We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This Lazy Fox is worth hunting out”
Review of The Lazy Fox

The Lazy Fox
Ranked #1 of 4 Restaurants in Mark Cross
Price range: US$7 - US$48
Description: Recently acquired by Elite Pubs, The Lazy Fox (previously known as The Mark Cross Inn) will be officially re-opening its doors on the Monday 17th May!
Restaurant details
Description: Recently acquired by Elite Pubs, The Lazy Fox (previously known as The Mark Cross Inn) will be officially re-opening its doors on the Monday 17th May!
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Very nice dinner (sea bream for me and steak for him) in the newly done up and recently taken over by Elite Pubs, Lazy Fox.

We were really well looked after by Amelia and Max who served us efficiently and with a smile and friendly chat.

Date of visit: August 2021
Thank 307nitar
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elitepubs, Guest Relations Manager at The Lazy Fox, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thank you for your review. We will pass this positive feedback on to Amelia and Max.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a reviewReviews (163)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

18 - 22 of 163 reviews

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We visited the "Lazy Fox" (what a silly name - what was wrong with The Mark Cross?) for the first time yesterday. Their website is rather forbidding - making sure you know that you can only stay for 90 minutes - but we booked online.
The staff were all very pleasant and the food, when it eventually arrived, was good but - my goodness - the service was poor. We were sat at our table for 15 minutes before we were even allowed to order drinks. BIG MISTAKE - the person who showed us to our table should have taken our drinks order at the same time. It was 20 minutes before we could order food and then an interminable 40 minute wait for the food to arrive.
There is no way that we could have had two courses - let alone three - in our permitted 90 minutes slot. The bill had a "discretionary" service charge added. Discretionary?? It was as well that they did, though, as few people would leave a tip for such poor service. The Lazy Fox seems to be suffering from insufficient staff training and inadequate, active management.
Apart from a poster we could see no Covid precautions whatsoever. There was no anti-bacterial hand gel and nobody - staff or customers - wore a face covering at any time.

Date of visit: August 2021
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Robert G
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elitepubs, Guest Relations Manager at The Lazy Fox, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thank you for your feedback. We will take your comments on board.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Thoroughly enjoyed our visit to The Lazy Fox, as we always do. My partner had the Halloumi followed by the Steak which looked amazing. I wish I could have stayed all day and had the rest of the menu.
Our servers, Alexzandra and Max, were both superb and deserve full credit.

Wonderful job squad.

In the words of a great Blonde Johnny, "Bravo".

Date of visit: August 2021
Thank TheIon_Man
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elitepubs, Guest Relations Manager at The Lazy Fox, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thank you for your feedback. We are happy to hear you enjoyed your time with us. Max and Alexzandra will be very pleased to hear this.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Always a friendly greeting from GM Molly when you visit the Fox. Top service from Max and Alexzandra, both attentive & efficient yet non evasive. All meals presented beautifully. Recommend the halloumi fries, duck magnet and strawberry creme brûlée. Thanks guys.

Date of visit: August 2021
Thank S3234HZmeganb
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elitepubs, Guest Relations Manager at The Lazy Fox, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thank you for taking the time to write this review. We will pass your positive feedback on to our team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Service was great despite how busy it was.
Starters as portions were quite small
Prices were fair overall but only selected from the Sunday roasts list.
Yorkshire puddings quite dry.
Meats were ok but didnt have much in the way of flavour.

Date of visit: August 2021
Thank 391sebastianl
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elitepubs, Guest Relations Manager at The Lazy Fox, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thank you very much for leaving us a review. I will forward on your comments to the executive chef for improvements on the roast dishes.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Lazy Fox also viewed

Been to The Lazy Fox? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in Hong Kong. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.