We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Review Highlights
Love Those Penguins

My wife and I recently visited Fortuna Bay on an expedition cruise from Ushuaia to Cape Town. We... read more

Reviewed 28 March 2019
Alaska23_Family
,
Eagle River, Alaska
via mobile
King Penquins Colony

We have landed on Fortuna Bay as part of our expedition cruise. King penquins preferred to nest at... read more

Reviewed 1 February 2019
YTCHENG
,
Hong Kong, China
Read all 21 reviews
  
Reviews (21)
Filter reviews
21 results
Traveller rating
21
0
0
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
21
0
0
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews birds cruise world expedition antarctica island
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 21 reviews
Reviewed 29 March 2019 via mobile

My wife and I recently visited Fortuna Bay on an expedition cruise from Ushuaia to Cape Town. We went ashore on Zodiacs and proceeded to thousands of King Penguins - what a sight! Well worth a visit to see these beautiful and inquisitive penguins.

Date of experience: March 2019
1  Thank Alaska23_Family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 1 February 2019

We have landed on Fortuna Bay as part of our expedition cruise. King penquins preferred to nest at long and open beaches with large swell. Thus this bay was home to gentoo penquins, king penquins, fur seals and many birds. This place should be a "must see" sight during South Georgia visit.

Date of experience: January 2019
1  Thank YTCHENG
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 28 January 2019

We visited Fortuna Bay as part of an expedition cruise with Hurtigruten.
South Georgia is amazing. Here at Fortuna Bay we walked to a king penguin colony of about 7000 pairs. There were a lot of chicks too, and many seals. The wildlife is just great and we loved watching the penguins.
Later in the day our ship was repositioned to the other side of the Bay, where we dropped off all the people doing the Shackleton Walk over the hill to Stromness. It is actually only the last section of walk Shackleton did to find help for his stranded men.

Date of experience: January 2019
Thank roaming_kiwi58
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 31 December 2018 via mobile

We visited South Georgia with Pontant, thus was our favourite landing in South Georgia, we also landed in Salisbury which was full of wildlife and chaotic with charging fur seals, and St Andrews Bay with its stunning setting, we loved Fortuna Bay, with its flowing streams, it was so peaceful and calm. A slice of paradise, may it long be protected and never changed

Date of experience: December 2018
1  Thank GClife
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 27 April 2018

Fortuna Bay is the starting point for the infamous Shackleton walk (really only a small part of the 36 hours walk Shackleton and his men did). It starts on the beach which, like any beach in South-Georgia, is full of fur seals. After a steep climb you walk through a bit of mountainous terrain with lakes and glaciers. After a couple of hours you descend into Stromness Harbour. A beautiful walk in a beautiful area.

Date of experience: January 2018
3  Thank Tissa010
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews