We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Booking.com
Trip.com
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (83)
Filter reviews
83 results
Traveller rating
61
10
9
0
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
61
10
9
0
3
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
5 - 10 of 83 reviews
Reviewed 13 September 2019

Horrible cheap breakfast, Room was OK, not fantastic. No staff. No help. The location at the hotel on the map was perfect but the actual address was away from another building. You can hear all the noises, voices from common areas. Bad value for money.

Date of stay: June 2019
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank guelsnr
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 19 August 2019

A sleepover in Burano is a must for every traveller who searches for romantic places. Burano is much more charming by night when the crowds of tourist were already gone and you can enjoy the authentic little island. Casa Burano is just a perfect place to stay - very well designed and maintained. The way they serve the breakfast is really surprising and adorable. We very much enjoyed the room on the ground floor because we had a mini backyard.

Date of stay: August 2019
Thank mariaaC5084ZT
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 23 February 2019 via mobile

Lovely stay as Casa Burano, it was like having our own apartment on the island and the breakfast deliveried every morning was perfect. Burano itself was a beautiful island and only 30mins on the boat to Venice. After 5 all the tourists left and we had the whole island to ourselves...

Date of stay: July 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Squidandlemon
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matteo B, Proprietario at Casa Burano, responded to this reviewResponded 1 May 2019

Dear guest,

we thank you for taking the time to share you wonderful experience on tripadvisor, we are so glad to hearing
that you enjoy a wonderful stay in Burano and at Casa Burano

we hope to welcome you soon again to discover the rest of the Venetian lagoon.

with kind regards,

Audrey Di Fruscia
Resident manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2018

I have wanted to visit Burano for a long time and finally did recently. If I returned to Burano then I’d definitely book here again. I was here only for one night ... on my own as my husband wanted to go to a football match in another city. I came after a night in Venice. Sadly the weather wasn’t great and I had some difficulty finding the place (the address did not for some reason work on my google maps). The room was really nice and very modern but with a warm feeling. I had to leave very early so asked for breakfast not to be delivered to the basket in downstairs. The girl at reception was nice but not overly friendly and not as informative as perhaps she could have been.

The view from the window at 5.45 am the next morning was beautiful and I’d stay again just for that

Room tip: Not sure you can choose room but ask for a view
Date of stay: August 2018
Trip type: Travelled solo
Thank Maryhillmagyars
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matteo B, Proprietario at Casa Burano, responded to this reviewResponded 1 November 2018

Dear Mary,

I thank you very much for taking the time to write a positive note on our Casa Burano, I am pleased to hearing that you had a wonderful stay at Casa Burano.
The contents of your message is very helpful to increase the quality of our services, we will take them into account for the future.

with kind regards,

Audrey DF
Resident manager

Venissa - Casa Burano

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2018

"Casa Burano" describes a number of properties on the island managed by the Hotel Venissa on the neighbouring island of Mazzorbo. The information is difficult to fathom and the photographs intended to act as art work (eg of a chair leg or a sun ray across a marble floor) do little to inform you as to what you are actually booking. Paperwork is similarly muddled. Our Booking Com confirmation told us breakfast was not included and to check in at the hotel; a confirmation letter from the company told us breakfast would be delivered (it wasn't) and to check in at a location on the island - unhelpfully about 500 m from the boat landing stage - and we would subsequently have to trundle our cases back again to the property itself.

On the other hand the welcome from Sofia was very warm and she was very helpful when asked.

In many way it is delightful to stay in a quiet relatively untouristed corner of Burano. We had a tiny house (one up one down) with kitchenette which we thought would solve the problem of eating in the evenings (very few Burano restaurants open at night - those that do close early - and prices are around €75 - €100 per head). In fact the apartment was more style than substance. There was a very good bed and the tiny bathroom was entirely functional and acceptable. The air con is excellent - very adjustable and quiet running.

But the living/kitchen area is very basic. The sofa turned out to be a very uncomfortable sofa bed (why? You could not use the apartment for four as there is no other bathroom than the ensuite one!)

There is a basic table and four chairs (one with a wonky leg) and a very old cupboad completed the furnishings along with a bizarre umbrella stand - with no umbrella - who takes a full size umbrella on holidays anyway? We managed to use it as a makeshift coffee table!

But throughout the house there are just no surfaces to put anything. There is a good wardrobe but do take some hangers (just 6 were provided).

The kitchen lacked the most important thing - a serviceable fridge - the complimentary mini-bar is a nice touch - but not very practical. We did not use the two cooking rings (there is no oven or microwave). The coffee maker was effective and the supply of coffee just adequate and appreciated - though we ran out of normal tea - so take a few tea bags - also take a tea towel!

During our stay the local Spar supermarket was closed for renovations and there is no information pack in the property - though we did find a Coop and even better a friendly little general shop and green grocers just a few metres away along the canal to the rear of the house. .

I thought I had seen this marketed as de luxe - well de luxe it most certainly aint! It has character - Italians might call it art - but lacks practical comforts. Even the internal staircase - is stlyish but has no grab rail or bannister at all.

Trying to find somewhere for evening meals is a pain and one evening we basically went hungry because we did not get out early enough and everywhere seemed closed (Tuesday seems to be a rest day). We ate very well at Romano's and would recommend it.

We did investigate the hotel one evening but saw the up market restaurant was empty and the Osteria had one person in it. It did not look very enticing!

Overall I am curious about their business plan. They are aiming the hotel and restauarant at the top end of the market but the island cries out for somewhere for tourists to go when they don't want to spend €100 a head. And we are the same people of course - yes spend out one or two nights of your trip but the pocket and the digestion demands a break!

Burano itself is very small and can be overwhelmed by day trippers. But when they disappear it is quite enchanting. I enjoyed strolling out for breakfast rolls and being greeted by locals. Exploring Mazzorbo is quiet and very green. Torcello is busier and the boatloads seem to overwhelm it but it has some lovely restaurants and inns. If they open in the evenings then it is perhaps a better option to stay than Burano.

To and from Burano it is easy to avoid the crowded route 12 by going first to the end of the line and then taking the 14 to the Lido. The larger boats are more comfortable and offer better viewing.

Overall this is a worthy venture and worth a few days of anyone's time. But to go informed is to be more prepared. Definitely plan your evening meals ahead and do not rely on the "kitchenette" for home catering - in any case the living area is very unappealing and not somewhere you would want to spend an evening.

Room tip: Use the website but then request proper information.
Date of stay: June 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Steve005
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matteo B, Proprietario at Casa Burano, responded to this reviewResponded 1 November 2018

Dear Steve,

we thank you for taking the time to share your experience at La madonnina at Casa Burano, all the contents had been the object of our
best attention and care. Even if we are replying now, we took into account your comments, which helped us to improve the quality of our services.

La madonnina is a studio for a couple of guests, we do not sell it as a flta for 4 guests but only for family with children, being the bathroom upstairs

At time of check in our reception always provide full information regarding food possibilities and suggest to contact us for any further assistance from 9:00 till 21:00

It is a pity you did not try our osteria contemporanea, since it is one of the best known in the lagoon and prices are not much higher than
other restaurants in Burano and surroundings. Guests can have a dinner staring € 50 per person.

Burano is visited everyday by a lots of tourists from all over the world, all with different tastes, Venissa restaurant and Osteria are away from the tourists paths in the middle of the beautiful vineyard so this allows us to provide a different experience.

I am so sorry that your stay had not been as nice as you wish, our aim is to have our guests satisfied and when this not happened we
just hope that they come back to visit us again to experience our property differently.

with kind regards,

Audrey DF
Resident manager

Venissa - Casa Burano

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews