We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Review Highlights
Nice and relaxing experience!

After reading the reviews this place really was a positive surprise! We took a public bus from... read more

Reviewed 11 November 2018
Meri1986
,
Helsinki, Finland
via mobile
Better swim in the river ...

The location is nice. There is a river that you can access without paying the $2 fee. The thermal... read more

Reviewed 21 August 2018
Stavros M
,
New Zealand
Read all 69 reviews
  
Reviews (69)
Filter reviews
69 results
Traveller rating
12
33
15
6
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
12
33
15
6
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviews hot springs the river the bus gravel road bring water follow the path hot pools in town boquete minutes hike car sign rocks entrance land yard
Filter
Updating list...
40 - 45 of 69 reviews
Reviewed 24 November 2013

Most people get to Caldera, take the right down the gravel road to the cement dam (they're constructing a hydroelectric dam), and park up. You can cross the dam and park closer to the trail, but there is more security by the guard shack. Cross over the river and reach the hot springs signs at the dead end. There is a rock painted with an arrow pointing left for the hot springs (those most reviewers go to at someone's house). The other direction takes about 1.5 hours of walking, crossing the river in two spots, and takes you to Los Pozos de Abuela, which are more the local favorite. From there, continue down the road, wade across the river (no deeper than shins), where they're building a bridge. Continue along the river proper to another crossing where you can take the suspended and suspect bridge or wade across again (knee-deep). Then reach the point where the trail cuts into the hillside and you can walk down along the horse/cow track (very muddy), or walk along the upper sides billy-goat style. Pass a few houses on your left and always keep to the right. Follow the second sign to Abuela to the right. Reach a closed gate and go through it. Continue down to the hot springs about 5 minutes further. You may be asked to pay $5. This option makes it a longer and more adventurous outing than walking 15 minutes to a few shared baths. After the hot hike, follow the many paths to the sandy banks of the large river and go for a cool swim!

Date of experience: November 2013
1  Thank sushibear1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 October 2013

My husband and I decided to visit this place part of a scenic tour. The place is only accessible by car or organized transportation. You also need to walk a good 15 minutes to get there in very rocky terrain, and dodge horse poop on the way. Anyone with mobility issues should avoid this trip. When we got there, there were no changing rooms. The access to the two small puddles is also tricky and slippery. The water is not deep, maybe mid waist when you sit down. I say, stay away, there are other things to do in Boquete.

Date of experience: October 2013
1  Thank Viviane F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2013

Only in Panama can one hike to a front yard, paid just $2, and jump into the hot springs in their front yard! The hike was fantastic and easy (even with a bad knee). Once we arrived, we were welcomed... and even one of the little girls came and sat with us for awhile. The springs are not that big... and the river is a quick walk down a slight hill. There were about 10 other people down there with us... and we just made new friends. We didn't feel rushed or anything.... good times!

Date of experience: July 2013
3  Thank TravelingGal_69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2013

Nice little hike up to the hot springs, but I will agree with other posts-- the actual hot springs don't hold many people and so I felt a little rushed because other people were waiting. But let's be honest... sitting in a hot spring on a really hot, humid day made me feel like my face was going to melt off, so we didn't hang in there too long. We actually had more fun over in the river that is very, very close by. And this is just an observation, but we met the monkey that snatches stuff and it was with his owner. Not cool. Keep an eye on your stuff.

Date of experience: April 2013
1  Thank Ilene I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 January 2013

You should be able to walk up and down hills in a hot, arid climate for this visit. Once at the river there is a fair amount of walking on rocks. No food or drink available--bring your water.
The drive to the hot springs: Drive 11 Km south of Boquete and turn left just before the overhead walkway. Stay to the left when the road divides. Keep driving (about 6-7 Km) until you reach the town of Caldera. Once you get to Caldera drive through the town and look for the signs to the hot springs. Turn right onto a gravel road and drive about 2+ Km. You can park at the area before the cement water canal and walk about 10-15 min to the hot springs. Where the road splits, take the left turn. Initially the road is hot, hilly and dry, but once you go left it becomes tree covered and breezy with forested areas on both sides. When you arrive to the little farm across the stream on your right someone will come out and charge $2 per person.
The actual springs are lined with rocks and you can sit and relax in them. Did I mention to wear your bathing suits? A man in a bathing suite (?Jose) showed us the various springs (4) and was eager for us to enjoy them. Then he demonstrated how we could sit in a hot spring, then go into the river (COLD).
All in all, the shade makes it a very relaxing place to be. It's a lovely setting and there is a constant pleasant breeze. Be cautious about your belongings. There is a semi-tame monkey who hangs around and will take your things.

Date of experience: January 2013
4  Thank kibbe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews