We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (2,488)
Filter reviews
2,488 results
Traveller rating
1,525
773
148
25
17
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,525
773
148
25
17
Show reviews that mention
All reviews old quebec espresso machine great location bread pudding within walking distance quiet street on site parking croissants free coffee stay there again brick wall electric fireplace breakfast room junior suite quiche hard boiled eggs wine bar
Filter
Updating list...
806 - 811 of 2,488 reviews
Reviewed 6 February 2016

We had the opportunity to stay at Le Champlain during the Winter Carnival. Staff were friendly and accommodating. Everything was very clean. Beds were comfortable . Breakfast was delicious . Fresh croissants especially good. We would stay here again and recommend to other travelers.

  • Stayed: February 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank cattailfarm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thibaut G, General Manager at Le Champlain Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 February 2016

Dear cattailfarm,

Thank you very much for contributing a wonderful review! We are very happy that you found the room to your liking! Knowing how important a good sleep is, we use only high-quality mattresses and bedding! Thank you for your recommendation and we hope to welcome you again on your next visit!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 February 2016 via mobile

Visited Quebec city for the opening weekend of the the Winter Carnival. The Hotel was perfectly located with easy access to the activities.

Staff was friendly and helpful and the room was updated and clean. There is limited parking for a fee, but plenty of parking nearby and underground.

A great place to stay if you want to be within the old city (upper) and reasonably priced. Would definitely come back again.

Stayed: February 2016, travelled with friends
Thank Michael F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thibaut G, General Manager at Le Champlain Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 February 2016

Dear Michael F,

Thank you for your review of your recent stay! As you mentioned, we are ideally situated within walking distance to the Winter Carnival venues. Located in the heart of the upper town, the Hotel Champlain is also a quick walk to attractions, restaurants and shops. Thank you for the wonderful comments about our staff—they strive to make your stay in Old Quebec a very memorable one. For our parking services, we always have a spot available, either self-park (limited spots) or valet service for the same price. Plus, we are near to the underground public parking garages ($). We are thrilled to read that you would come back to stay with us again, and we look forward to your next visit!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 February 2016

Overall, we found the hotel to be comfortable, and well run. Our room was small but comfortable. The bath towels were a bit rough to the skin, but not horrible. The breakfasts they provided were very well done - fresh eggs, croissants, herb potatoes, cereal, fromage, etc. They ran out of hot chocolate one day, but that was just a small inconvenience. The rooms were cleaned nicely. The location of the hotel was excellent, central to everything in the city. The parking lot was appreciated, especially in an area where parking is difficult. Our overall impression was favorable, and we will absolutely consider staying there again.

If I had anything negative to say, it would be this minor thing: the staff, particularly the front desk staff, was overall very nice and accommodating. Except for one person, a woman with glasses and dark long hair. When we returned to the parking lot, to a parking space that had been assigned to us (this after being asked to change from our original parking space we were assigned, which was fine), the new space was taken up by another car. No problem, understandable. It's just that when my wife went inside to inquire where we should park now, and the staff member I mentioned came outside, I found her tone with us to be a bit rude and condescending. Now, mind you, we had been told by friends who had visited Quebec City previously to expect that sort of thing, largely due to the language barrier. Yet, until that moment, we had experienced nothing but pure friendliness from all of the Quebecois we encountered throughout the city. This was the ONLY example of rudeness we encountered on our entire 4 night stay in QC. We didn't allow this to ruin our trip, of course, having experienced such kindness from the majority of people we met. But I would suggest that perhaps the management might wish to remind the staff that one small negative element can ruin an otherwise great experience for visitors (not for us, but for others, especially Americans sensitive to these things). A smile goes a long way.

Again, not too big a thing; overall, we really did enjoy our time in QC, and our stay at the Champlain. Close to EVERYTHING, restaurants, shopping, the funicular to the lower city, the Frontenac Hotel, etc. Free WIFI too! All while situated in a beautiful part of the old city. I heartily recommend to ignore those that say the locals can be rude - if you just try a little bit of French - Bonjour, merci bien, etc, your efforts will be rewarded by kindness.

We went dogsledding just outside of the city at Aventures Nord-Bec, and then to the Hotel de Glace (Hotel of Ice)...awesome! I also recommend you go during the winter carnival, as there is so much going on in the city...you will feel you have stepped back in time to a Christmas lit fairyland in many of the sections...so beautiful and romantic....GO!

Room Tip: Ask for room away from elevator
  • Stayed: January 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BandsOnTheRun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 February 2016

This hotel was perfect for our stay in Quebec this passed weekend. The hotel was in walking distance to all restaurants, bars and shops. I really liked that they offered parking. The only complaint that I have was when I booked i was told that the breakfast was included, and this was not true. We were charged for the breakfast and only credited if we didn't use the vouchers. The free breakfast was one of the reasons we chose this hotel only to find out it wasn't true upon arrival. I would also like to add that the wifi worked extremely well! We look forward to visiting this hotel again in the summer!

  • Stayed: January 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Matthew M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thibaut G, General Manager at Le Champlain Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 February 2016

Dear Matthew M,

Thank you for taking the time to share your comments with us on TripAdvisor. I am very sorry that you experienced some confusion over the optional breakfast. I would like to take this opportunity to clarify the policy regarding breakfast. Breakfast is optional for reservations made through a third-party booking company. However, when the reservation is made through our website or via telephone, the breakfast is included as a bonus for reserving directly with the property! The best advice is always to contact the property directly and speak to employees who actually know the hotel and the services that we offer. Once again, I am sorry for the confusion. We are very happy that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you plan to return in the future. Contact us when you are ready to reserve, as we have special rates for returning guests!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 January 2016

Hotel employees and management are to be commended on the care and attention they give to this property, everything is clean and works very well. The breakfast is outstanding, the best no charge hotel breakfast I have ever enjoyed!!

  • Stayed: January 2016, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wayne F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thibaut G, General Manager at Le Champlain Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 February 2016

Dear Wayne F,

Thank you so much for sharing your comments on TripAdvisor. We are very pleased that your stay was to your liking and that you found our property to be well-cared for! Our deluxe continental breakfast includes many homemade items, both hot and cold, sweet and savoury. We are very happy that you enjoyed it! We hope to welcome you back on a future stay in the Quebec City region!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews