 2nd night too and will definitely consider the DB&B option next time (oh yes, definitely going back). We had 1 good weather day and took a drive to the Mumbles and toured the coast, can highly recommend Langland Bay for a dog friendly beach, Mumbles was a bit rocky. Special shout out to dog friendly Cafe Restaurant "The Mermaid" down by the Mumbles, which let us inside for a drink and a meal, out of the wind, with the dogs. The castle is full of charm and some areas are still under renovation, I found the history folder in the room particularly interesting. They do a tour which we didn't go on as dogs are not able to attend this activity, but by all accounts it is a very interesting walk. The staff are very friendly and helpful and even managed to supply us with 2 dog bowls as we somehow lost ours off the roof of the car when we left our home - oops!

  • Stayed: November 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank purplekd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MichaelLudwig, Manager at Craig-y-Nos Castle, responded to this reviewResponded 27 November 2015

Thank you for your informative review of Craig Y Nos Castle. I am glad that you all (and your dogs) enjoyed the Castle and the surrounding area.
Its great that you found the Castles food to be enjoyable both in the evening and at breakfast – and its good to hear your dogs enjoyed too!!

I am glad that you found the Castles history to be interesting as well.

Its great that you are looking to return, and am sure that we would be able to give you a tour of the Castle – minus some of the hard to reach areas.

Regards

M!chael

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 November 2015

We stayed overnight at Craig y Nos in late October. Having read some reviews we wondered what we were in for but we needn't have worried.
Craig y Nos castle with it's impressive setting in the Brecon Beacons makes for a very good first impression.
Inside the hotel is a fascinating rambling building and it's true that in places it looks a bit "tired" but this doesn't detract from the charm, maybe it even adds to it. If you only like the standard and anonymous layout and décor of chain hotels this may not be for you but if you want something different with a bit of character you'll certainly find it here.
The building is full of stories and the theatre is definitely worth a look.
As a hotel we found it very comfortable, we didn't have a room with a view but it was very clean with a modern bathroom.
The menu wasn't extensive but gave a fair choice and the food itself was excellent, the cooked breakfast where you can help yourself was great.
Friendly and helpful staff added to a very enjoyable stay. It is a dog friendly hotel but if like us you are not dog owners or not even necessarily dog lovers, don't be put off, we found the hotel very clean and quiet.
If you're considering a stay at Craig y Nos we'd say "go for it" and enjoy something different - and good.

  • Stayed: October 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AndreaYM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MichaelLudwig, Manager at Craig-y-Nos Castle, responded to this reviewResponded 24 November 2015

It is appreciative to hear your comments. I am glad that you found the Castle to be impressive and indeed better than some reviews may have indicated. We try to portray an antique, historic and romantic ambience where possible, but also to allow our guests to mingle within the Castle as if it were their homes.

I am glad you found the Castle and its rooms comfortable, clean with modern bathroom facilities.

As too are your good comments regarding the food.

Thank you for your remarks regarding the staff.

Regards and Best Wishes

M!chael

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews